Of Generators and Long Queues

6 28
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

December 28, 2021

Hello dear read.cash friends. A belated Merry Christmas and an Advance Happy New Year to all of you.

I know I have been out of circulation for quite some time this December due to a lot of reasons. First off, I was lazy and then I was lazy again. While I was contemplating on what to write and put myself in the mood to write, the typhoon strikes, putting off all activities that requires electricity and internet to a halt.

For more than a week now, the wirings for the power and internet were still not repaired. Right after the typhoon Odette, we went out to buy a generator but anywhere we go there is a long line of people wanting to buy one.

The queues for the generator is almost the same as the queues for gasoline, drinking water and ATMs. Anywhere you go, as long as there is an open gasoline station, water refilling station and functioning ATMs, the queue is almost a kilometer long. This is because not all gasoline stations were open because of the damage they also have due to the typhoon while the water refilling stations need a generator to function and most have no generators at all. The ATMs need electricity to function too and almost all banks were closed.

Because of the long queue at the gasoline stations, traffic is almost everywhere as the cars lining up for the gasoline where occupying almost half of the road.

Every day my brother went out to look for that generator until I almost surrendered of buying one anymore. It was such a waste of fuel going from one store to the other and enduring several hours in traffic.

One time he came back home with the information that there is this hardware store selling a complete set of solar powered lights. It can light up of up to four lights. So we opted for that instead. That was on December 23. On December 24, I asked my brother for a last attempt on that precious generator. I really want to have my Christmas tree lighted on Christmas eve as it was my hubby who put up that tree before he went back to work on board the ship. It is as if the tree represents him. Sorry, just being sentimental here.

He went out with my son on his motorcycle in search for that generator. He came back home a few minutes after. I was so sad seeing him as I was thinking that he was not able to get one again. But I was wrong, he was able to buy one as there was no longer a queue for the generator and he just came back to get the car to pick up the generator. He paid for it before going home and left my son to watch for it at the store.

And now, the next problem is the gasoline. As mentioned earlier, there was a loooooong queue at the gasoline stations. My brother who has his motorcycle fully refilled the night before by queueing for almost 2 hours seeped the gasoline from his motorcycle to the generator. Another brother, who met a motorcycle accident, also offered the gasoline from his motorcycle.

And together with the whole family, we celebrated Christmas eve not in darkness but with the lights on.

Postscript: With the generator on, comes income generation. Our neighbors asked to have their gadgets charged and they pay for it. I would have given it to them for free but we have a neighbor (a friend of mine) who charged them. So as not to compete with her, I charged the same as what she charged. I don’t want an enemy after all these passed by.

That’s all for now folks.

Thanks for dropping by.

To my sponsors, upvoters and commenters, a HUGE THANK YOU!

Thanks for the 🧡🧡🧡

 

 

 

 

5
$ 3.99
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 2
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

Yey! All is well that ends well. That tree looks lovely!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Merry Christmas to you Art!🎄🎁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas ate.. At least hndi madilim yung pasko .. Happy parin naman 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes Jane. Happy pa rin ang pasko. Hoping yours is a happy one too even if you are alone this Christmas. Yung alone but not lonely ang peg. 🎄🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad na okay lang po kayo lahat after ng typhoon ma'am Judith. Thankful po kay God. Yan talaga problema ngayon ma'am yung electricity. Ganyan din po sa probinsya namin.

Sabi ng mga kapatid ko sobrang init daw kasi walang electric fan tas sa March pa yung balik ng kuryente.😭 Naawa ako dun sa mga family ko. Sana bumalik na kuryente sa amin ma'am.🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was told that the repairs for the electricity line is almost near our area. Really hoping that we will have electricity by New Year.

Kumusta family mo sa province? Saan pala probinsya nyo? Grabeh ba ang damages din doon?

$ 0.00
2 years ago