DIY - Christmas Ornaments

4 27
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

"We wish you a merry Christmas..."

Christmas is just a few days away although in the Philippines, Christmas preparation starts during the -ber months. Meaning, as early as September, we, Filipinos start getting ready for Christmas in December.

Some malls put-up their Christmas decorations, yes, in September. Christmas songs are being played on the radio. People starts their Christmas shopping for gifts.

Yes, you can feel the spirit for Christmas as early as September.

Like others, I also start planning Christmas as early as September. I make out a list of the people I have to buy gifts, I start to plan out menu for Christmas eve dinner. I start buying and wrapping those gifts.

But this year, 2020, is quite different. September was quiet, some malls were closed, holiday shopping is missing. I, myself, feels like not celebrating Christmas.

Not until the third week of November did I start to plan for Christmas. This is because, I was thinking I HAVE A LOT TO BE THANKFUL FOR. I am thankful for being alive, my family is complete, my friends are there within reach. I still have a job despite this pandemic.

I know it was quite late already to do the planning and the buying and the wrapping but I just have to do it. With the help of my daughters, we have the tree up with our angel watching us from above the tree. This angel has been with us for eight years already.

I start crocheting gifts for friends and wrap them up.

As I am working from home, there are times, while in the middle of a job, I can think of something else to do, like watching YouTube. This is to rest my brain even for a short while. In one of those times, I happen to pass by a crocheted ornaments and start to watch them. This made me look for more easy projects to make. I came across this YouTube show that uses plastic rings from plastic bottles and soooo very easy to follow and soooo very cute when done. I said to myself, WHY NOT?

So I went out to look for the bottle ring and started to crochet.

Materials needed :

  • plastic bottle ring

  • 3 colors of yarn

The patterns call for attaching the yarn to the plastic ring and making double crochets around the ring. It doesn't matter how many double crochets you make as long as it is a multiple of two as it depends on the size of your plastic ring.

After the first round, you then have to change color of the yarn and make single v stitches in every other stitch. (oops, I was not able to take a picture of this round🙁)

For the last step, make some slip knots around, skipping a few stitches in between. Tie a ribbon on top and this is the finished product.

Isn't that cute?

I plan to make more but I still have to scout for that plastic ring.

For all of you reading this, may you have the most wonderful time during this Christmas season. Let us all be thankful that we are still here. Let us all be grateful that we are still able to read each other's write-ups, being able to comment and like.

May the real Spirit of Christmas, which is Jesus, protect us and shield us from any dangers and diseases.

Merry Christmas one and all.

Here is the link to the Youtube channel that I followed for this project should you want to make one too.

4
$ 2.52
$ 2.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Judith1969
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Judith1969
3 years ago

Comments

That is so pretty Judith! Not only you are saving our environment but you are also helping to save some animals just by using the rings from plastic bottles. I don't know if you have seen some pictures of some animals especially some of our sea creatures that was tangled or stucked with plastics and one of which are those plastic rings. Some environmentalists adviced that we should cut it when disposing plastic bottles. Great job!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang cute te 😁.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks @Jane. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago