Upcycling Starbucks Bottles

3 25
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Hello read.cash readers.

I am back with another D0-it-Yourself project.

The weather here in our place this Sunday is not good for working outdoors, so I was not able to do gardening today.

So I was thinking of what to do aside from watching YouTube or Netflix.

Then an idea came to me when I saw the Starbucks bottle my daughter has discarded after drinking its contents. I will do some upcycling.

Upcycling is reusing an object that is being discarded into something that will be usable and of a higher quality or value than the original. - Google search

I removed the logo sticker and clean off the bottle.

Here are the materials I used.

  • Any reusable bottle

  • Twine

  • Glue (I used glue gun with a glue stick)

The first thing I do was to determine the height of the holder. This is the loop for hanging the bottle once finished. I prefer to start from the bottom so the loop will be strong enough to hold with water in it.

And again from the bottom, I started attaching the twine around the bottle using the glue.

This has to be done again and again until the whole bottle is fully wrapped with the twine.

Once done, I put water inside and place some plants that grow in water.

Please note that not all plants thrive in water, some of them doesn't like water at all and should only be watered when they are thirsty. You'll know since their leaves will sunk and will have wrinkles.

But there are plants that can be propagated by just putting them inside a bottle of water. These plants grow roots while on water. I just happened to have one of them.

The photos. This plant is easy to propagate. Just cut at the nodes. This is where the roots grow.

And drop them in a bottle of water.

I also made another one using yarns. I braided the yarn before wrapping it around the bottle.

A few days ago, I save a branch of a mango tree and used it as a hanger for these bottles.

I still have more room to hang on more bottles which are lying doing nothing in the kitchen cabinet.

What about you? Have you made any upcycling lately? Comment them down below.

❤❤❤

3
$ 0.22
$ 0.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @marblely
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Comments

Goodness! Another wonderful idea! I have so many of these bottles lying around and I just put water in them and put the plants inside :D But you notched it up to another level. Thank you for the idea. Need to go find some twine :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glad to be of help with ideas. Do you know that it is better to cover the bottles? This is because algaes form inside the bottle if it is not dark and are exposed to light.

Thanks again for the upvotes. Generous as always. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right, I have lots of algae forming inside, sometimes I scrub them off when I change their water thrice a week :D Okay, I will definitely have to look for twine :D

$ 0.00
3 years ago