Zander @ 17

17 35
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

August 30, 2021.

 My youngest turns 17 today.

I remember quite well 17 years ago when I went on labor with my youngest, Zander.

I was admitted in Visayas Community Medical Center as the Cebu Puericulture Center & Maternity House where my three daughters were born was in full capacity.

I called my OB-Gyne when I experienced cramps and back pains, signs of being in labor. I was told to observe the intervals of the pain and when the intervals was getting shorter she advised me to go to the hospital.

I was already admitted in the hospital when she arrives. She checked the opening of my cervix and it was almost 10cm. She also had the heartbeat of my baby checked and she noticed that it is getting weaker. She told me to prepare for a cesarean delivery. It is to be noted that I had a normal delivery with all of my girls.

I gave a pep talk to my little boy, telling him that I love him and that he needs to get out of my womb so that I can see his beautiful face.

And in just a matter of a minute, I had to be rushed to the delivery room as my baby boy is about to be born. I was so happy that it was a normal delivery or else I don’t know where to pay for a cesarean delivery. Cesarean delivery cost triple the amount of a normal delivery and I was only prepared for a normal delivery.

Moving forward to today, 17 years after.

Our initial plan was to celebrate his birthday at Shangri-La Mactan as my brother who formerly was a chef in Shangri-La gave me the hotel’s voucher for an overnight stay last Christmas of 2020. But I have no time to use the voucher because of the pandemic.

So we thought of using it for Zander's birthday. But upon inquiry, the hotel requires a negative swab test result for their guests. As there are six of us, it will be very expensive to have the swab test just to use the voucher. Hopefully we get to use the voucher before it’s expiry on Dec 31, 2021.

A change of plan was needed. My son suggested that we will just go to RORO, a place in Mactan Island that looks like a long boardwalk and with plenty of food stalls at the side. Zander was there before with his cousins when they went biking. They love the sisig in one stall and that is where we were supposed to go on his birthday.

But then MECQ was raised again in the Central Visayas that was supposed to end fourteen days ago but it was extended for another fourteen days. Currently, it is being extended again for another 7 days.

The second plan was trashed out and instead we decided to have it in our house. So today, we are celebrating his birthday.

He woke up early to hear an early mass, as this is our tradition for every birthday celebrant. After mass, he has the pool inflated and filled with water.

My eldest was preparing spaghetti with plenty of cheese toppings. She cooks the best spaghetti. 😁

Our house staff was making lumpia shanghai. I think the frying went a bit overboard but it is crunchy and delicious.

My share in the cooking was chicken cordon bleu. I had it marinated last night so that the spices will seep into the meat. I just have to arrange the ham and cheese slices before frying it. I don’t know why the cheese melted during frying that it cannot be seen anymore when we sliced it. Maybe I'll make another and take pictures on the process and write an article on it. 😁

My hubby’s share was to buy a lechon belly. This one is the spicy type as the original was no longer available when he went to the store.

And lastly, I ordered a cake for Zander. I have mentioned in my article Maja Blanca https://read.cash/@Judith1969/maja-blanca-7f993ff3 , that I made it for Zander’s birthday today but it was gone to our tummies that very same day.

I was glad that Chedz Cake accepted our order even in short notice. This cake shop was our go to every time we need a customized cake to give as gift.

When my sister arrived with her kids, they brought with them butter garlic shrimp.

Sorry folks, there was no picture during our eating session as everyone was eating by hand, no one dares to use their phone to take pictures.

Looking at my son made me realize that he is no longer my baby but he is a young man now.

It made me teary eyed a bit. I miss my kids being babies.

After lunch the kids had fun at the pool. They placed it fronting the garage. Even if the water’s murky, they still played in it. The girls stopped earlier and left the boys in the water.

Karaoke was at the garage too. Only one cousin left to do the singing. He had the karaoke all to himself.

My sister left earlier leaving the kids, as she has to go shopping. When she arrives, she surprises us with ice cream.

The day is not over yet. I don’t know what the night will bring, but I am sure that we will have the same food for our dinner tonight.

Thanks for celebrating with us my read friends.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

 That’s all for now folks.

Thanks for dropping by.

I am forever grateful to these beautiful people who extends their support and love. You guys ROCK!

Thanks for the 🧡🧡🧡.

10
$ 4.90
$ 4.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

Oh, Judith, belated happy birthday to your song! My son is also 17 years old. All that food looks so yummy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happy birthday to your youngest! he's all grown up na po. hahaha yun din po naririnig ko madalas sa mga nanay e. na ambilis bilis ng panahon, yung babies nila malalaki na. Btw, ang sasarap po ng handa ninyo. Halatadong masaya ang celebrant. Maski napurnada yung first and second plan, he's still fine celebrating it in your house. kasi what matters most is yung kasama po kayong pamilya❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello po belated happy birthday to your son po..ang sarap naman yung mga foods hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated happy birthday, Zander! 💯 Ang sasarap ng foods ate, and halata naman na nag-enjoy sila. Kung nandyan ako sasamahan ko yung nag-karaoke 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy 17th Zander. He looks so calm and cute. Love his hair by the way. I am happy for you, my friend. Warm regards to him and thanks for the treat for him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hapy birthday 🎂 zander.. Daming handa a kakaguyom.. Pakurot sa belly lechon hehehhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday ate.. May mga single pla dto na ka edad nya bka naman 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to you son Judith! I’m happy you managed to celebrate it, despite the challenges. Food looks delicious 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday to Zander! May God bless him more. Andami naman pong handa tita! I love the spaghetti po and daming cheese grabe hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Alexis. Masarap talaga ang spaghetti na yan. Ubos agad. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy 17th birthday, Zander!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you Jeryll. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday to Zander ma'am Judith!!!🎉🎉 More birthdays and blessings to him . Good health always..🙏🙏

Ang sarap ng foods ma'am Judith. Yung shrimp, paborito ko.. 🤤Enjoy your celebration ma'am..🥰❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The famous chicken cordon bleu. I love everything the food and the fact that your sister brought shrimps too. Anyway, Happy Birthday Zander🎉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha, nabayaran na ha...

Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago