Lurking In The Dark 17

0 12
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fantasy, Fiction

I sat by the door as I waited for the milkman to arrive. And he didn't fail me when his milk truck stopped in front of the house and he got out bringing a crate full of milk bottles with him. He shook his head in annoyance when he saw me grinning at him, knowing that I would only bother him with questions about Mierkova.

"Not today, princess," he said unloading the milk crater and loading them with the empty bottles. I don't like that he doesn't answer my questions, but it satisfies me when he calls me 'princess'.

I rolled my eyes. "But I've been asking you for five years now, Sir Klaus! And you still haven't answered any of my questions directly." I grabbed two empty bottles that he was about to take and hugged them.

He sighed as if it would lengthen his patience. "I have work to do." He reached for the bottles and I pulled them away from him.

"Just answer my questions."

He straighten his back and groaned. "No."

"One question, the answer is yes or no. I promise I won't ask for your opinion."

That seemed to satisfy him because he sighed, dropping both of his fatty arms on his side. "Okay, princess." Sir Klaus is very nice, no matter how annoying I am he never raises his voice at me. "Only one," he agreed.

"Do you think Mierkova jails someone for no reason?" I gripped the bottles hard, my knuckles white. I prayed for a positive answer because I didn't want to think or know that Drev lied to me.

He hesitated. "Where did you get that question?" He glanced at his old truck over his shoulder, its wheels were layered with thick soil and the metal railings were rusted. Something from the passenger seat moved and I relaxed when I made out that it was the same man Sir Klaus works with in delivering milks. He always wears hat and a handkerchief tied around his neck that sometimes covers his mouth.

When Sir Klaus turned back to me, I pouted. "Please just answer Sir Klaus, and don't lie!" I glanced again at the man inside the truck, I saw him several times only and I never knew what his real name was since Sir Klaus only calls him by his nickname 'Hat Boy.' He smiled at me and I smiled back.

Sir Klaus spread his hand to me. "Yes," he answered. "Not just Mierkova, the mistake is on the people in the law. Sometimes they declare someone guilty without clear evidence. Now give me those bottles."

I handed him the bottles and smiled in glee because I received the answer that I prayed for, and because he forgot that he didn't have to add another answer to the yes or no. I made a small victory dance and thanked him for bearing with me, giving him a small hug of appreciation. He had been a milkman of ours for a long time that he was like an Uncle to me although he was a little mean for not telling me about Mierkova.

He was halfway to the truck when he turned to me, his index finger pointed aimlessly as he tries to remember the question he always asks me. "And how's the princess doing?"

I bowed down, crossing my leg and holding my imaginary skirt by my side. "She is doing great. She saw a guy killed three tadalsis alone." My chin went up, proud of what I had witnessed and clearly fogetting the fear the scene brought to me.

"I saw on the newspaper." Sir Klaus adjusted his cap and glanced to the windows of the house, assumed that he was checking for someone. "Drev Agustine his name?" Perhaps looking for the guy who saved me.

I suddenly thought what if Drev was really an escaped criminal, if the news was out then Mierkova must have heard about him and probably take him from us. Unless Mierkova doesn't know anything happening outside of their country just as much as how secretive they are to the rest of the world.

Please don't abandon me....

"Yes," I answered briefly, suddenly paranoid. What if Sir Klaus is actually a spy from Mierkova who is hunting down runaway criminals? But that couldn't be, he is a milkman even before I found Drev.

He smiled at me. "Alright. Take care, princess." He waved at me, I waved back and gathered the bottles that were now full of milk.

1
$ 4.80
$ 4.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Fantasy, Fiction

Comments