More Gold Than Porcelain - Poetry Series #1

9 35
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Photo by Haragayato on Wikimedia Commons

@VoluntaryJapan recently posted a series of Haiku https://read.cash/@VoluntaryJapan/short-poemshaiku-vol-i-26cdb6f4

This inspired me to publish some of my own poetry.

Kintsugi is the Japanese art of repairing cracked or broken pottery with gold, treating the breaks and repairs as the history of an object rather than something to be hidden or disguised. I find this art and its philosophy incredibly beautiful. I like to view the history of my life in a similar manner especially as applies to my emotional journey through trauma into present-day strength and happiness.

This first poem, inspired by the Khalil Gibran quote, details my personal journey and demonstrates my scars are actually my strength.

Image design by Jonica Bradley

"Out of suffering have emerged the strongest souls; the most massive characters are seared with scars."

- Kahlil Gibran

my heart

road map of

scars.

breaking healing breaking healing

breaking

japanese bowl more gold

than porcelain.

my soul,

tattered cloth

frayed.

ripping tearing ripping tearing

ripping

favorite blanket more patch

than crochet.

my wrist,

evidence of

failure.

shaming slashing shaming slashing

shaming

traumatized child more strength

than hidden pain.


* * *

Lead image "Sunset on HX" photo by Jonica Bradley

Thanks for reading. If you liked this one and want to read more, let me know in the comments.

Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty

5
$ 1.56
$ 1.00 from @VoluntaryJapan
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pantera
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

First time to read your poetry my friend. Hope to read more poetry from you as well as your gardening too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm working on the gardening article. The latest one. It takes forever to write, but not necessarily the prose. More captioning all the photos. It's getting there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward on that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed reading that. Keep on writing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nothing could stop me from writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is wonderful, thank you for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for inspiring!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I shall endeavor to post more of my poetry here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yippee!!! I get to feed my poetry cravings here! Keep writing more poetry @Jonica. 😍

$ 0.01
2 years ago