A glimpse of the life of a mountain soldier 2

8 24
Avatar for Kendy42
2 years ago

To understand the full story if you happened not to read the first part here is the link to it.

https://read.cash/@Kendy42/glimpse-of-the-life-of-a-mountain-soldier-61a85e9e

Gunshots everywhere! Seems the enemy was everywhere. I can't pinpoint the exact location of the gunshots. I dropped flat to the ground behind a stone to cover myself and every time that I tried to peek to look around a bullet swung fast above my head. I can hear my comrades asking for help crying. Our leader was down already, the first person which got by the bullet of the enemy. I think a sniper shot him from afar.

Before you continue please have a look first at these beautiful and generous souls.

Sponsors of Kendy42
empty
empty
empty

I crawled carefully to a safer place to hide. I fired my gun towards where I heard the gunshots from while backing off from the camp. I tried to rescue one of my comrades who got hit and lay down on the water. I rolled and crawled towards him, unluckily, successive gunshots greeted me and almost hit me in the neck. I dived down between the two bolder to cover. I began to lose hope at that moment. Series of fired guns were from everywhere. We were besieged by military troops.

Someone called me to back off and run towards the northwest but instead to do so I go northeast. I run with all my might in the middle of the fields nearby. Zigzagging my way to the forest in the mountainside, I am like a mouse running for its life in the middle of a forest fire. I left my gun since I can't run fast if I bring it along with me, aside from that it's too long to handle while running I'm almost out of bullet too. I just left my pistol in the holster in my hip and a jungle knife with me to be my weapon just in case I encounter the enemy along my way.

While trailing the mountain to the east I heard a helicopter approaching from the west. In a minute or two a bomb was exploded to our camp. I cried for my comrades who were left behind. I keep on running, I can't feel any pain anymore though my way was so rocky, thorny, and rough I continue to go through. I choose to follow the carabao's path to lose those who followed me. I can still hear them from the distance, they are determined to catch me or to take me down. No time to rest though I'm almost losing my breath, I need to reach the next village for me to hide temporarily and to gain my strength.

The air support of the enemy was still patrolling above, dropping bombs to their suspected spot where we were supposed to hide. I stumbled when my foot hit a stone along the narrow path. I can't handle my body when I rolled down to a pit in muddy water. I guess this is where the animals here taking their bath. The mud was so filthy and stinky with the carabao poop. But the smell was not a problem anymore, I crawled to distance myself from the place. I carefully look around to which way to go, I saw smoke coming from behind the next mountain. There the next village was situated, I need to get there hoping to regroup with the other troops.

I slowly make my move towards the village, trailing the river but avoiding the exposed part to the sight of people. I am not sure if the enemy gave up on pursuing us already, if not my safety is at stake. I can't just show up directly in the village. I stop for the moment to assess the environment for the possible presence of the military troops. There was silence, the sun was just setting down in the west, nightfall is about to come. I need to find a shelter for the night, I approach a small farmhouse on the side of the rice fields.

"Are you okay?" A voice from an old lady wakes my senses. I didn't notice that I was dropped on the ground already. "Please help me". I plead to the lady. She helps me to get up and assist me to a smaller farmhouse a few meters away from where I think she's staying. Upon stumbling to the bamboo floor of the house I notice that it was where they dumped or keep their equipment in farming. There are sacks and straws of rice too. The lady told me to stay there for a while, then left me for a moment then when she came back she brings food and water to drink. Then I realized that I was not able to eat anything since morning when the siege began.

I just ate a little that night. I immediately slumber due to too much fatigue and distress to what was happened. I'm just hoping that no more military is on the pursuit or else it's my end already. I did not notice I slept like dead already.

I was suddenly awakened by some murmur of people not so away from where I stayed. I hold my pistol and crawl and peek at the hole in the wall. I saw the lady talking with someone else. My heart began to pound as it is breaking out from my chest!

πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š

Hang out there for a moment guys. Aunt Monica's story will be continued. Thank you again for being with me until the end of my article. I hope you enjoy reading it.

  • All the images used was from Unsplash

A BIG THANK YOU for all of your support. To myΒ generousΒ Sponsors,Β commenters, likers,Β andΒ upvotersΒ more blessings to come to all of us.

I love you all🧑🧑🧑.

Article #60
Published: January 06, 2022
Time: 2:45 AM PH 
All images used owned by me 
     unless otherwise stated 

Love,

Kendy42🧑

6
$ 4.47
$ 4.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 2
Sponsors of Kendy42
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kendy42
2 years ago

Comments

Ay ah ah nmn nabibitin ako hahaha Is this true to life story?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! Totoong pagyayari po yan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Catchy detailing & I love the way you narrated. Felt like watching real life incidents.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the appreciation dearπŸ™πŸ˜Š.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time to read this kind of genre, I've only seen this kind in movie, but feels good in reading :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you po for reading,I appreciate it much😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nooooooo, sana naman di sya na report ano OMG. Bat kasi bitin oiii naman oiii πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat ganda at binasa mo hehe. Coning n yo g susunod n episode

$ 0.00
2 years ago