Lost!

29 54
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Have you ever diligently written an article and saved it only to lose half of it because of a weird computer syncing glitch?

I just did.

Yesterday morning before milking and after as my husband was driving me to my psychology appointment, I wrote and diligently saved my Audience how to article.

This morning, sitting in my car, waiting for milking time to roll around, I opened my laptop. I went to the My Articles section and pulled up my draft. Read.cash flagged it with a red bar staying I had an unsaved draft. Restore? It asked. Ok. I hit restore.

I scrolled down to the bottom and saw instead of restore my entire article, the bulk of which I had written on my phone, not my laptop, only to find more than half my article missing!

Ugh.

I'm sure I can recreate it for the most part since I'm going to be giving the same information, but I'm also sure, though I don't remember the exact words, I was far more witty and clever than I will be today.

I'm still pretty stressed out by life.

I get stress stupid.

Mental stress combined with all the various physical conditions that cause physical stress (Diabetes, Hashimoto's Disease, IBS, Menopause) give me major brain fog.

That's one reason it's so difficult for me to write or be creative when I'm stressed.

My brain just doesn't work.

Well.

There's nothing for it but to recreate what I've lost.

Meanwhile, the doctor is ready for me, now.

Lead and first image license free from Unsplash

19
$ 8.28
$ 8.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @fantagira
$ 0.05 from @onlymythoughts
+ 5
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It happens. Not on this site so far. But it has happened to me. I got to a point where writing the article offline worked well for me. Here I tend to hit the "save draft" button often throughout the writing process. But not sure if that would have helped or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was because I was using two different devices.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I too had the same experience. But then due to the restore button I got it back. Any thing done out of stress will not be complete. Make yourself stress free by reading books ๐Ÿ“šof your choice or listening to soft music or an outing with a trust worthy friend. This will definitely reduce your stress to a certain extent.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for the suggestions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No I never experienced this but I can understand that it can be frustrating. Sad to hear about your condition, I pray you receive mental peace.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The condition is a natural part of aging. And If much rather NOT have what I went in for.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have been handling them well momma, all you just need to do is to manage your time do less of stressful things. For your article you can write ahead of time and just keep

$ 0.03
2 years ago

But my stress is just life. Live just keeps happening. If nothing happened, my brain would come up with something stressful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It happened to me once, and since that day I started making use of an external editor that automatically syncs to a cloud storage. After i'm done with my article, I just copy and paste it into readcash, and publish after some minor editing.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I used to use Google Docs, but got lazy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was so pissed off when I wrote an article after a hectic day of work only to lose it. I literally just went to bed because I couldn't think straight that evening.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yep! That's kind of what happened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That can be so draining, mama. I can imagine how you feel. So sorry. How was the meeting today and how are you feeling? Is your son now with your eldest daughter?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I actually need to call my son this evening. The doctor just informed me I have symptoms relating to (omg I feel old!) postmenopausal something or other. I'm only 53!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. Never heard of that before. So sorry mama. Can it be fixed?

Were you able to reach him?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It just means I'm turning into an elder. Yes I spoke to him. He will officially move in with his sister on the 20th. They've arranged something with the leasing people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's such a relief; him moving in with her. Everything will turn out great, mama.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be really painful. I once accidently deleted the highlighted articles and couldn't reverse it, I wish there was a quick fix to this. Like "Undo" function

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Undo would be wonderful!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here big sis, I already enrolled my kid and entered all the stuff just to be asked to do it again. I had to go through the files, my nape ached with stress. I experienced the same thing with Read yesterday. Breathe in, breathe out.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Breathing. . .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This happened to me, before just once I am thinking, maybe it would be an idea to write down articles on an offline notepad app then when finished just paste to the editor and finish off by adding captions, pictures and such. Maybe it's an Idea? I see @Kushyzee has a similar idea too (I didn't read that before I thought of this) ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I used to. But I got lazy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is the effin worst! Its just like losing the saved games I played and a sudden power interruption happens. I feel you!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was already up to the secret levels of Mega Man Blue on my Gameboy when my bag fell out of my car. I thought I picked everything up, but I hadn't! I lost my Gameboy. I think it went waaaaaaaaaay under the car. I'm still mad about that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand exactly what you mean. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still so mad/sad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago