Just Another Day - Short and Sweet

11 51
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

Howdy, howdy, howdy, y'all!

How's your life? Are you happy? Are you doing well? I sure hope so.

I've had a great day, so far. My morning started with a handful of ripe raspberries and blackberries and a cup of tea, sweet, with cream. After breakfast, Keith and I went to the Department of Moter Vehicles (DMV) to get our New York State driver's licenses and to register to vote. The midterm elections are coming up for those of us living in the U.S. Midterms are so important!!

After we finished at the DMV, we came home and planted some fall mums. I got the pinks and the "spicy orange" varieties. I planted three pots of mums.

These all went into a bed in the front. In the back, hibiscus flowers are taking over. The hibiscus plant makes gorgeous flowers. If you get the right variety, you can even make tea. I don't have that kind. I just have the pretty flowers.

I've really been enjoying living close to my parents. We can go over there and eat and play games. On the last visit, we stayed up so late (which means 11:00 p.m.) playing Parcheesi. Ultimately, my mom won.

The game was made interesting because the green and blue pieces look nearly exactly the same. It was doubly interesting because Papa is color blind and could only differentiate the yellow pieces from all the others (red, green, and blue). We spent a lot of time asking, "Is this green? Is this blue? Which one am I??" It is a really good thing that we had enough wine and beer to keep playing.

In other news, I have a part-time job. Not sure if I mentioned that, yet. I only work on Saturdays and Sundays. It's not a lot, but then I have time to cook. We all know how much I love cooking!

The Last dish I made is one I have never made before. It is a soup, perfect for this cool weather. Have you ever heard of Chicken Pozole? Neither had I! It is a super easy soup with yummy tomatillos and poblano peppers, chicken, and corn.

All this talk of soup is making me hungry. I'll sign off for now.

See you after a while, crocodile!

All images original photos by Jonica Bradley

7
$ 2.14
$ 1.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.02 from @JLoberiza
+ 2
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
1 year ago

Comments

Capturing life's essence in just a few words – 'Just Another Day' beautifully encapsulates the everyday magic we often overlook. Short, sweet, and thought-provoking.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

A day well spent indeed haha! Hanging out with parents can be fun, soup's looking good Enjoy your meal.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The soup was so good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never heard of the dish but it quite look scrumptious

I would love to have those flowers tooo they are so gorg but sadly i dont think theyll thrive in our country

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mums (the flowers) do seem to be colder weather flowers. I hope they come back every year.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really a good feeling when we live near to our parents

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have been pretty isolated for the past 12 years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That board game looks interesting... and it seems you have lots of fun playing that with your parents.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well, the wine helped the game be fun. I love playing board games with almost everyone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those flowers are real pretty 🦋😻

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Agreed. Those were the flowers at the Garden Factory - the name of the place we bought the flowers. The ones at my house were just green little buds when I planted them. Now they are pink, orange, and purple.

$ 0.00
1 year ago