Once I Die, I Woke Up

2 21
Avatar for Khairro
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Death, Life, Random

I didn't notice that I stared at the window for so long. The small drops from heavy rain is pouring down the dark sky and the gush of winds are hitting the leaves on the trees. A sudden breeze of cold air hits my sensitive skin making me shiver, not realizing that the book I'm reading fall down onto the floor.

A loud knock on my wooden door was heard making me turn my head cutting myself from my deep thought.

"Amber? The breakfast is done already! I know you're now awake! Probably reading that favorite book of yours again and again. It's 5:20 in the morning and you have a school to attend so get up now before I kick you down on your bed."

I can't help myself but to giggle on my Mother's usual wake up call. For sure she just rolled her eyes on me while her hands are on her hips. Ohhh I can imagine AHAHAH!

"I know Mom! Don't worry I will now get up, take a bath then we're going to eat our breakfast together. Happy now? "

I slowly said while getting up and folding the blankets on my bed.

"Good! I will wait for you honey, don't let me wait for too long! Muah See yah!"

She said cheerfully while beginning to walk downstairs.

The smile on my face can't be erase because of my Mom's baby like attitude.

I am glad that she returned back to her normal state. When my Father died 2 years ago, my Mother became depressed and suicidal. She was always sad and she won't eat anything that I served. I felt like she is on my side but she is so far away.

On that day, I cried hard...begging for her to slowly move on and accept that my Father won't be here on our side anymore. I let out the sadness, grief and the pain lingering on my heart consume me until I felt her warmth surrounded on my body and whisper words of promises she is granting today.

"Stop Amber, you're so dramatic. Don't ever ruin the good mood of today! Fix yourself!"

I wipe the tears on my face then went to my own bathroom to take a bath. After that, I wear my uniform and head downstairs.

At the Dining Area

Dining Area
Image Source: Pinterest

"Why you're so slow? You are getting late! Sit now and let's eat."

My Mother said while pouting.

"Mom! Stop pouting you're old enough for that stuff."

We both laughed at that but immediately sat down and eat after realizing that I can be late on my class.

I bid my goodbye to my Mom and quickly ride to the taxi as I've reached the main road.

On my way to school, I decided to turn my head on the window of the taxi but as the time I turned my face, I saw a small kid getting carried by the people on the ambulance car. On that scene, my mind began to wander, what happens when we die? Do we ever feel the pain again? Or are we going to vanished in this cruel world like a bubble being popped?

A beep from the taxi I've been riding wake me up from my day dream.

"We are now here on your University Ms."

The taxi driver said.

I gave him the payment and said thank you for a safe ride before going out. I stand up and stare for the University for awhile before I went on my first class.

Adamson University
Image Source: Pinterest

As I've reached the door of our room, a kiss to my cheeks from my boyfriend Jace welcomed me.

"Hey! How are you? You seemed bothered. Can I know what's bothering to my baby?"

I smiled from his sweet gesture. Jace and I are almost 2 years in our relationship and next week is our anniversary.

"I'm fine Jace. I just saw some accident while I'm on the road but nothing to worry about me."

I quickly replied to ease the knot on his forehead.

"I see, well let's get inside now because the class will start so soon."

I nod and we went inside the classroom. As we sit down, our professor from the English subject came in and start the class immediately.

"Good morning class! Our topic for today is about Life and Death..."

We greet her also and listened as she discuss our lesson for today. I don't know but the topic make me interested so I chose to focus my attention on what she's explaining. As the lesson go further, she suddenly ask a question.

"Can you give me any question that is running from your mind that questions your existence? Any volunteers?"

Reluctantly, I raised my hand to ask my professor, not just because I want to impress everybody or my boyfriend alone, but this question really bothers me. I got this question I read on my favorite book entitled "The Biggest Lie You Will Ever Heard"

"Yes! Ms. Amber share your thoughts please."

"I know that some may find this question weird but I want to ask right away. What if the life we are living now is just a lie? An illusion that is made to cover up the truth?

I asked her. I didn't notice that we are staring for short while now and the classroom became eerily quite.

"That's a good question Ms. Amber! But sadly I don't know the answer on that specific question either but the only one thing that I am sure of? Is life are full of surprises, we can't say what will happen in the future."

"Thank you! You can now go back to your sit."

I nodded at her response, agreeing to her statement.

"Woooh! That's what you get from reading weirdly made books."

My subconscious self said to my head. I just rolled my eyes on myself and continue listening to the discussion on different classes until the bell rang, signalling us to have some break.

On the Cafeteria...

Adamson University Cafeteria

We are sitting on a chair by Jace and our friends when Jen ask me a question about earlier.

"Ambyyy... your question earlier to Mrs. Kane is so cool! Where did you get that question?"

I giggled on her cuteness. I was about to pinch her cheeks when she just gave me a answer-my-question-first-or-I-will-tickle-you look.

"Ok fine! I got it from the book I've read almost everyday wherein the author can make you agree about his questions on human existence, Happy?"

I exclaimed then pinched her cute chubby cheeks afterwards.

"Amburrrr....shtapppp....pinchinggg..my....cheeckhsssss!"

I released her swollen cheeks when I am satisfied, then we laughed altogether. Suddenly, Jericho throws a question to Jace while me and Jen are busy laughing.

"Oh wait Jace! You and Amber will celebrate your 2nd year anniversary next week right? What's your plan?"

I looked at Jace and wait for his reply. I actually don't mind if we just eat somewhere or have a simple date as long as I'm with him, it will be all worth it. He then smiled at me and answered.

"A simple celebration will do for the both of us, I know that she is not into fancy things and she appreciate even a smallest effort I gave her. So, I decided to have a simple dinner date on our favorite restaurant along with the friends and families of course."

He answered while staring intently at me. His smile are visible in his face and the love is prominent on his eyes. I suddenly blushed at the sight.

"Yeah, that will do for me. I am expecting you guys on our anniversary so mark your calendars! Don't ever forget it!"

I said to our friends still avoiding Jace stares at the side of my head.

A ring of bell was heard making us go back to our classes. I continue to my next class which is Biology and started listening to the professor. As our class ended, I can't help myself to be excited on our anniversary next week.

"Hmmm, I wonder what will happen?"

I said to myself before going back home.

The Day of Our Anniversary...

I am so nervous as well as excited on the dinner that will held later on the restaurant of Fradélle. I am wearing a beige tube dress with matching white 4 inch high heels and just applied light make up on my face. My Mother is on the restaurant already as well as my friends because, they want to help for the preparation of the dinner. Who I am to complain right? I laughed at the thought

With a final glance on the mirror. I exited my room and go out to our house. I just walked a few before I enter the Uber I rented earlier.

I texted my Mother that I am on the way to inform the others. She just replied me a kiss emoji and a be safe statement. I stayed quite on the car and decided to look at the sky.

"The moon and the stars are beautiful tonight."

I exclaimed silently to myself.

As we arrived on the destination, I excitedly opened the door and go out. I stopped on my tracks and saw the beautiful sight, I can see the front of the restaurant that tends to be our safe haven where I and Jace first met each other.

Fradélle's Restaurant
Image Source: Pinterest

I just need to walk passed the road to enter the restaurant but lot's of cars hinders me from doing so. As I've expect that no vehicles would drive on the both side this time, I slowly walked straight to the pedestrian. My eyes are just focus on the man who are facing back at me, I can hear my heart racing and I can feel the butterflies on my stomach...but my admiration to the man I've love the most was cut off by a loud horn coming from the truck.

The scenario is so fast, my eyes widened when I learned that it was coming on my way, It hit my body so hard making me thrown at the other side of the road. I can feel the blood gushing out on my body, I can feel the broken limbs and bones and the excruciating pain on my head. On my very last breath, I was facing the moon and the stars like it's watching me and my dear life.

A loud beep at the side of my bed where I rest can be heard. Making me awake from my deep slumber. I am so confused so I try to recall the thing that happened before I sleep, then the flashback of memories hit me. The anniversary, the truck and my death.

"Wait? Where am I?"

I asked myself.

My voice felt like I don't drink a plenty of water for a long time now because of its grogginess. Then a realization hits me. I am encapsulated on a tube where there are lots of wires connected on my body and on my head. I slowly pull it all off and pushed the glass that enclosed me. Using my weakend knees, I step out from the capsule I was in. I decided to roam in the place but was then frozen from my spot when I see a lot of human sized capsules just like mine.

"W-wwhat? T-he?"

With my trembling body, I realized that my mother, my friends, my boyfriend and all of the people I know on my whole life are enclosed in the human sized capsule filled with bluish water. They looked like they are in a deep slumber.

I was so scared and confuse that's why I chose to step back just to be cornered in one of the windows of the room where I'm in. I turned my back and decided to peek on the window but a loud gasp came out from my mouth. I was in a spaceship and we are flying on the space! Where no one knows the direction we are going.

"Is the human race extinct?"

I said while shaking.

"Then the life I was in is just an illusion-n? A dre-eam? A lie?"

Then I remember the book I've read before on my dream entitled "Once I die, I Woke Up."

Hi readers! I hope that you enjoyed my story so far! Thank you for reading this article of mine, I really really appreciate it! I actually want to put an authors note but I will just save it for later.

If you like the story, please like and subscribe!

Note: I don't own any of the photos shown on this article, credits to the rightful owners! The places, name of the characters are all made up by my wide imagination.

Other accounts:

noise.cash: @Khairro

3
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @mariteen
Sponsors of Khairro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Khairro
2 years ago
Topics: Fiction, Death, Life, Random

Comments

Then the life I was in is just an illusion great writing skill carry on Khairro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much for reading this @mariteen! I really appreciate it. Till next time💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago