Public Servant

6 9
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

July 6, 2021

I learned in my young age that I am rich. They say I was born with a golden spoon. Everything I want is handed to me.

You see, my parents are into business. They have stores in a lot of places.

They brought me to the store from time to time and it is during those times that I learned how to be me today.

One time, a man bought a kilo of rice from our store. I immediately scope some rice to measure but I noticed that the scale was not correct. It was not pointing to zero but instead it was pointing to one. I was about to turn the knob to adjust the scale but my father stopped me. He said that we need to gain more profit and that the scale is correct.

Another customer bought a ganta of peanuts. My mom went to measure it. After measuring the peanuts with a little mound at the top, she poured in into a plastic bag and gave it to the customer. She gave me the ganta to return to its proper place but I noticed that there were still a lot of peanuts left inside. I told her that there were still some left but she hushed me out.

Definition: A ganta is a dry measure containing more or less three quarts.

I have a nanny who always accompany me wherever I go. She goes with me to the store too. She witnessed everything that is happening there. Every night, while tucking me to bed, she would always tell me that cheating is not good. That it is a sin. That someone higher than anyone else is watching and that is God. She always lead a prayer for me.

But why would I listen to her? She is just a nanny. My dad and mom has taught me the right way to get richer.

So growing up, I kept on cheating. I ended up becoming richer and richer.

My friends are from the high society and some are government officials.

And so one day, a friend invited me to join the politics. I have no knowledge about policy making. I have no experience in politics. But I said, why not, I can buy people to vote for me. I can pay the teachers and the poll watchers to cheat during the counting of the ballots.

And so here I am, ready to be served.

I can now double my millions, tripled, quadrupled them for I now have the power.

I can buy lives. I have people who are willing to do it for me for a fee. No one can touch me now.

I can have all the women in the world. It is okay to cheat on my wife. She will not leave me or else she will go poor or she might end up in the hands for my hired help.

I enjoyed all these for so many years. No one can defeat me.

All the while, I thought I am invincible.

But there is someone greater than me. Someone whom I cannot hide from.

He just put some of my internal organs to stop functioning. All the doctors who I hired to heal me cannot do anything. All the tubes connected to me can’t do anything to bring back my health.

Now, I am on my death bed. I remembered my nanny who taught me to pray but did not listen to. Will I be forgiven? Is it too late to ask for forgiveness?

I am asking for your forgiveness...

Your Public Servant

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Will he be forgiven?

Here’s what the Bible say:

If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

– 2 Chronicles 7:14

For I will be merciful toward their iniquities, and I will remember their sins no more.

– Hebrews 8:12

I, I am he who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins.

– Isaiah 43:25

****************************************************************

This is my reply to @JonicaBradley’s writing prompt : Cheating

Here are the simple rules:

Write 100% original content

Write at least 600 words

Tag @JonicaBradley

And Have Fun

Thanks for dropping by.

🧡🧡🧡

Lead image by Unsplash.

1
$ 2.96
$ 2.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @zellypearl
$ 0.01 from @ARTicLEE
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

If only we can be forgiving as Our Father in heaven, then maybe this world will be a better place. We all deserve second chances. When we ask for forgiveness, it should be heartfelt and we really mean it and then not commit the same mistake again. We should also listen to those who advices that will not lead us to any harm.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, yes, yes. So true. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While reading I thought this was your story until I got to the point that you mentioned "HE" and then I realized it wasn't yourself you were talking about cause judging from the profile you are a lady and not a guy lol.

We cannot cheat people and go scot-free. The person in this story had a privilege, a chance to become a good and better person with the help of his nanny even when his parents were spoiling him but he refused to take the right teaching from his nanny because he thought she was just a nanny so why would he listen to her?

He realized his wrong deeds at the point of his death. Our merciful and gracious father (God) still forgives even a cheater and a sinner and the book of the scripture you shared in this context is very accurate for a sinner who feels that God wouldn't forgive them for their evil acts and wrong deeds.

We should never cheat people no matter what because life always has its way of paying us back in the same coin. Nice to meet you Judith and to read from you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for this lovely comment. This is the first time to make a story like this. I was so afraid that it will not be received positively. Nice to meet you too @zellypearl. 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh is that so? You don't have to worry about that because every word, every article meets people in different ways. Just do your part and leave the rest okay?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. 🧡👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago