How do I keep my vegetable garden away from ants without using pesticide?

0 23
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Garden

I just wanna share to your guys my common ways to get rid of ants from my vegetable garden.

I believe most of you know already that one of the main problem in the garden are the ants.

Yes they are a bit helpful cause they save your plants from the caterpillars that ate your plant's leaves.

I have this experience whereby ants already built nests in my garden - that red ants which attracts aphids that are damaging the plants.

What are the steps I usually do to get rid of red ants?

Boiling water: To kill most number of them, I poured boiling water to their nests. Regular water will flood the nest, but it won’t make them leave the area, so I boiled some water and pour all over. 

Citrus peeling: Whenever I have lemon or orange peels, I spread them all over my garden. I have read one time that ants don't like the smell of citrus.

Mixture of water and dishwashing liquid with a drops of neem oil. Just saw this method in one of the advertisements so I tried it and it's actually effective for me. Whenever I saw a bunch of ants in my garden, I just spray them this mixture. It won't hurt my plants but it will surely kill and keep the ants away. I also sometimes spray them with mixture of vinegar and water.

4
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Khing14
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khing14
2 years ago
Topics: Garden

Comments