2700% profit in 6 months! Only possible in the Blockchain World.

22 57
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

8 September 2021, Somewhere in the Metaverse - UplandDood (@Just1Dood)

Written on 2 September 2021

A recent chat with some friends at noise.cash has gotten me curious about a couple of NFTs I'd bought earlier this year and forgotten about. It was actually back in March that I'd bought these NFTs.

What are NFTs?

I'll not go into details about what NFTs are but here's a brief definition from Investopedia :

Non-fungible tokens or NFTs are cryptographic assets onย blockchainย with unique identification codes and metadata that distinguish them from each other.

If that still sounds confusing, a simpler definition from cnn.com may clear that up:

NFTs transform digital works of art and other collectibles into one-of-a-kind, verifiable assets that are easy to trade on the blockchain.

Note: You may click Investopedia and the cnn.com links to find out more.

How I found out about these NFTs

I'd come across this earlier this March, though I can't remember exactly the source of the information. It was a promotional sale of Splinterlands Land Claim Sales with a 20% discount.

In fact, when it was announced back then that this promotional Land Sale was happening over at AtomicHub, I'd written about it to inform my readers. Back then, I was more active over at Publish0x. It was at that platform that I'd published "Ending Soon! Splinterlands Discounted Land Sale at AtomicHub"

I'd just looked at the statistics on that article. It had 290 views in total. And I thought to myself, if half of those who read the article had acted on the information presented, they would have made a whopping 2700% today. Yes, you read right. It's an increase of 2700%!

Fortunately for me, before I had posted the article, I had enough to participate in these Land Claims. I was also grateful that it was offered through the WAX chain. Otherwise, I'd have missed this opportunity. If the sales were on the HIVE chain as they did for the first two sales, I probably wouldn't have gone through the trouble to get any.

The normal price for a Plot of Land was $20 but during this 24-hour promotional sale, it was at $16 per plot. I was sane enough to get 2 plots. If I was insane, I would have gotten one Tract of Land instead. One Tract consists of 100 plots of land and was offered for sale at $1360 (which works out to $13.60 per plot!). I dared not even think about spending that amount. Thus, I was certified sane and have gotten only 2 plots instead.

Let's do some math (I love this kind of math ๐Ÿ˜):

Currently, the lowest secondary market value for one plot of land is $450! That works out to a little over 2700% increase. Because I was sane, that two plots of land have given me an unrealized gain of $868! That's in 6 months' time!

If I was insane, I would now have an unrealized gain of $43,640! Just thinking about this drives me nuts!

Here's something totally out of this world. For the Whale, if he or she had bought the largest available package - i.e. the Region Land Claim that consists of 1,000 land plots for cool $12,000! No chump change there. He or she, if managed to sell all now would have made off with a cooler $438,000!๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€๐Ÿš€

And you know what's crazier? These prices may increase further depending on how they play into the game.

There's a Land Rush

Is it any surprise then that besides the sold-out lands on Alien Worlds, the Sandbox Game and the Upland Game virtual land and property sales are so popular? When lands are offered up for sale in these games, you can literally see a mad rush to grab lands. It is literally a land grab!

If you have not seen one, you should check out as an observer in any of these land sales. See those virtual dots disappear in mere seconds.

The Upland Game in-game USD transacted values have surpassed $1,000,000 recently! I'd highlighted in this UplandDood Update as the game was approaching the milestone.

Image Source: upland.me

And the average Sandbox lands that were sold for around $50 in their earlier discounted rounds of Land Sales a year ago are now being sold at no less than 0.2 ETH for each plot at Opensea. I'd just checked and the latest sale was at 0.419 ETH! The current ETH price is slightly above $3700.

To be Sane or Not to be?

This is a tough question to answer, isn't it? Remember my article on The Incomplete Idiot's Guide to "This is Not Financial Advice"? We all know too clearly that a fool and his money are soon parted. But sometimes, a fool stumbles on his fortune!

This is the kind of crazy thing that can only happen in the Blockchain world of Cryptocurrencies and Non-Fungible Tokens! It is also in my opinion why many governments are trying to control it. It gives power to the individuals. Governments prefer dumbed-down citizens. But that's another article that someone can write about. Not my forte though I can see what's going on.

This Is Not Financial Advice

Yes, it's that disclaimer again. These types of games and purchases are highly risky. Always approach with caution.

This is not financial advice. Do your own research.

Sources:

Lead image Own Design using Canva.com

Other images - respective sites

All Rights Reserved ยฉ2021 UplandDood |ย #ClubBrokeBCH

Thank you again for dropping by. Haveย fun with English. Remember to share your experience in the comment section.

Do drop by to say hi at my following addresses. I promise I'll be at home :)

NoiseCash:ย UplandDood

Twitter:ย UplandDood

Publish0x:ย UplandDoodย (link takes you to site. You'll have to search for UplandDood to find me)

8
$ 3.51
$ 3.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 2
Sponsors of Just1dood
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Just1dood
2 years ago

Comments

Quite impressive, and as you said, something that can only happen in the blockchain and cryptocurrencies. My steps into NFTs so far are pretty basic. But I've seen some that I've received as gifts that have increased in value, and I haven't invested anything.

I agree with you. Governments are looking to put their hands to this. What happens in El Salvador is an attempt to do so. And here in Venezuela, the government has also done its thing. Maybe I'll try to write some ideas about this.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The NFT realm is an exciting and highly addictive world. Approach with caution! hahaha.. I'm already stuck in the quicksand pool of NFT. Only one direction to go...i.e. deeper. I think that's the only way to go. Requires plenty of time to research too.

I agree with you. Governments are looking to put their hands to this. What happens in El Salvador is an attempt to do so. And here in Venezuela, the government has also done its thing. Maybe I'll try to write some ideas about this.

Yes, please do. I look forward to reading your article on this.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I have some ideas, but I have to read a little more before developing them. ;)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Woohoo! Sounds like a great plan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha the title is so RED AND GLARING.

Did you know that card holders in Splinterlands who went to hiatus just found out that their $100 worth of cards are now $10k? Yup, all thanks to Axie hahaha. NFT games are a thing now.

Anyway, I tried Upland, but dang, it gave me a headache ๐Ÿ˜‚ Maybe not my cup of tea.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it is. Need to wear sunglasses to read it. LOL.

Wow. 100 ---> 10K! There'll be more of these. I have a follow-up article relating to this.

Upland is waiting to explode. To some extent, it already has. Waiting for the International/Global lands/properties to launch. It's a somewhat slow game. I take that back. You decide on the speed. But for me, it's in spurts. Otherwise, just sit back and collect earnings from properties I earn. Real passive there. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just imagine those players who started 3 years ago and accumulated a lot of legendary cards. The value of the cards went way, way up. You should check your SPS airdrop too.

Regarding Upland, I was confused on what to do with that robot thing that roams around. Did you buy lands there with real money? Should I open the browser as long as it takes to make the robot roam around? I might give it another try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, but $100 is still quite a bit of money to splurge on a Legendary card though. High risk as no one knows what direction the game will go. But those with nerves of steel and an appetite for risks made the right decision on that one. I don't think I have any SPS airdrop as I'm not playing the game. No account but only the plots I mentioned in the article above.

I don't quite understand what you meant by robot roaming around. Have you signed up for the game? If not do consider using my link above. :) Nevertheless, if you're already signed up, do ask questions here ---> https://noise.cash/c/upland-game-x935tq367 so that it'll be easier for me to answer them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I signed up, and there's this Explorer that roams around the map. Anyway, going to check the link.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hah! now this .. this this.. ..well this.. is something I need to catch up with.. splinterlands and upland.. and these land grabbing stuff.. .. bookmarking this one..

woohoop

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Actually, I'm not playing Splinterlands. Staying away from spells and demons. LOL. But I did get the two plots of land. lol. But Upland...ahem. My opinion is that it will explode. ---->https://discover.upland.me/UplandDood. But I think you're already on it. Will probably get a hold of you there one of these days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lols yes I'm there ... always just logging in because I need to renew visa lols... @Eylz2021 is trying to help me find land.. lols .. I am going to need your help too bwahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. We will need to be in the same city for us to help you out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That case i will hunt you guys ahhha... Then buy property near you,. Meanwhile.. let me get to being acquainted with getting the everyday moolah.. cant buy lots without money on the pot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you have one prop? Can let me know address? I'll visit the prop. You'll have some moolah from my visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1713 57th Street Brooklyn

In aherm alicia keys new yoooorrrk concrete jungle where dreams are made of....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Visited. NY is the place to buy. But it's expensive and few. Do ask questions here --->https://noise.cash/c/upland-game-x935tq367. Easier for me to respond.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woohoop thank you so much dood!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im really learning a lot from you guys along with crypto.... You should have bought more plot since its on sale hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I had wanted to but I think I was distracted by some other things and didn't get more. lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am still on the fence about NFTs, mainly because even though I understand the definition, I do not know enough about them to do anything with them, or to feel confident to do anything with them. I can't deny those would be some massive gains, but if I were to "get in" on it, it would be something I would be doing blindly.

I guess for me, even if I did have such a gain, I'd want to understand as best I can the mechanics of why the gain happened in order to feel confident about going all in on another round of it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is the future of collecting and soon the future of enjoying these collections (in the metaverse through VR). If it interests you, then I do suggest you read up more about it. A low barrier of entry and much cheaper to "play" with while you learn is the WAX chain (https://on.wax.io/wax-io/). The portal for doing trades that most people use is atomichub.io. Do your own research by starting on these two. (Not financial advice).

$ 0.01
2 years ago