I Remember

30 57
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Love, True love, Prose

True Love

I remember when I first loved you.

I remember how you asked me out, standing in front of my high school locker. Your chin was quivering under a smile.

Looking back, you were as nervous as I was.

I remember, I barely remember, Kim’s party in the big yellow house on the corner.

You were my first.

We were so drunk, and I was amazed. I kept saying to myself “I’m doing IT. I’m DOING it!” and then “Why is he still wearing his shoes?”

I remember those shoes. Knock off Hush Puppies. (I had a similar pair when I was 8.)

I remember that olive drab army jacket, (or was it air force?)

I wore it always. Even under the humid Texas sun. It smelled like you. You always had nails in your pocket. I still have a few of those nails.

God, we were young!

Tight jeans and feathered hair. Concert tees and moccasin boots. Renaissance fairs and Jethro Tull.

And then I left. You left.

We both left. You went south. I went west. We spent years apart navigating the last years of our adolescence apart.

I came back. You were still gone. I asked. I looked.

I remember some guy pestering me to be his girlfriend. I didn’t like him. He said I was a goddess. OK. Sure. Let’s go out. What was your name again?

I remember hearing from somebody who went out of their way to come find me. To come tell me, “He is back in town. He is looking for you.”

I remember how you found me. Or maybe I found you.

I remember our first apartment which was really your apartment. We only stayed there a few months before needing a bigger apartment because we went camping and came home pregnant.

I remember your proposal. Down on one knee, chin quivering under a smile. This time, I said no. I was terrified.

I remember your tears when she was born. “I heard the music”, you said. You were such an amazing dad. We were children ourselves, still. I wasn’t as afraid.

I remember our wedding. I remember the rehearsal and forgetting our baby at home. Everybody thought somebody else had her.

I remember my expectations laying heavy, so heavy on your shoulders. You bore them but had expectations of your own.

I remember our second daughter, so tiny, so beautiful, so unexpected.

I remember my unreasonable anger, my distance from you. Postpartum depression looked different on me than other people. I wanted my babies. I just didn’t want you.

I remember our fights and hurtful words hurled drunkenly in bar parking lots. I believed all the bad and forgot all the good.

I remember you following me when I left. I went west again. This time, you went west, too.

I remember breaking your heart when I said the word divorce. You went north but just a little way. Two hours instead of 4 states.

I remember one last fuck in the back of my parent's station wagon. Your attempt to reconnect. My subconscious saying “Don’t go!”

I didn’t listen.

I remember depression so dark, too dark. I was alone. I tried too hard for independence. It broke me.

I don’t remember much about the hospital. I remember your visit. I couldn’t stop crying. I kept hearing those angry words hurled in the bar parking lot. “I’ll tell them you are unfit. I’ll tell them you are crazy.”

I remember your revenge. It was harsh. You were so hurt. It broke you a little, too.

I remember the moment I realized my biggest mistake. I wanted you back so badly. You haunted my dreams. You’ve always been my one and only.

I remember trying to replace you. It never worked. Nobody came close.

I remember trying to get in touch with our 20-year-old daughter. You texted me back instead.

We had 4, 5, 6-hour conversations about everything and nothing.

I remember your question “Did you really stop loving me?”

I never did. You never did.

I remember those first heady days after 17 years apart. Getting to know us. We’d known each other half our lives.

I remember remembering I used to stare at you for hours trying to picture what you would look like as an old man saying to myself “He is my forever.” and suddenly finding myself there in the future 26 years later. We weren’t old yet, but 17 years left its mark on both of us.

I remember we couldn’t stop staring. It was real, wasn’t it? You brought me a freshly picked wildflower every day.

I remember those first few months in 2010 when everything old was new. Our love. The sex.

I remember you bringing me princess coffee, waking me up with a kiss. I remember that like it was yesterday.

Because it was. We are still here, and I don’t need to remember. I can just reach out and touch your face, feel your love.

My soulmate. My one and only. I love you.

19
$ 5.05
$ 4.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 7
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago
Topics: Love, True love, Prose

Comments

Aweeeeee. Getting apart both is not really a bad situation maybe because God allowed you both to find yourselves and to love it more than others do. Then if you guys are really meant forever no one could stop it even many fights, challenges, darkness came into the relationship still love will always win for it. Love wins to be conclude! 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best aspect of it is that you are here again and here for each other and forever. Love can always come back after long years of walk. Love is the only thing which cannot fade out except there is none. After all, you are with him feeling what you have once felt before. This is glorious and you will be rolled with lots of joy and happiness. Been in love is not easy but seeing someone who cares for you is the only joy one can ever have. Now that you are with him, you will have full confidence and thank God you still trust his love. Many must have gone astray by taking to the sweet words of men but yours was exceptional.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh my God! 17years apart? Hell, that's so long. I can't help but only imagine the things you two went through during those years. The pains, the hurts, the memories of each other. Gosh and to think this all started in school. It can be so painful and hurting. But I am glad you two got back together. And now you don't have to worry because not only will you imagine him being old but you will also get to see him with grey hair lol. That's for sure because nothing will ever separate you two again, I pray. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really touching, love in the air, Lovely write up. I picked up something good "realizing ones mistake. Very vital in a relationship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was so touching. You've expressed all your feelings in such an open and moving way. A beautiful story of second chances with ups and downs, like are all the long last relationships. You've reached my heart with the way of telling it. ♡ And I hope you're feeling better these days.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm much improved, thanks. And, yup, he's a keeper.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a great example of the saying "if you are meant for each other you'll be forever." No matter how many obstacles and challenges you've faced together love finds its way for both of you to be together again. This is one amazing love story. Super love it. 😍 Hope your love last longer.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks! I'm certain neither one of us is going anywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so nice to be with the love of your life and still be together and in love. My congratulations for the love. For being together and loving each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing from the heart. Awesomeness and I feel your ups and lows. A very powerful emotional piece of verse. Reading your bio ... You know you pray to unicorns, well I believe that with your heritage. National animal of Scotland is the Unicorn, and also natural enemy of the lion which is the national animal of England.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And here's me, born in August. A Leo.

Also born in the year of the monkey. Someone needs to design me a MonkCat NFT.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aha another Leo I was born in August too. MonkCat NFT for you, now there's a thought.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Postpartum depression is something most people don't pay attention to. While reading this I can feel the emotions, the thrills, the downs, love and happiness. I'm happy you got a second chance at love. I'm really glad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me, too. We've decided to not wring our hands with worry about the past and the what-ifs. What if we stayed together? What if I didn't have PPD? What if he hadn't been so hurt. What if he knew how to express hurt instead of only anger?

There are many what-ifs. But it is like investing. You can't plague yourself with what if I bout Bitcoin in the very beginning? What if I hadn't bought a pizza? And so on.

We just live for the now. Who knows how long we have left on this earth? We want to spend it together.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Such emotional write-up. You really took time to write from the independent of your heart. Thank God you guys rekindled your love life and its fruitful already...

Keep balancing in the euphoria of your love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way you express your feelings 💕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is emotional and for you to pour out your feelings in writing is just a way of imagining how you are feeling. Starting from where you started even though you both went different ways but as luck would find it, you came back together but now as couple who gave birth to a beautiful baby who is now a grown up daughter.

I can see years turning to hours of writing it down to communicate with your love. You both still love each other and I think it's time to come together and fight those bad moment together. With love and cooperation, you will get over it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We were apart for 17 years, but have been reunited for 11 years. So it's all where it needs to be. We have 4 children. 3 girls and 1 boy. They are all adults and moved out. Our baby (the boy) just moved in January of this year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fear with all this memories, I was aiming for the end, I taught you have divorced each other, thank God your soulmate and the love you shared.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We did divorce, actually, but have been back together for 11 years now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow it would have been so painful if you weren't together with this your story, it really heart touching

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feelings and emotions you have in this article can be felt be everyone. It make my eyes into tears. God bless you dear.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow. So much history here. Been through a lot together and the memories would always be fresh. So many ups and downs as expected in a relationship and wow... These kinds of memories are hard to shake off. I doubt anyone else can top the magic created by you two.

You are really a strong woman and I duff my hats off for you.

How are you feeling today?

$ 0.50
2 years ago

Much improved. Still taking antibiotics. But I have so much more energy. Thanks for asking.

And yes, he is still my one and only. Even after 11 years back together (after 17 years apart).

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I am so happy to hear this. I wish you more strength. 🤗🤗🤗

Now, that's true love. 🥰🥰🥰😍😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwn,I also remember when I fell in love too. Nice one sir.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

you like?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow!!!

$ 0.50
2 years ago