Writer's Ramblings: Writing Goals

2 51
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

The writer's goal is to write well and interestingly.

During the day, I was busy organizing my ideas and planning some writing activities for the first week of October.

Once in your life! When the year finishes, you write a list (on paper or digital) with the objectives and goals for the year that has just begun.

You start with a lot of enthusiasm. But sooner rather than later, your willpower falters to solve the problems that arise along the way.

When December arrives again, you dust off the list and, somewhat frustrated, say to yourself: next year, I will put more effort into it.

Well, I'm telling you from my own experience.

So, unfortunately, you and I are in the same club as those who lie to themselves.

Of course, it doesn't mean lacking achievements in the year. It's just that many of these may not fully satisfy you as they are the product of the inertia of circumstances or of a supposed chance, either for better or for worse.

Also, it goes without saying that the last two years have been atypical and hard for all of us. Filled with much suffering and loss.

Let's turn the page and be thankful that we are still here to dream and make life a joy against all odds.

Adversities are opportunities.

I often tell my family that adversity is also an opportunity to grow and live. The dead have no problems, so having them means we are alive.

Excuse me! I have a habit of flowing after my thoughts and straying a little from the core of what I want to tell you. But maybe, that's what it's all about, flowing and connecting in ideas.

Today I didn't have in mind to write any article. So I don't have a script for writing, just the idea of how to overcome the obstacles that prevent us from reaching our predetermined goals.

We still have almost 90 days left to achieve the objectives and goals formulated between December last year and January this year.

Well, I'll be honest. In my case, I have been living for years, the here and now, without worrying much about the future.

I try to live each day at a time. Of course, I'm not telling you to do the same. Everyone is defined by their circumstances. But at least, take my advice, live today, not tomorrow or in the future.

Yes, some live anchored to the effects of their pasts or in fear of what they believe is to come. So, they do not live in the present. They waste the here and now. You know what I mean!

For example, today, I lived out how I want to write during the week. I set somewhat demanding writing goals based on my performance. I have a map and a compass. I just need to walk to this week's target with an open mind to be flexible in my pace.

So I will put all my effort and accomplish the goals without neglecting what is relevant in my life, my primary and secondary family relationships.

Source: Table of writing goals for week 40 (Time: two hours in writing per article)

Well! I guess they are similar to yours, my crypto blogger friend.

Small successes in your modest goals can take you a long way.

You may have noticed the left hemisphere product in the table. Now, the baton is passed to the right hemisphere (of the brain) to make the plan a reality.

There, this article has become not only a personal challenge but also a public commitment.

Of course, an ethical commitment to those who read this article and find it helpful.

Source: Image by Moondance on Pixabay 

Final thoughts

Objectives and goals can supposedly become a mere planning exercise that is fruitless without commitment and willpower. 

Perhaps the problem is that we set goals and objectives that are difficult to achieve in one go. 

So, set out to break down those goals into small, chained milestones that will lead you to achieve them.

If your goal is to become an excellent writer. Then write as much as you can. In this case, make your habit your objective and let time give its verdict. 

In addition, it is advisable to formulate your objectives under the SMART (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Time-Oriented) criteria.

And above all: enjoy the journey without worrying (too much) about the destination.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail by Markus Winkler on Pixabay

Cover image by John Conde on Pixabay 

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.  

11
$ 8.86
$ 8.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
+ 2
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
1 year ago

Comments

You're very right. I've noticed that while writers are setting their goals, they tend to set goals that are difficult to achieve and they won't put in hard work to it. Also, writers face the problem of what to write

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, my friend.

Yes! The mind freezes in front of a white screen. Hahaha

Maybe the problem is the pressure to write (thinking about the result) and it inhibits creativity. So enjoy and write about whatever you feel like writing about without worrying about the result.

Once you have it, then spend time perfecting it in terms of the rules (writing and grammar) before publishing.

Greetings.

$ 0.00
1 year ago