Success is overrated

14 36
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

26 July 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

What is Success?

If the Oxford Language definition is to be believed, success is simply "the accomplishment of an aim or purpose."

When I wake up in the morning - I've accomplished my intent to wake up in the morning (by God's grace): That's a success.

Grooming is important to me - I brush my teeth, wash my face, put on a clean set of clothes - I've accomplished my aim to be clean and presentable: That's a success.

Many say breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I only agree if it involves eggs and bacon and a big cup of hot coffee. Otherwise, it'll be hard to convince me. Anyway, I know that the purpose is to get some energy to jump-start my system for the long day ahead. Eat I do, then. That's a success, right?

I could say the same for lunch and dinner. My purpose in that is to maintain a healthy and consistent eating time and diet. That too should count as success.

Clearing my notifications at both ReadCash and NoiseCash so that they are manageable: That's a success.

The weather is hot, I feel like I needed something to cool myself down and a picker-upper like coffee. Aimed with this purpose, I went to the nearest McDonald's drive-through to get a cuppa hot latte and a McFlurry. That's a success.

I've made a commitment to put out an article every working day of the week, including Saturdays. So, writing is what I do in order to post from Monday to Saturday. That's a success.

Suck it Up!

I'd posted this at noise.cash as I was attempting to write this article. The link to the post is here - https://noise.cash/post/137p5xgn. But I've reproduced it here for your ease of reference:

I'm trying very hard to put together a successful article on the topic "success". So far, success sucks. In Britain and Ireland, cess means Bad Luck or Failure. My stupid mind is telling me that in order to get rid of this cess, one needs to suck it! Suck cess! Let's see how bad this B-rated article is gonna turn out. You'll have to wait a bit...maybe till next week. That is if I managed to suck all the cess and live to tell about it. If not, you'll get a cheap replacement article.

It has been a tough endeavor sucking it up! Alas, my face is turning blue and it doesn't appear that I am successful in the least bit.

Changing the game

This is my article so I make the rules. LOL. I'm changing the game. Success is OVERRATED!

I will prove it to you. I'll ask these simple questions and you answer each with utmost honesty. If your answer isn't what I was expecting, then you need to try again. Why? Cause you have not answered it honestly. Hahaha...

Would you rather have (hehehe...sounds familiar? And you thought the "rather challenge" has ended.):

  1. Success (No money at all. In debt) or Money (beaucoup lots of money it spills out from your ears)

  2. Success (biggest loser on earth in the love department) or True Love (happily ever after)

  3. Success (less than 20 years) or Long life (over 80 years).

  4. Success (hell on earth) or Health (Arnold Swazzerneggar & Jack Lalane x 2)

  5. Success (people spit on you daily) or Respected (people almost worship the ground you walk on)

What" Do you think that I'll make this easy for you to not provide my required answer?

Okay, I think your 5 answers should be enough. Can you see now? Success is so overrated. Who'd want to be successful? Yeah, now you get my point.

Mission Accomplished

In the end, I was successful in completing this article. It's a mess, I know but it's no longer a cess. It's a success!

I'm still of the opinion that "Success is overrated" but "Accomplishment is underrated". Anyway, some may think it's a cope out but I can accomplish something I set out to do without being successful at it. Does that make any sense?

Just1Dood - Banned

Yeah. Hahaha...I was surprised I typed that too. I bet you nearly fell out of your chair when you read that. I won't be surprised though. After coming up with such an article, I'd be banned from being ever tagged for writing prompts again! LOL!

Thank you @Eylz2021 for tagging me in her article "Small Successes in Life". Not sure if it's too late for you to untag and dissociate the @Just1dood name fast enough though. LOL!

Sources:

Header: Unsplash.com - Kind and Curious

Image 1: Unsplash.com - Jordan Whitfield

Image 2 Unsplash.com -  Chris Curry

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

5
$ 3.26
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 3
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Success indeed! Congratulations you did this article. 😂

Since success is relative it can indeed be overrated. Ah still one day we shall be really successful in our own way.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, if we look hard enough, we are all successful in some things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You never fail to entertain!! Such wit! Such wit! Sweet wit!

Your rather rather questions are tougher than the generator.😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I purposely made them tough. 😂 Giving you a fair advance warning...my articles quality has only one way to go now...down! Until it reaches a strong support. Then it may go back up. Just like the trading market.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😂😂 let us all go that way.. and come up strong .. all of us.. .ALL I say ALLL!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! That's the spirit. What goes down must come back up! Forget the law of gravity. Ganbatte!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read it a lot of times, I still dont understand the choices LOL. My logical thinking is broken 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Understandable. Success is overrated but most will see the Success but not the 'overrated' word. LOL. Now, I'm confused. 😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha will always be glad i know that @just1dood. But until when? I dunno 😂😂😂😂 just kidding will always be proud i have a brother here !!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1 crazy brothaaa..!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aiyo very heavy questions in your challenge. Let's hope you get some responses. AHAHAHA!!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, I know many will have a tough time answering them! But tough though they may be, I'll still get the answers I need to prove my point. Ahahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very cheeky, eh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No lah. You look me so up, ah? So, paiseh leh. hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago