I don't fall for such scam

6 47
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Scam, Fraud, Security

Good day beautiful people!

Sure you're all doing good? Just be fine.๐Ÿฅฐ

๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ๐Ÿ”ธ

Yesterday while scrolling on Facebook, I came across a post about someone that was apprehended by EFCC(commission against financial crime in Nigeria) because he defrauded someone of a huge amount of money using a cloned account of a Nigerian celebrity.

In the 'Yahoo world'(Internet fraud world), that is what they all "celebrity work" and it's working for most of them.

Incase you don't know, one of the main reasons while there are numerous social media accounts of top celebrities is because of this single act. Just search for Cristiano Ronaldo on Facebook and you'll see uncountable accounts having the same name with the main account, with large followers, with same post with the main account. The only single thing to differentiate these numerous accounts from the main one is the verified icon.

Is it everyone that knows this difference? A big no! That's why you'll see people following fake accounts believing it's the real account hence falling to scammers.

How do you expect Elon musk to be asking you for money? A whole Elon musk! It sounds funny but that's what's happening in the social Media world. These scammers will use a fake account, clone a celebrity and be demanding for money from fans...and people still fall.๐Ÿ’”

Image source

Yes, you may say it's the act of voodoo at work but not all are influenced by voodoo. Falling for such is total ignorance with a touch of st*pidity.... sorry if it sounds offensive to you.

There's a stage you'd get to in the online world, you should be able to detect scam from a glance irrespective of the format.

This is what I normally do...

I know that there are lots of hacked accounts on social media, infact I have a lot of them on my friend list especially on Facebook because I have 4,950 friends... which I don't have time to go through to filter such people.

Oftentimes, I get asked for help for urgent money and airtime from my friends on the friend list, but anytime I get such request and I'm willing to give(when I have money) I don't just give out like that, I'll first of all confirm if the person is the one operating the account or it's been hacked.

Oftentimes, I uses real phone call to check if it's actually the person asking for the help...I don't just give because someone is asking, no matter how close we are, even when my siblings asks me of airtime on Facebook, I'd call them first to confirm if it's them.

It's almost like all accounts are hackable on social media, so I have to be careful .

There was a friend of mine that fell victim to this... He was enjoying the vibes on Facebook when his dad messaged him, asking him for urgent 20k that he needs to pay for something he just bought. This his dad dropped an account number(a different account number, which he said it's the account of the person he's buying the thing from). My friend sharply sent the money and before he knew it, his dad has blocked him. That was when he knew that his dad's account had been hacked and it's a fraudster that played on him. So bad.๐Ÿ’”

________________________

Thanks for reading.

I was totally absent from here yesterday...

9
$ 0.54
$ 0.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Bisolammy
Sponsors of Kacy01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Kacy01
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Scam, Fraud, Security

Comments

People should be wise and sensitive enough to spot this scammers. Their offers are always empty and too good to be true. Only the greedy ones fall for their scams.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah yeah, it's greed that's making people to fall for such.

And also, there are people that are just always blunt in detecting scams. They just fall anywhere you pushes them. That's why it's sometimes not ideal for such people to be on Internet๐Ÿ‹๏ธ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo any Naija person wey fall for that kind scam don go far sha๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. Cos I wonder why Elon Musk will be asking me for subscription.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahahah๐Ÿคฃ. It sounds funny but people still fall.

Don't you know that when you buy $5 subscription for Elon musk, he'll pay you back with $100. ๐Ÿ˜ญ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The reason we should be careful because there are a lot of scammers now. They are everywhere now my friend.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, everywhere.

With the way we've wisened up, people are not supposed to be falling for such scam๐Ÿ™‡๐Ÿฝโ€โ™‚๏ธ

$ 0.00
1 year ago