Needlework : Pots

5 33
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Article #16.

Hi read.cash readers and subscribers.

When the pandemic hit the world, a lot turns to gardening to pass away the time while on quarantine. A lot of those who became plantmoms had posted in their Facebook pages about their newly acquired plants and how they transform their living room with their plants in white pots.

I was so envious of their white pots as I am a plantmom myself even before the pandemic. But I have never envisioned my plants to be inside the living room. I desperately want those white pots but never get to buy them as we were on hard lockdown, meaning we can only go out for necessities.

The pot supplier also hails from another town therefore it is difficult to cross borders if you don't have the necessary documents to be shown.

The pots sold online are priced so way above my budget.

There is no other way for me to get those pots but to crochet one myself.

I use different kinds of stitches but made sure that the stitches I used are quite thick to make the pot stand by itself. I also use bulky yarns so it is really sturdy.

Here below is the pot using the alpine stitch. For me this is the best stitch to use for this project.

Here's another one using the cross-stitch alternating with single crochet in each round.

And lastly, the front post double crochet stitch.

Which one do you prefer?

I am planning to make one with variegated colors. I will try to take photographs for tutorial, post it here and hope you can make one yourself.

Let's get crafting!

❤❤❤

Note : lead image is courtesy of amazon.com for reference

4
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago (Last updated: 2 years ago)

Comments

Subscribe me please 🙈 I will subscribe you back

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh wow.. that is brilliant. Does it mean that the soil is directly in the crocheted pot? I am imagining all the soil in the beautiful crocheted pot. They all look lovely. I like them all. I have not seen the alpine stitch before and the single crochet mix with cross stitch is pretty. They look very sturdy. What material was the bulky yarn? Is it like a jute yarn?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The plants are planted in a black plastic pot and is wrapped in plastic before placing inside the crocheted pots.

I am not sure what type of yarn I used. I bought them in a Japanese warehouse sale and the marks are in Japanese. I can't read them, but they are surely thick and has some jute like material.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just....wow

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago