Dystopia - Part 1

4 41
Avatar for JustMyRambles01
2 years ago
Topics: Virus, Anarchy, Future, Sci-fi

29 May 2029 - The day before our escape

I woke up this morning and was able to go to work, but life is not the same. Ten years ago I had no idea about what would lie ahead of me - or the human race. Ten years ago we walked free down the streets. Ten years ago we laughed in the sunshine together as humanity when something funny happened around us. Ten years ago we laughed as a community at the Australian women who had a fight over toilet paper.

Ten years ago we had empathy, my empathy dissipates daily. Ten years ago I was a surgeon - today? Today I would never tell anyone I know even basic first aid for the fear of what they may make me do to members of my species. When things got really bad in 2023, I took my family and ran away to a neighbouring village, we told them that we had lost our ID documents and gave them false names - we bought our new identities.

I miss who I was. I miss walking in the park. I miss standing on the beach with my bikini on and fishing rod in my hand. I miss having a drink with my family, I would probably commit murder if I caught a whiff of a cigarette. I don't want to write too much about those things here, my emotions are too high right now.

You see, we ran away because they were forcing us to take a vaccine there, they said if we didn't take it we would be put in jail and then sentenced to death. They told us we were being irresponsible because of the virus. There was a virus that they claimed took over the world, one that the scientists said would wipe out the population if the world didn't go into a lockdown to stop the spread. Ten years later, I'm only allowed to go to work today because it's a Tuesday. They told us all that we could only work on the days that the computers told us we are allowed to - mine is a Tuesday. It started on the lockdowns - normalizing how we had to obey the days we could go out. They told us that if our ID numbers ended in certain numbers we could go shopping for essential items (like food) during those days of lockdown. Now look...here we are today and I can't even go to work like before. If they find you on the street without a reason for being there and without your barcode, they take you away. I've seen friends of mine from down the street who just wanted to ride their bicycle get thrown into one of those big vans. It wasn't even people who took them away - they were taken by robots, things you cannot reason with, things that don't care about who or what you are. You will never outrun or outdrive them. They will always catch you.

Image by Pixabay User: Matryx

Some people are lucky, they invested mega money into cryptocurrency before things became this bad - I had some, but nowhere near enough to run with the first couple of gangs that left. But we are almost there, and even if it is the last thing I do, I will get my family somewhere safe and away from all this. I'm writing this in the hope that one day someone will realize there was a life and a world before whatever the hell this is today. One day in a hundred or two hundred years time, I hope whoever gets hold of this will be brave enough to lead the community to stand up - take back your rights. For me and my family, we are not that brave and there isn't enough of us. We are going to do the next best thing though, we are going to run. There were groups of us around the world that were called conspiracy theorists. Everyone made jokes about us - they told us we were crazy to believe that the almighty governments would ever tell the people lies. I saw things unfolding in a bad way - the media was owned by the government, they lied to all of us. It was only when I went looking for these thousands of dead bodies in my community did I find the truth. The "dead" were just black bags wrapped around scrumpled up newspaper. Those weren't people, it was all for show to scare us. I tried to tell the community, but I stopped when my car got vandalized. We aren't allowed to own cars anymore, we have to use our barcode in order to get access to one. If you try and get access to one of them on a day that isn't work, or if there isn't an emergency they beat you in the street and they take you away. I don't know where they have taken all of those people. I don't even think I want to know, if I have seen hell while I exist now, I don't want to imagine where they are now.

Today is my last "work" day, we are running away tomorrow morning at 3am - the witching hour, it is funny that with all the technology these governments created, they fear that hour. We are forbidden to have any religious faith, yet they are petrified of the hour when the devil walks. I am more afraid of them than I am of the devil, at least I know what the devil wants. I have no idea what these things that call themselves "people" want. They have made everyone believe that they are not allowed to be out between 3am and 4am, they say it's because the devil will come for us, they told us it's for our protection. Months ago I began planning our escape and I've been out every morning at 3am - they are lying. I have never seen a demon or the devil, and we are going to take our things and leave. The trek is going to be hard, but we will make it. I stole a car in 2024, then I stole diesel, we have had it hidden in the pit we dug out in our garden since then. We start it every day and let it idle along for a while so that the battery keeps in good form. We have to start the engine at exactly 12pm so that the noise of the sirens for people to have a lunch break and the buzz of humanity can drown the engine noise. We have to switch it off before 12:15pm, we are just too scared that one of our neighbours will hear it.

The only people who will know we are gone is my work place when I don't turn up next week. A week is plenty of time to disappear. I refused to have their implant for my life history and all that nonsense. If only all those people who laughed in my face with the microchips were around today. Unfortunately they are not - most of them allowed themselves and their families to be microchipped, there was a leak from one of the chambers though, almost all of them died of mercury poisoning. There are many people you see today with only their right arm - when people heard about the deaths they began cutting off their own arms. The number of psychopaths that made millions in crypto for doing that - how I wish I had no values sometimes, I would have been rich and safe.

Our groups from 2021 who began planning escapes gave out GPS points of exactly where to go to safe havens. I've been to 7 of them, it was the 7th one that had people on it. The other 6 were completely destroyed. I did manage to take some useful supplies from them though. When the time is right I will take some of the strong from the community and we will go on a trek to get to gather up our goods. I have a friend who I begged to come with us, but their family refused. We are going to give them the car once they dropped us off so that one day if they need to run they can. I don't know if the diesel will hold up for how far out we are going to be pushed, but who knows.

Part of me is very scared for what lies ahead, the other part of me doesn't even care right now. This isn't a life. The last time I remember having a life was 2019. We can't go on like this, one way or another, this life ends today.

Above image and lead image by Pixabay User: Syaibatulhamdi

3
$ 0.67
$ 0.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @MightyTalon
Sponsors of JustMyRambles01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JustMyRambles01
2 years ago
Topics: Virus, Anarchy, Future, Sci-fi

Comments

Woooah... good writing, Rambles! This would make such a good movie script... It paints a picture of what I've envisioned the world would become if we keep on this route.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you 😀 unfortunately I do believe it...it's very sad. I'm almost turning into a prepper...

I have an article in draft that I'll be publishing about what I believe the truth is behind covid. Another of my unpopular opinions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just read it now :) I'm taking my time forming an opinion about covid and the conspiracies, but I'm appreciating that people are talking more now about what's happening and where we could be heading.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This long life an excerpt from the future, what the world is gradually turning to, and what it will become

$ 0.00
2 years ago