Lurking In The Dark 14

0 18
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

I had to blink several times before I could adjust to the blinding light from my nightstand, coming from my snow globe lamp. There was a murmuring sound from the other room and a beeping sound near my ears, I turned to the direction. It was a nurse with a device that records the vital signs, where the beeping was coming from.

"I'll call your parents," the nurse said before she ran out of the room. My parents walked in wearing a worried face.

"How are you feeling?" Mom clasped my hands. Dad was holding her shoulders for comfort.

I sat on my bed, trying to remember what happened. Then it clicked! I tighten my hold of Mom's hands and panicked. "Drev! His eyes! They were black!"

"No, sweety. Calm down, okay? His eyes are blue and green," Mom replied, her forehead creating a deep frown of concern. But I didn't calm down, I continued to panic. She turned to the nurse, crying. "What's happening to her?" Dad squeezed her shoulders and looked at me like I was just another crazy person in an asylum, but it was a sympathetic gaze.

"Dad!"

But before he could reply, they were pushed out of the door by the nurse as Doctor Urlen's order. He's our family doctor.

He placed his gentle hands on my shoulders. "Grassi, Grassi." Then he snapped his fingers and I cried because I am terrified of what I saw. "Calm down. Tell me what happened."

So I told him what happened and what I saw. He kept nodding. After I narrated the whole thing he replied, "It's normal to see things out of great fear. We call it hallucination." He shifted on his seat. "Now, what you saw is an hallucination. You believe it because you saw it with your very eyes. But remember darling, it was only your mind playing tricks on you."

I nodded because he is right. We had health class and we tackled about hallucination. It was heard all over news, men committing murder because of the whispers they hear or demons they see, it was a result of taking illegal drugs. "But Doctor, how can you explain how he killed the three tadalsis alone?"

"Each of us has our own capacity."

"One tadalsi could only be killed by three men."

"Then we therefore conclude that your friend has a strength of nine men. Child, it is not impossible."

"He was fast, it was hard to see him move."

"As I have said, what you experienced was hallucination out of fear and panic. Out of these strong emotions, your mind lagged which explained why he was suddenly out of your sight. Like a gap in your memory."

After the talk with Doctor Urlen, I talked to Mom and Dad. They said Drev had told them what happened and he himself didn't know how it happened either. When they finished making sure that I'm all good, Nuvian was the next one to get inside. He hugged me and told me how awesome I am for not running when I saw the tadalsis which was nice of him because we usually call each other dumb.

Then it was Drev's turn.

He didn't sit on the chair next to my bed like the others did. He sat on my bed and stared at the wall for a second before turning to me. He just looked at me.

"Uh, talk?"

1
$ 0.68
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments