Gifts

7 19
Avatar for KenJackson
2 years ago

Photo from Unsplash

Hello Everyone. Welcome again to another latest post of mine. I have since written just two, making this my third one and so far I am grateful for the comments received ever since. I look forward to writing as much articles as possible here. I could say a thousand but I am choosing not to limit myself. .lol. So the season of love is almost upon us and I’m quite sure you are already seeing brands putting out ads for valentine packages; restaurants, malls and organizations planning dinner specials and events to celebrate the reason for that season which is love. Also for those of you with really special people and significant others in your life, you are probably racking your brains and giving critical thought to what you are going to be gifting them with.  That’s why in this post, I will be addressing that and probably this helps you in arriving at a gift idea soon enough.

When the word “gift “or “present” is mentioned, what comes to your mind? To a lot of people, it is something given in recognition of an event, or season e.g. birthday, anniversary, Christmas, etc. I find this arguable because your gift will still be a gift and be appreciated if you gave it a time where nothing is really happening.  Another thing that comes to mind is there has to be someone special that will be receiving it e.g.  A loved one, significant other etc.  Thirdly, the giving has to come from a place of love and gratitude. I mean, would you give a gift to someone you have a lot of hate for? Would you? Bringing all these together, one could say that a gift is anything tangible or intangible you give to a person from a place of love and/or gratitude towards the person in a given time or at any time.  

That being said, what then makes the perfect gift? How do I know that they will like it or even appreciate it? This attracts a lot of critical thought and a lot of pressure when giving gifts. I remember when I was trying to get a gift for a person and I thought really much about it...So so much and I really worried that it was not going to be appreciated. I later got what I got and it was deeply appreciated. What a lot of us forget when deciding on a gift to give is that it is the thought behind the gift that matters and not what it costs you. That matters far more than the latter. Recognizing that takes a lot of pressure from you and just makes it easy on you in trying to get one. What is more important is that you do all you can to give or do something sweet and it will and should be appreciated.

What then do you go for in arriving at a gift to give? Do you go for getting something you know they are in dire need of? Do you go for something so lavish and sweet like trip to Hawaii or Santorini etc.?  Do you go for something you know they need but they don’t know they need it? Like how someone got me a bag when I didn’t have one. It was something I really appreciated. That was like the first time I was receiving a gift from anyone in such a long time. I felt it was thoughtful and I was very grateful. Or do you just ask for them for what they would like as a gift and just get it for them?

All in all, no matter the option you go for, realize that the mere thought of gifting a person something communicates a level of appreciation and love that the loved  one or friend  etc. can detect and be totally swept off their feet as a result. So realize that there is no pressure at all. Go for what you can afford. No one wants you dying or suffering to getting a gift. If you want to go an extra mile, that is fine but don’t harm yourself in the process.

I hope and wish for you that you get the gift idea quicker so you can make the adequate plans for it faster. Thank you for reading my post.  

Sponsors of KenJackson
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 0.89
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
$ 0.02 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 2
Avatar for KenJackson
2 years ago

Comments

For me I go for what the person really need and I will have to ask the personz, I don't just give out without knowing what they want. Nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It depends though based on the person who will receive. I sometimes buy the gift that they want because some of my friends cannot really afford their wants and I want to be the means in getting those things. I usually do that whenever there's a special occasion like birthdays and christmas season. At times, I buy gifts that they really need but I only give gifts like those randomly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright. I think that is great. Even I too give gifts that meets a need. Thats what I mostly give.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gifts go a really long way to melt the heart and it's important the kind of gift we present to people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. it won't be proper to give a gift that could be harmful to a person.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me love is the greatest gift that I recieved, but in terms of material things, I love to have letter:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. Letter? awwwwwwww. Letters are sweet. I wish for you that you get a ton of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago