A Special Day? Maybe not.

25 40
Avatar for JulyAnn
2 years ago

Got lost of the date today. I thought June have 31st but sadly is hasn't. Apparently, tomorrow is my special day, my birthday. But should I consider it a "special" day?

Its not that I am not thankful to God for giving me life as well as to my parents. I am very thankful to them because I exist.

Talking about my birthday, I can't remember when was the last time I celebrated my birthday. Last year, my sister only bought a small birthday cake and greeted me, and that's it. No celebration. I never had a birthday celebration.

Since elementary I want my birthday to fall on weekends. Why? Because I don't want my classmates to know that its my birthday. When some of my classmates celebrated their birthday in school, they celebrate it in school which they brought foods like spaghetti, lumpia, hotdog, sandwich, juice, cake, etc. I think my classmates got used with the birthday celebration. They will asked everyone when is their birthdays and they will surely memorize it. If its your birthday, they will ask you if you will bring foods in class, a Jollibee is much prefer. But sorry to them, I came in not a well-off family.

I remember during 4th grade, it was my birthday. When I entered the classroom everyone is greeting me a happy birthday, of course I am happy, except the way the asked and demand for foods. They are asking me to treat them even food from canteen. I told them that I don't have many. My daily "baon" or allowance during that time is only 3 pesos. How can I treat them? But atleast some of my classmate understand me.

During recess, when I was about to went to the canteen, one of my classmate called me and hand me money(20 pesos) plus a rubberband (panahong usong uso yung rubberband para paglaruan). I asked what was that for and she simply told me that it was a birthday treat from one of my boy classmate. I was tongue-tied because I never expect it. After it sink in, I told him to gave it back because I won't accept it but my boy classmate insisted. I only accept the rubberband and gave the money back to him. I told him that I should be the one treating him because its my birthday but because I don't have money, I can't. That I really do appreciate his action and rubberband is enough as a birthday present.

I am very happy when my birthday falls during weekend. Only my family can greet me and that's fine with me. My mother will accompanied me to chapel and light a candle for my birthday.

During highschool, only few of my classmates knows my birthday, only my bestfriends and few classmates. They will greet me and that's it. Back to being a normal day.

After that, my birthday becomes a normal day, and I got used to it. A greetings from my family and friends and that's it. That's how I spend my birthday for the past years and I guess that's how I will do tomorrow. Nothing special, just a normal day.

I wantes to treat myself and unwind. Go to some places, but on the second thought I'll just stay at home. Being unemployed is such a great hassle and problem. Even if I want to treat myself, I can't because I only have enough money. Transportation fare hikes triple plus the foods I will spend if ever I will go. So inteads of spending money, might as well stay at home and give the money to my mother. I haven't given her enough money because I am unemployed.

Birthdays? Yes, its the time we should feel special. Be thankful of the life and all blessings we received. But for me, birthdays are just a normal day.

So, my birthday, Happy Birthday to me! Thank you God for another year. 😊

June 30, 2021

If you want to read my articles visit MY PROFILE.

Thank you!

12
$ 2.29
$ 1.00 from @Yen
$ 0.60 from @tired_momma
$ 0.20 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of JulyAnn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JulyAnn
2 years ago

Comments

UwU, happy birthday ng malupet mare, anong handa natin jan beke nemen, patumba kana ng ng baka jan ano haha. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MORE TO COME πŸ’ͺπŸ°πŸ”ŠπŸŽΆπŸ°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagpatumba na pero pinatayo ko ulit.!πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahahaha aba'y nasaid na siguro ano, ahaha. Dika manlang namigay πŸ™„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha wala nga eh. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday po πŸŽ‚πŸŽ‰ more more blessings to come 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday to you JulyAnn! May you have a wonderful one :)

I think birthday parties aren't really necessary just as long as we are thankful and happy for another year. You can still cook the same food you eat everyday, and gratefully celebrate it with your family :)

Maybe some time in the future, you can treat yourself just as you have imagined :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup! Thanks for the greetings! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure :) Enjoy the rest of your day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday, jabs! Now it makes sense why your name has July on it. πŸ˜… Best wishes! ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

July 1 to Julie Ann. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday Jabs!

Ako din ayaw ko ng handa handa kapag birthday πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Salamat!😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate much about birthdays and I didn't demand my parents for a celebration because I knew about our situation. A simple greetings from them and if there was something my mother cooked like glutinous rice, or cakes or siopao it's enough for me.

Happy happy bday to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. Opo hassle pa kapag may handa. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday JulyAnn and many more birthdays and blessings to come! ❀πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po! 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday po. ☺️ There will be a time that you will got to experience the birthday celebration you want. For now, just enjoy how it will go and make sure to thank God for another year given to you and have a good health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayan 12 na.. Happy Birthday to you madam..wish you to have more BCH to come 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat!😊 Sana na nga! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advance Happy Birthday. 11:18pm I should start now counting down. Hehe. anyways, it's okay po kahit wala masyadong celebration basta mabuti yung health mo, nandyan yun pamilya mo at umabot ka sa ganyang edad. I think that's enough reason para maging happy ka po.
I wish!

I wish na maging happy ka bukas at may dumating na big blessings for your birthday.. I wish wish. God bless you po. Ingat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraming, maraming salamat. Yup! Good health to me and my love ones lang okay na ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes yes poo hehe again God bless sa inyo

$ 0.00
2 years ago