Lurking In The Dark 18

0 10
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

I stood, looking at the cars in awe as I looked at them. Some reflected my appreciative face, the others didn't for they were painted matte. I had a car in my mind as we were on our way here, but as I faced the hundreds of cars lined up, the image went black and now all I could think of was the difficulty of choosing one.

My parents were talking to a clerk about the paying system while Drev was idling near them, probably out of boredom because until now he couldn't accept the fact that our money looks like a joke. He would say, "The money I remember is nothing like this paper."

I was left alone with the car salesman with his hands clasped behind him as he tailed after me. I asked him not to tell me about the cars, like the type of gas it needs, it's battery life, maximum speed and other features. Because they wouldn't make sense to me.

I stared at my distorted reflection on a yellow one, then Drev appeared beside me. "It looks okay." He glanced to me and I scoffed.

"Just plain okay?" I continued to stare at the reflection, I didn't want to see his eyes.

"It's nothing like Gareth's car." He caressed the car with his long fingers, vined with blue and purple veins. He was bony and thin. Lanky.

I frowned. "You don't like all of these cars?"

"No." He traveled the cars lined up with his eyes. I wondered what it felt like to have different eye colors. "What I'm saying is they are all plain okay."

I glanced at the salesman through the reflection. He was throwing an unreadable gaze at Drev. I cleared my throat and turned to him. "This might be a weird question, Sir." I smiled sheepishly. "But have you seen Hamster Ville?"

The salesman named Tridle as what I saw on his name pin cleared his throat. "A what?" He wore that patient face every salesperson gives to their costumer although it was obvious that they just want to go home and sit infront of a nice fire. "Hamster Ville you said?"

I nodded. "It's a TV show."

"Ah!" He pointed at me, not in a rude way, like 'bingo!'. The middle part of his head was bald and it reflected the light as he moves his head. "Of course. So, like Gareth's car?"

I wasn't sure if he heard Drev say the name Gareth or because it was Gareth's car that was one of the things to be clearly remembered about the show.

It was Drev who replied which was surprising of him because he doesn't talk unless when asked, and the question was directed to me. "Yes, no roof."

Sir Tridle chuckled. "Sure, sure. This way." He spread his hand to the direction. He led us to a new section for a model different from the recent cars we saw.

"R9 Fricko," he said, not having to look at the model name that was placed on the hood. "Would you like me to tell the features?"

I waved a hand to reject the offer. Drev studied the car, smiling. He eyed the one with exactly the same color as Gareth's.

I groaned in protest. "We can't have the same color as well." The car was bright yellow and it actually hurts the eye that I had to look away because it was starting to make me dizzy.

"Okay, I don't like the color too," he replied as if he could read my mind that the only reason I was against it was because of its bright color.

"How about the matte black?" I said, turning to Drev to see his reaction. He followed with his gaze where my finger is pointing at. "It wouldn't hurt to think of if there were smudges because it won't be obvious," I added.

Sir Tridle chuckled. "Smart."

0
$ 0.28
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments