Lurking In The Dark 10

0 11
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

I guess he knew I had a clue about the girl since he just said the name like she was introduced to us.

"Don't you think it's too young for love?" I asked, not knowing of the right words since I've never been in a relationship myself. I had a couple of admirers but they were all troublemakers so I turned them down. The only person I want to be in a relationship with is Relis though I will never make a move since it's too erratic for a girl to do that. "It's not the end of the world."

"So when? When I'm gray and old?" He snapped. "The youngest age to be able to marry is 18, I want Lily to be someone I date for like what, I'm 13. I want to get to know every side of her soul for five years and get married at 18."

Oh, he had it all planned.

I was taken aback by his sudden outburst. I was glad the music was in loud volume so nobody could hear us. If my parents hear Nuvian they would probably send him to a military school. They don't believe that teen romance lasts, since for them, it is found on mid-20s. They really are biological family, Nuvian and 'my' parents, they are both specific about love.

"But you know not all things go according to plan. Mom and Dad met when they were 24. There's so much time and Lily is not the only girl in the world."

He glared at me. "What do you know about relationships? Getting your heart broken by the person you care so much?" He spat, and we were left in the bubbling of his fish aquarium containing a dozen of fishes, each has a different pattern but of the same colors on their body - blue, yellow, and white.

"I, uh..." I stuttered. "It's not like that." I don't know what to say. He is right.

Nuvian sighed as he sat next to me, his back hunched and tired. "I'm sorry, Grassi. I didn't mean to snap at you. I was just...I--"

"It's fine. I understand."

I found myself smiling to make him feel okay though I wasn't sure if the smile was convincing. The truth is I don't know what he feels, I don't know the sadness he feels but maybe it feels as lonely as being left by my parents. Or no? I was abandoned at a young age, my mind could barely grasped memory so I don't really know what it felt like to be with my biological parents. The Erlijans treated me like a real daughter yet somehow there's still longing for the people I remember so little, only glimpses of them, before I was left at the doorstep.

"I'm sorry," Nuvian said, the green eyes he inherited from Dad glittered in the low light. "I'm so into her, you know. I don't think there's someone like Lily."

"Everyone's different."

He sighed heavily, his golden locks falling to his eyes as he hunched his back. I was sure Nuvian will grow into a good-looking man, there were no doubts in that. His teeth were perfect, defined jawline at a young age, and straight nose. Lily - though I don't loathe her for I know this breakup will soon be forgotten - should know that she wasted a treasure upon breaking up with Nuvian. I had been to several Atruf games of him, I witnessed the sea of girls cheering for him on their seats and whispering to each other how charming he is...and, err, how pronounced his butt is.

"Well, she broke up with me because of what's happening with her family - absurd. As a boyfriend, we should share problems and be there for each other."

I wanted to say again that he was too young for love yet I don't want to create a fuss between us considering that Nuvian is not really good at handling his temper. Yes, too young, but maybe this "love" is too true for him so who am I to judge? There are people who met their significant other when they were just kids.

"Look, don't bother. I can handle this myself," he said when I didn't reply, waving his hand in the air for a gesture of dismissal."

I nodded. "Well, I'm here whenever you need someone to talk to or listen to your --" I wasn't sure what to call it, so I shrugged and turned to the door, "problems," I added. I was about to say heartaches but then, oh well.

He smiled genuinely, showing the deep dimple on his left cheek. His eyes turned into a line as he smiled due to its puffiness. He said, "Believe me, I'd rather talk to Drev about this." He raised both hands as if to surrender. "No offense, sis."

I rolled my eyes, thankful of the light atmosphere emitted from Nuvian's smile. "Why would I be offended? He doesn't even know how to lock a hoodie zipper." But there was a little jealousy creeping out from my chest. If Nuvian was short-tempered, I was emotional.

He shrugged. "He is a guy like me, he knows something I don't know then."

I chuckled as I realized that I never thought before of what I was thinking now. I said it out loud, "What? He's been in a relationship?" I remembered his slightly turned up mouth back at The Focus when the word "girlfriend" came up. So I figured out he had been, but who would? I mean no bullying, but imagining him courting someone would be weird.

"No, I haven't asked him." Then he opened the door behind me and pushed me out, he said, "Anyway, just get out." But when I tried to barge in to mock him off he pushed me out again. "Just let me cry myself to sleep until I forget her."

1
$ 5.82
$ 5.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Kiro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kiro
Written by
2 years ago

Comments