IMOLÉ DÈ (Light Has Come)

0 4
Avatar for Kaylee
Written by
3 years ago

From where I stopped in the last article, "The Best Man"...

Being a preacher's kid comes with so much disadvantages as well as advantages. Well,

rationally speaking, the benefits outweigh the disadvantages. This has been my opinion

though, and that's because a lot of us out there take the ills that come with it and

magnify it. I have decided to see only the positivity in it, for my sanity sake.

My parents founded the place where I worship and have been worshipping from birth. I

heard the church started from a shop, then to a rented apartment where we had

services only on Fridays and now the five thousand (5000) seater auditorium we have.

The day the building was to be dedicated, unfortunately, my parents died in a plane

crash that fateful morning. These are events I try not to think or talk about.

Since then, my younger brother and I live with the presiding pastor of the church who

happens to be my father's younger brother.

Since the tragic incident, he (my uncle) and his wife have become both my parents and

pastor. I heard according to my father's will or let's say ‘God's will’ my uncle would

oversee the church till the one whom the LORD is preparing (as stated in the will, 'whom

I have no idea of') is ready. I sometimes feel that was unnecessary as my Uncle was

spiritual and worded and has successfully maintained the church's standard. But who

am I to question what the LORD has destined?

Living in a pastor's house, it has been a custom not to attend wedding receptions. I

know how many times I have questioned the act, proposing that Jesus attended a wedding reception and even turned water into wine. Left for me alone it wasn't too

much of an issue, but the rest of the house would not yield, especially my aunt who

would buy the asó ebi and still stay at home. My uncle argued that they won't want to

get polluted with the kinds of songs, jokes and activities that go on there. I know he

heard that from my father and had no option than to carry on with the religion.

One good thing is, as we go home, the reception goes home with us. We always return

with stock of goodies that we certainly don't finish in one day. Aunty Idara's wedding

was not an exception at all.

Chisom our 'divine help' started serving food. My aunt said he was not to be referred to

as our house help/boy because the word was for unbelievers who maltreated people's

children. Hence, his title ‘divine help’.

It was rumoured that she chose a boy to help in the house because she didn't want

anyone to seduce her husband. 'People though'.

The dining was set. My Aunt appointed me to pray for the food and just as I was about

doing that my phone rang. It was an unknown number but 'truecaller' revealed the

name of the person, it still was unfamiliar.

"Will you pray!", my aunt barked.

I quickly silenced the phone and said a short prayer, took my phone and left the dining

room.

It was quite unusual for me to leave food for a call. But there's always a first time, right?

I raced to the room, shut the door and just as I was about dialling the number, the call

came in again.

"Hello..." I started, unusually eager to know who it was.

"Good afternoon, dear." the caller responded, which got me annoyed. I'm not fond of

endearing words from strangers. It could be someone I knew, so I mellowed.

"Who is this please?" I asked being a calm Christian.

"It is Xavier. The guy at the church, the best man remember?"

On hearing this, my phone dropped off my hand and bounced on the mattress. I

wondered how he got my number. So many means came to mind. Truth is, getting my

number was not something too difficult. Questioning myself on who gave him my

number didn't matter. I could still hear him speaking on the phone.

"Hello! Hello! Are you there? I just called to know if you looked at the content I

dropped in your pocket... Hello!"

I didn't respond, so he hung up.

Straight to my suit, I went, looked for the paper and behold what I saw, a ticket to see

one of the most anticipated Christian Stage drama, 'Imole dé'.

It was even a VIP ticket. It was something, and the last thing on my mind was declining.

Sales of ticket had closed.

The guy was toxic and looked like an appearance of evil already, but I had to remind

myself that it was just to see a drama. "He can't kiss you at the theatre na..." I said to my

self.

I picked my phone and sent him a text stating that I'd attend; with him.

In no time he replied my text, then I sent another, another followed and so before we

would spell Jesus, we entered WhatsApp. Then Voice calls and Video calls. The Xavier

man was a whole Vibe entirely, quite an interesting person to chat and talk with.

I was still having a video call when my best friend, Simon badged into the room.

I hung up the call quickly and faced the seemingly furious Simon standing by the door

with hands on his waist akimbo.

"What's wrong with you?" he fumed. Astonished as I was, I got up.

"I don't understand..." I replied.

"Mum has been calling you. She said you haven't eaten. You missed God's Hour with

Pastor Dunsin and your line is busy... only to meet you smiling at your phonelike...what

I don't know ..."

I didn't know what made me laugh. Maybe it was the fact that my friend who seldomly

gets angry was standing in front of me acting like a daddy or the fact that he said I was

smiling at my phone.

"I am fine, man. Calm down! Oya, let's go and eat...did you go for the reception ?"

"That's your business. I have eaten and you missed the programme. ntor"

Hearing that I missed God's Hour, I should have been sad and bothered but that

afternoon it didn't seem much of a problem to me. I had quite an eventful hour with

Xavier, and the joy of seeing the drama live was enough satisfaction. Carnal! Right?

"Rehearsal is in a few hours, I hope you know. Now that you're picking your food and

smiling at your phone like you are chatting with the woman with the issue of blood..."

Simon said with his eyes fixed on me. I laughed it off, then it occurred to me that he said

rehearsal and it was a Saturday.

"I won't be attending today's rehearsal o..." I replied. I told him I was going to the

theatre to see 'Imole Dé' with this friend. First he laughed it off; entries had closed and

we allowed it slide intentionally.

I had to explain how I got the ticket and he kept digging out more reasons why I had to

be in church. He reminded me that I was to take the word at the youth church and we

needed to pray together in preparation.

"That's true oh..." I cried. It was my first official appearance and I needed to be sure of

what to give God's people.

"Never mind, I would be back before rehearsal dismisses. Even if I don't get back I'd pray

at home, we would Skype it" I explained trying to convince him.

Deep down, I knew making it for rehearsal was slim, but the prayers was definite to

work.

I could see the worry in Simon's eye, even though he said nothing.

I was going anyways. There was no negotiation. My sermon was ready, all I needed to

do was deliver it.

"I would be expecting your call this evening...Enjoy your movie" He replied, quite coldly.

He had every right to feel bad. Both of us had planned attending the show together. But

due to our tight schedule we opted to just watch the video on YouTube. Now I was

going, not with him, but with this my new and unknown friend.

To be continued...

1
$ 0.32
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Kaylee
Written by
3 years ago

Comments