Should parents decide for their grown-up children?

8 20

This question has been bothering my mind and I decide to take it on my writing and seek read.cash members' opinion on this matter.

I want to share a real life experience that just happened recently.

Since the pandemic started, lockdown and curfew began in my country, Nigeria, schools and several organizations both government and private-owned were asked to shut down, my brother and I came back home from our different Universities. It had really not been easy to cope as my parents job were affected.

Few weeks after getting home, my older brother was advised by my parents to go back into the work he was doing before gaining admission into the University. He worked in a water bottling company and I gained admission before he did and he's currently in his first year although got a certificate from college where he spent two years.

After working for about six weeks, he began to feel uninterested in the job which I knew it's a matter that happened between him and his boss at work. He wanted to quit the job but my parents are insisting he continue with the work.

Dear community members, I need your opinions on this matter, should parents decide for their children on issues like this?

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of JoshuaDimeji
empty
empty
empty

Comments

This is not the time to quit a job, and not for misunderstanding between his boss. The pandemic has affected every home, so every member of the family that has something to do to support the family shouldn't think of quitting now bo matter what.

Yes, parents has a say here since everyone lives together in same house. Quitting that job will affect the family, this is what your parents want to avoid

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks very much for the insight. It's like you already know we depended on the income he received from there because the pandemic affected my parents job and he's been advised to hold on with the job with patience

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's how it is for many now. There are times in life when the best solution to a problem is to remain silent. That's the time your brother is facing now.

Anyway, please subscribe to my blog

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks very much for your reply. I'll do that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What I believe that even grownup should ask for advice from their parents and they should respect their opinion. But the final decision should be you only and not anybody else

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me, it's normal to have conflicts at work. It just depends on how will you handle it and know your place since you are just starting in your work. It's a matter of sacrifice. you can't always quit anything if you started to feel uninterested.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ace
3 years ago

We are given our own mind to think for the best. We were sent to school so we can be educated and learn what's right or wrong. What is the use of gaining knowledge and going to universities if we would let other people decide what is best for us. In my opiniom, i know our parents loves us and they want us to believe them because they know what's best for us. However, they wont live forever, they'd be gone someday whether we like it or not. We should be accountable for our own life. And that means we should make our own decisions.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is advisable for him to endure whatever happens between him and his boss. It doesn't make sense for a grown up man to be idle. If he wants to leave, he should have alternative.

$ 0.00
3 years ago