Old but Gold memories

12 47
Avatar for John28
Written by
2 years ago

Most of us used to sneak out of the house and play with our friends and other kids who were out playing when we were children. Even though it's sweltering, we don't care. (if you are a Filipino, you can relate to this๐Ÿ˜‚) When we were kids, gadgets didn't exist. There are only a few left today, and most of us didn't get used to them until they appeared in our later years. Because of the ease with which these devices can be accessed, kids nowadays have difficulty interacting with other children, significantly impacting how they communicate. Unlike in the past, our friends and I experienced challenging but meaningful experiences together. When we were younger, we relied heavily on traditional Filipino games for our entertainment, which helped us stay physically active and healthy, unlike today's kids, who spend most of their time in front of their screens.

Today I want to share my experience in some Filipino traditional games that we played in the old times.

Luksong Baka is a game that we use to play in the neighborhood and is known as "Jump over the Cow." Three to 10 participants are needed to play the game, with the primary goal of the players being to jump over the person known as the Baka without touching or falling over the baka. I wouldn't say I like this game. I'm not good at jumping because my jump is too low. And I'm constantly being a baka or Taya. Its too scary to be a baka because if the players can't jump you, they can fall to you, and makes you fall also can be the result of getting hurt.

Glass marbles, or holen in Filipino, are miniature glass balls with colorful or floral motifs inside,๐Ÿ˜œ(the colorful ones is the best to use because I won a lot when I using it) that are popular as a toy in the Philippines. Holen are actually based on the mechanics of playing both billiards and golf. In the starting point of the game you and others to throw holen the near the holen in the line will be first to shot in box.. There is a holen in the box you need to shot the holens to to released in box.. The holens will be release is totally yours. This is our version in playing holens.

Next is my favorite game because I am very good at this. Hide and seek the mechanics of this game is almost of the players will be hide and their is the one player (taya) will find the other players. Who is the first to find he will be the "taya" in the next game but if the current taya cant find other players he/she will become taya again. I really miss the old days because me and my classmates use to play this game. We play hide and seek in the while campus. Hahaha the taya can't find us because some times we hide in the playground beside our school (yeah๐Ÿ˜… the place is of limits so we are just like cheating in the game)

The next one is a game for boredom people. We use to play sometimes in school when the teacher is away. Two people play this game. Using a hand to cover one's eyes, the other flicks a finger (pitik) over the hand. The person with the covered eyes gives a number with his hand at the same time as the other one.. They switch roles if their numbers are the same,l. This game is so much fun and easy to play with friends. This game is known as pitik-bulag.

Tumbang preso we play this game very often with my cousins. With the use of our slippers we shot the can. There is one player guarding the can. If other players can flip down the can, they won but if they gone of slippers, they can get back their slippers again, but they must be not caught by the guard when getting it.

It's so much fun in playing this games. It is very sad that this games are gradually disappearing.

how about you what games did you play in your childhood? In all the games that you played we're you good at?kindly share short experience of yours.

Written by: JHenry09

11
$ 4.02
$ 3.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 5
Sponsors of John28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for John28
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Nakakamiss mga to hahha, sadyang yung Luksong baka di ko na try, mga lalaki lang kasi naglalaro dito sa amin nyan dati, chinese garter ang sa girls:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed my childhood. We had no access to gadgets. We have very few individuals who had a TV in the community. So we had many other ways to have fun. I can bet we had more fun in our days than the kids of now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ung tumbang preso talaga saka yung ano ngaeon? Ung magsusulat ka sa sahig o lupa basta talun un e tas may isang paa at dalawang paa mga ganyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh those childhood memories ๐Ÿ˜ ang sarap balikam. Yang luksong baka talaga ee after school or Chinese garter and morw nakaka tuwa at nakaka miss ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really missed those games and moment. Those good old days. I also wrote about old games last month i think hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here i also miss to play tgem with my friends i want to ve a kid again and just play the whole day waha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear John, count me in. I want to play those again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha....i really miss playing those games

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am smiling and laughing while reading it until the end. All I see are my memories back then. Outdoor plays are still the best compared to playing alone with gadgets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed haha...smile all you want..lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweee๐Ÿคฉ Hide and seek is my favorite too. That was always our games.

I'm in the moment remeniscing those days. Hayss too old na tlaga haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung magtatago ka kahit saang sulok haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago