Of Breadwinners and Resignations

10 33
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

July 27, 2021

 At the start of the pandemic, many companies have suffered a lot of losses especially in the tourism industry. Hotels, resorts and restaurants were closed. Many people were displaced, many lost their jobs.

There are companies, despite of the losses, still help their employees by giving them their monthly salary, either whole or half month, or by giving them goods during the pandemic times, such as rice, noodles and canned goods.

But there are also companies who retrenched their employees and doesn’t help at all on the remaining employees.

The company I worked with belongs to the latter. In my section alone, I have to let go of four staff. Of course, I chose those who are not doing well.

A year after the lockdown, economy slowly is flourishing. Many companies are getting their retrenched employees back. Little by little, restaurants were opened, resorts started receiving tourists, of course, social distancing was still observed.

But my company is still in the helm of streamlining employees. If there are resignations, it will not be replaced by new one instead we have to hire internally. Don’t get me wrong, I love the company I worked with, I won’t be here for almost 25 years if I don’t. It’s just that I think the welfare of the employees must also be taken into consideration.

Our company boasts for having an annual salary increase but for the past two years, no increases happened.

I have staff that are breadwinners in the family. They were hired more than two years ago but since then they have not experienced any increases in their salary.

What is a breadwinner?

A breadwinner is someone who is earning to support their family.

Who are the breadwinners?

During the early years, fathers are the breadwinners in the family. They don’t allow their wives to work as they are proud and they don’t want people to look down upon them if they let their wives work.

Soon, times changed. The wives now help their husbands in supporting their family. They are now allowed to work and earn on their own and bring food on the table.

But these modern times, it looks like even the children have become breadwinners.

The staff that I mentioned earlier who are breadwinners in their family has parents that are not working. One of them has to send her sister to school while the other one has to support her ailing father.

They are both millennials. This is their first job since graduating from college and they are now breadwinners.

Breadwinners are getting younger and younger as time passes by.

Resignations

Because of having no increase in their salaries for the past two years, these two have just tendered their resignation, a day after each other. One submitted last Friday evening and the other one on Saturday noon. I cannot blame them for resigning as our company is doing nothing, even if they put me in a dilemma.

As mentioned again earlier, some companies have started to flourish, and these two took advantage of that and applied for a position in these companies. They were lucky enough to be accepted with a higher, much higher salary than what they are receiving currently.

As much as I want to hold them, our company cannot match their new rate from the other companies. I also don’t want to be the hindrance in their earning well, so I have to let them go.

If you were in their place, would you do that too? I think I would do the same as these two did.

That’s all folks!

Thanks of dropping by.

🧡🧡🧡

Lead image by Unsplash

Plagiarism check!

 

7
$ 5.48
$ 5.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 7
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
2 years ago

Comments

It's understandable what those two did. I admire their courage taking the chance. Instead of choosing security, they took the chance of finding better opportunity.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, they are brave enough and wise too. They first make sure that they have some work to go before resigning. With the situation we are in it is difficult to be jobless. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll do that too. I've been employed since I was 16. Not because my parents don't work, until now, they are. I just want to earn. I always look for the higher salary .. Mukha Kong pera eh 😂. But not for me. For my mom.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ow, may mukhang pera ba ang ganyang mukha? Yung mag adopt ng pusang gala? May mabuti ng puso yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very sad what is happening but this is the case in many places. Some companies emerge and others go under. People are just looking for a way to provide for their families.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, is this true in your country too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it also happens in my country, unfortunately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I salute those employers /companies who truly cares for their employees

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think those who tendered their resignations have have found a new company that would pay them higher salaries and they see there is growth in that new work. It is hard to let go from a job that you've been working all your life. It is not only the salary that you will miss but the people that has already been a part of your life for many years and treated them as family is really what is the most painful but you know in this trying times you have to think of your own family as well rather than your own because it is for them that is why you have sacrificed so much in the first place. It is truly hard when you are in the crossroad of your life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, they found another job who pays well. Yeah, they did cry when then ask permission from me but they have no choice as they have mouths to fill.

$ 0.00
2 years ago