Dreams...The Starting Point

6 30
Avatar for Kennysplash
2 years ago

Dreams make us wonder, dreams open up possibilities, dreams make us believe in a better future.

Everyone dreams. It can be pleasant, one that makes you regret waking up; and it can be a nightmare, you are grateful for waking up. You can be dreaming of some sweet scenarios you would like to experience in life. It is going all sweet and pleasant, and perhaps the moment you get to the most important part is when you wake up. After such dream you are left with a grin on your face, and you wonder if you can truly experience them in real life.

Then there is the counterpart. Dreams that make you sweat and gasp for breath. Most likely we have all experienced that particular dream of wanting to get away from danger, but you just can't see to get anywhere. Your legs are heavy, and helplessly you feel the danger gets closer and closer. It is said that when you have such dream, then there is a circumstance in your life that you are eager to change albeit giving you a hard time.

There are two major forms of dreams;

  1. The unconscious one. Refers to the one you have in your sleep

  2. The conscious one. You are not sleeping, it refers to your aspirations in life.

In this article, our context is on the latter.

It is said that "nothing happens unless we first dream." Once you dream of something you hope to achieve, if you don't work on it you are still dreaming. Dreams consists of ideas, that if dwelt upon can turn to great accomplishments. Note: "if dwelt upon". It is one thing to dream, it is another to take necessary action.

A dream doesn't become reality through magic; it takes sweat, determination and hard work.- Collin Powell

At a tender age, I dreamt of becoming a competent chef. I had a passion for cooking and I hoped to pursue it as a hubby or a career. I enrolled in culinary schools and I took courses on local and foreign delicacies. That action I took has had a huge effect on my life today. As a student, I worked in a restaurant on school free days and earned to support myself and have good savings.

Of course, I am not at the top yet. I am still working towards the grand realization of my dream. Very soon I hope to set up my own Eatery and put to good use my vast knowledge of different delicacies, locally and internationally.

Right time to dream

Simple, anytime you dream is the right time. When it comes to age, some dream quite early and have great accomplishments. Others are till the later part of their lives. Let us consider some examples.

Mark Zuckerberg started Facebook at the age of 19 and became a billionaire at the age of 23. He had an early dream, pursued it and made a global name from himself. Larry Page and Sergey Brin were both 21 years old when they invented the world's leading search engine, Google. Many like them had the opportunity to dream and implement their dreams quite early in their lives. These people went on to be self-made billionaires.

Image source: https://wallpapercave.com/mark-zuckerberg-wallpapers

There are others that dreamt very late in their lives. A notable example is Colonel Sanders, the founder of Kentucky Fried Chicken. After a series of disappointments in life, he started KFC at the age of 66. At that age many think there is nothing to achieve anymore, Sanders proved them wrong. He went on to become a billionaire at the age of 85. It doesn't matter when, he has made his mark in the history of successful business icons for many years to come.

It's never too old or young to dream. Therefore ask yourself; "What is my dream? Am I working toward it's realization? Will I look back years from now and thank myself for the dreams I had?"

@Fexonice1 in his article, Making your Dreams a Reality said; "Dream your dreams, and see that it is not just a dream, it is a reality. In the end, it is what makes us who we are". How true!

Treat your dreams with the attention they deserve. A dream without a plan action is just a wish.

This is my entry to this week's prompt word "Dreams" by @JonicaBradley . If you would like to join in, the rules are simple.

Write anything on Dreams

Write 100% original content

Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

Tag @JonicaBradley

Have fun!

6
$ 0.36
$ 0.10 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.10 from @Vikky903
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 3
Sponsors of Kennysplash
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kennysplash
2 years ago

Comments

A good example that of Colonel Sanders. It's never too late to dream. I hope you can make yours come true and start your own restaurant one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really hope so. The man is my idol, perhaps because he was in the line of my career choice too. Thank you for the beautiful encouragement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every success stories starts from a dream. I agree that it is never too old or too young to dream, we have our own different timeline. I remember some story I read in FB. An oldman graduated from College, he's already in his 60's. One of his dream is to have a College Degree Diploma and Finally he made it. I am hoping that your dream will become reality too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really appreciate! Yeah it's never too late to dream and achieve it, as long as you put in the efforts. Thank you for the encouragement

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Colonel Sanders's story is the perfect example of "Dream has no age limit". I look forward to dining at your restaurant. Do well to send me an invitation once your dreams are actualized . And by God's grace it will be

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, thanks so much. This is encouraging

$ 0.00
2 years ago