An introvert in an extrovert's clothing

36 49
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

16 July 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

An interesting thought, don't you think? Though not ridiculous. Humans are highly adaptable. I find that to be true from my personal experience.

Having said, that I'm now confused as to which I fall under. You see, I have this theory that there are two types of people in this world. Simply said, those who categorize people into two types of people in this world and those who don't. I'm trying to be one now but am confused while doing it. In my mind, one can only be an introvert or an extrovert. But that's not how it turned out.

Maybe if you've wasted your time reading until now, you are now confused too. LOL.

Why the confusion? It's because I have always thought of myself as an introvert. All the personality tests that I'd taken in the past pointed out to me that I am an introvert. The latest (though I had gotten the book back at the end of 2003) such assessment that I'd taken was due to reading best-selling author Florence Littauer's "Personality Puzzle - Piecing Together The Personalities in Your Workplace".

I had also written an article asking Have you been sabotaging yourself? I had done a reassessment while writing that piece. And I'm re-doing it again while writing this piece. Why? It is because like an idiot, I did not do a screen capture of the results to be used in this article.

So, kindly pause here while I go retake the assessment. You can follow along if you're interested. Here's the test link.

I'm back. Here's the result:

You'll have to read the earlier article to understand the different personality types. However, I highly recommend that you get your hand on a copy of the Personality Plus book as it will be a valuable addition to your personal library. It not only talks about the personality types but how to get along with each type.

So, from my result, you can guess that I'm an introvert. Your result will be in a similar layout. You'll have a dominant type mixed with 3 other less dominant types. Mine is an introvert. Yeah, I may have OCD (i.e. Melancholy - tabulates everything. LOL) and a joker (Sanguine) mixed in somewhere in there. The least dominant is my bossiness quality, thus having a tough time making decisions unless it's a life or death situation (Choleric).

While doing a bit more research, I found this definition of a Phlegmatic from insighministsries.org: "The phlegmatic is an easy going, adaptable, all-purpose person."

Guess what? I'm like all-purpose flour. LOL!

Anyway, I know you can't wait till I get to the 'clothing' part mentioned in this article title.

Extrovert's Clothing

If you've read some of my articles, you'd think that I'm a Sanguine, who's fun-loving, entertaining, and optimistic. Far from it.

I believe some of these personality traits could be due to a Phlegmatic's adaptability, traits that I'd picked up to survive in competitive work environments. Not all introverts have the privilege nor the opportunity to find a job that fits nicely into their personality type.

I for one did not. All my work exposure has required me to be somewhat outgoing and approachable one way or another. None of the introverts stay away from me nonsense is tolerated if I value my job. Maybe some of you can relate.

Given a choice, I'd likely revert back to my quiet, withdrawn self, though I secretly envy those who are at ease in large group settings.

But...

The good news is that Phlegmatics are adaptable and given enough time, we do what we do best - we adapt.

We learn to adapt. If not at work, in our leisure time. Give us an internet connection, and a keyboard, you'll find many of us on this platform! LOL. Introvert Unite!

I think introverts thrive in such an environment. Equipped with a keyboard, we can be anything. We can be an extrovert without any judgments. We are free to soar. We have time to put our thoughts down. There are no instant quips or responses needed. We have all the time we need to formulate a response. Best of all, we can be withdrawn but at the same time uninhibited in sharing our adventures online, real or otherwise

We can comfortably wear an extrovert's clothing and get away with it.

Parting Thoughts

I'm glad that I'd found this platform. To me, it is a haven for introverts because of the reasons mentioned in the last paragraph above.

I hope that more introverts will discover this platform and find it an outlet for their creative expressions.

To borrow a battle cry from Marvel's Avengers...calling all introverts - Introverts Assemble!

Stay safe and see you in the next article.

Sources:

Header: Pixabay.com - Andrew Martin

Image 1: Unsplash.com - Leif Christoph Gottwald

Image 2: Gotoquiz.com - Test Result

Image 3 Unsplash.com -  TK Hammonds

Thank you again for dropping by. Have fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash: UplandDood

Twitter: UplandDood

Publish0x: UplandDood (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

6
$ 0.37
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 3
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Now i'm torn if i'm an introvert or extrovert. Lol

I have this shy side, usually at first meet, but just give it hours or minutes and you'll see me in the middle of the crowd. Lol

I just got the answer to my question. I'm an extrovert lol. But with condition, others should be the one to approach me first. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a choleric - sanguine. You make others have a fun time. LOL. I think that qualifies as an extrovert. hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeah. I'm really an extrovert. Lol. That's so clear as the sky. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am an introvert also but no one believes it. LOL In cyberspace, there are way too many of us.....well, it's not healthy staying behind the keyboard all the time but the lockdown has forced me to be so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speak for yourself. It's so healthy staying behind keyboards. Less exposure to the pandemic danger. Hahahah..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

*Equipped with a keyboard** why am I imagining a samurai holding a keyboard LOL.

I think I am introvert, but extrovert when with a keyboard. It's confusing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coming to a cinema near you "The Introvert Keyboard Wielding Samurai" starring snapping.turtle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nyahahahaha I'll wait for this .. is the ninja turtles are present in that movie?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's an introvert samurai but not sure about the turtle. May not be able to afford. It's a low budget film.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha that would look like Ninja Turtle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just took mine last week! hahah. Years ago I was an extreme under Melancholy.. then now to phlegmatic (i will retake) I still defintely am introvert ... high five!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Introvert Assemble! Wow. Melancholic wants everything to be in the proper place and spic and span. Do tell after you've retaken the test.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup that WAS me .. lols i keep doubting the "spic and span" part though ... 86 - phlegmatic 46 - melancholy 46 - sanguine 26 -choleric

Support people up! Introvert Assemble indeed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. A high Phglematic! Wait a minute... I'm confused. How is it yours add up to more than 100%. Did you cheat on your test? hahaha....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

AHahhaha I was wondering the same .. .lols then I added yours and realized you are 138% .. so i guess being 204% is .. well .. FUN! hahahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aargh. Why do you have to spoil it by counting mine? Hahaha...Oh wait. No wonder, you're a high Melancholy too. hahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yehp still there.. weird yeh? aahhaa and your next high is also melancholy ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes true. I'm high in Melancholy too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have you read about the ambivert? That's where i fall the one in the middle of those two personality 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i lingered in the middle before but i think that was because of work's demand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think one of the reason why I'm in the middle is also because of my birth sign. I fall under the twins so there is really a chance that I always stay in the middle.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep we're both under twin sign :) hahahaha ..high five!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when is your birthday?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

13th :) you are a week plus one day ata.. after.. tamaba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaha plus 6 days lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wahahah my memory failed meeeeh! noooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read somewhere this. Yours is the second time I've ever heard about it. Is it like ambidextrous? But see, I'm ambidextrous but conditioned. So, I believe ambivert is the same. I'll need to read up more to be certain though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not quite sure but.. i think yeah we better read more about it and then i'll get back to you on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I was reading my thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Introverts Assemble! Hahaha...it is a reason why these personality tests reveal so much of ourselves (that sometimes we are not even aware of) and that we can identify with. And a reason why they are so powerful in teaching us how to relate to others.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha absolutely. So, what are you wearing right now? lol jk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Capt America outfit. You?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

captain marvel lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marvelous. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol i know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lols!

$ 0.00
2 years ago