How Writing is Like Milking my Goat

18 63
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Joy, the matriarch of my little herd

About me

One facet of my identity is Goat Rancher. My husband and I live on thirty acres in the Texas panhandle and are small livestock ranchers. Technically, we raise goats and sheep, but I don’t really like sheep. The sheep are his. The goats are mine. He has a flock of hair sheep and I have a herd of meat goats.

I also have a milk goat. Until we moved here, I never knew how delicious goat’s milk could be. According to many experts, it is also more healthy than cow’s milk.

I love milk. I could happily survive on milk and the occasional chocolate bar. I used to buy two gallons of (cow’s) milk at a time and used it all before it could go bad. My husband spoiled commercial cow’s milk for me by getting a job as general manager of a dairy and bringing home horror stories about the American dairy industry. I quit drinking milk altogether.

When we moved out here, my first thought was to buy a milk cow. But cows are expensive. They eat a lot. Milk cows take quite a bit of additional maintenance. Since we already had goats, the most logical choice was for me to milk a goat.

Turns out there are different types of goats for different purposes. Meat goats aren’t ideal for milking. I had to learn this through trial and error, by reading (so much reading), and by listening to other goat owners. It was a huge learning curve. It still is.

Vision

My vision of going out to milk a glass or two any old time I was thirsty made for a pretty picture in my brain but doesn’t work in the harsh light of cold, hard, reality.

In order to produce well, goats need to be milked every day, on a set schedule, at least once per day, but sometimes twice. As with many mammals, the more you milk, the more milk is produced.

Fresh goat's milk

Preparation

A lot of preparation goes into milking. The very first step is to get a goat. Second, you have to get her pregnant and wait five months until her kid is born. Third, you have to wait a couple of months for the kid goat to get its share. Finally, finally, your girl is ready to be milked!

Steps

There are daily steps to be taken, as well. Every morning I must Prepare a cleaning bucket, grab a milk pail, prepare a funnel with a milk filter, and set it inside a mason jar before I can walk out to the barn.

Joy and JJ

Once in the milk barn, I set up a feed bucket in order to get her up on the stanchion and locked into the headstall. I’ve got to clean and dry her teats. Now I can milk.

Joy in the milkbarn

Once, I’ve milked her, there is still clean-up to be done. I must filter the milk into a jar and put it in the fridge until it is cold enough to drink. I must wash all the tools for the next morning's use. Once the milk is cold, I must decide what to do with it. Do I drink it, make cheese, make ice cream, or freeze it for a rainy day?

Are you seeing the parallels to writing, yet?

Vision

My vision of sitting down any old time to write the next great American novel or pop out paid work anytime the mood hit made for a pretty picture in my brain but doesn’t work in the harsh light of cold, hard, reality.

In order to write well most writers need to write every day, on a set schedule, at least once per day, but sometimes twice. As with many writers, the more you write, the more you want to write.

In order to write well, you’ve got to find your voice, which most likely means figuring out your writing style. I learned this through trial and error, reading (so much reading), and by listening to other writers. It was a huge learning curve. It still is.

Preparation

A lot of preparation goes into Writing. The very first step is to have a desire to write. Second, you have to get equipment; a writing implement of some kind (I’ve used bright blue eyeliner when I couldn’t find anything else), paper, a typewriter, or a computer. Third, you have to find space in which to write; an office or niche with plenty of privacy. Finally, finally, your story is ready to be written!

Steps

There are daily steps to be taken, as well. Every morning I write in my journal and free-write for thirty minutes before I sit down to draft anything at all. Once I’ve drafted a story, there is still clean-up to be done. I must edit my writing and transcribe it to the computer. I must clean up all the typos, spelling, and grammar errors. Once the piece is edited, I must decide what to do with it. Do I submit it to a publication, put it on a platform, make it a blog entry, or save it for a rainy day?

I love milking my goat. There are days when it feels like a chore and I wish I could skip “just this one time.” On those days I milk anyway. I love writing. There are days when writing feels like a chore and I wish I could skip “just this one time.” On those days I write anyway.

Writing really is like milking my goat. Both are a labor of love.


10
$ 14.97
$ 13.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Pantera
$ 0.50 from @annayks
+ 4
Sponsors of JonicaBradley
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JonicaBradley
2 years ago

Comments

Wow, that was so great. I love this analogy. I used to make analogies before about everything in life. I really hope I can still get that back. Nice job for this article.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You'll get back into the swing of things soon enough. Meanwhile, don't put limits on yourself as to what to write about. If you are angry, write angry. What's the worst that can happen? Most likely someone will be able to relate to whatever you write about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right, I was just overthinking it. Thinking about how your farm life is, I feel energized. I've always wanted to experience farm life, milking cows and goats, herd sheep, drink fresh milk. What a simple yet joyful life I imagine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a great analogy. I also learned a bit about the goats from reading this. Maybe one day I will have a goat too :)

I love the conclusion. I could benefit from daily milking, as I lack consistency with my writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love my goats so, much. But sometimes, I get bored or tired of milking. I have to do it anyway because to not do it will cause mama goat a lot of pain. It has always been easier to think of others before I think of myself. Maybe if you believe NOT writing might hurt someone it will help you to write every day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love you, Jonica!!! haha. Saved this!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Love you right back!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Joy looks calm and friendly. Hope she isn't giving you a hard time!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Joy is my good girl. She is not impressed by shenanigans. She is loyal and a great mommy + granny goat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am you should use miking parlour system.That is totally automatic.It is right goat milk is more energetic.But we should use it with greater care.Some people don't have lactase enzyme.So they have milk sickness..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I only have at most 2 goats in milk at a time, usually just one. So the parlour system wouldn't make any sense. I also feel incredibly fulfilled when I am close to the animals. Whether milking or just playing with them. I pick up and hills my chickens and my turkeys. They tolerate me. Sometimes I think they enjoy it. I go for walks with the goats. I bring them treats and they really enjoy being brushed. They are definitely family. We have two different kinds of goats. One kind for milk and the other kind for meat. The sheep are all for meat.

The day inevitably comes when I have to eat my friend. My animals are raised and killed halal (although we are not Muslim) because it is simply better for the animals and better for the people consuming the animals.

Some people think I am cruel because of this, but I believe it is the best option.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're not cruel.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I certainly don't think I am. All of our animals are spoiled. They live good lives in comfort. Finding humanely raised meat sold commercially is nearly impossible in the united states. Love tastes much better than fear.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm not lactose in intolerant, thank God. I know people who are, and they have said goat milk is easier for them to ingest. Goats milk does still have lactose, though, so you are right that people can get sick if they are intolerant.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love the analogy. And I really, really love your goat stories, even if I don't necessarily like goats!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

have you ever met a goat?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had a couple in the farm. They had to be sold off later. They were too heavy for the caretaker.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They can be a lot of work. But they are kind of like puppies. They love you in return.

$ 0.00
2 years ago