Who will decide on the truth?

4 82
Avatar for Jnavedan
2 years ago

What is the truth?

Did you hear about the Coalition for Content Provenance and Authenticity?

Well, I did some skim reading early last year, but honestly didn't give it much thought at the time.

The saying goes, "He who knows not is as he who sees not." But now, it made sense to me when I came across information again about this Microsoft-driven initiative. How did I not see it coming?

Source: Image by Gerd Altmann on Pixabay 

In that sense, I have a lot to thank the community at read.cash and the libertarian philosophy behind Bitcoin Cash. Although, I was already a blogger on some decentralized social networks. Some concepts and ideas about cryptocurrency were fluttering around in my mind. Here, it is where the veil finally fell.

Many of my articles deal with the danger of artificial intelligence-driven by quantum computing. They also pick up and express my thoughts and fears about the intentions of political, financial, and corporate elites to perpetuate their control over people around the world through manipulation or by force.

So, information dominance was predictable following the advice of the adage that says, "information is power."

Someone could tell me that I have a bias against the ruling elites, and I would be exercising an inalienable and respectable right. Furthermore, would claim that the elites come from humanity itself. They do not come from outer space.

And I think you'll agree with me that that's what it's all about: Exercising freedom of expression.

Well! These Big Tech and Mainstream elites are in coalition to constitute a truth-checking Artificial Intelligence. Imagine, they will monitor the whole process of content creation. From the time you are writing a post or taking a picture, they will be able to flag and delete without the right of appeal content that is allegedly misinformation or malicious.

Wow! I think it's immense power in a few hands.

Although it is undeniable, one is not free from encountering scammers and endless dangerous ways on the Internet. I wonder: How is this different from the dangers of the analog world or real?

In that sense, don't think that the dangers of the Internet (being digital) are not real.

Of course, it is necessary to work for an analog or digital world or the advertised safer Metaverse.

In any case, the Coalition for Content Provenance and Authenticity (C2PA) will be a network of truth checkers; whose goal will be to combat disinformation and malicious information. I wonder how the political establishment will react to this?

I know more than one will say, "Dude, don't worry about this. There already exists alternative media on the censorship-resistant Blockchain, and right now, we're creating Web 3.0."

Maybe they're right, and I'm very suspicious and skeptical.

But when I look at the infrastructure where the crypto world runs and grows and notice who owns the underlying technology, naivety collapses in the face of stark reality.

Perhaps articles like this one you read will be condemned to bonfire digital. At best, they will exist somewhere but without access to an audience; Digital banishment.

Source: Image by Anuj Chawla on Pixabay 

Yes, the world that is taking shape never ceases to amaze me. We live in unprecedented and dangerous times.

A few final questions.

Who will decide on the truth?

Who will guarantee individual rights?

A closing remark. The historical record in this regard is not very flattering.

An original article by @Jnavedan

The thumbnail by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

I end by thanking all my colleagues in the community, who add value every day here. As well as all my sponsors for believing in the content I share with you.

6
$ 8.02
$ 7.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @rodriguezpct
+ 3
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
2 years ago

Comments

Nietzsche was right: "All things are subject to interpretation whichever interpretation prevails at a given time is a function of power and not truth." If we apply that here, what is information or misinformation is a matter of power, not truth. Nobody can determine that objectively, because objectivity is an illusion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nietzsche was right: "All things are subject to interpretation whichever interpretation prevails at a given time is a function of power and not truth." If we apply that here, what is information or misinformation is a matter of power, not truth. Nobody can determine that objectively, because objectivity is an illusion.

Yes, the German thinker was quite right. Although, I believe that truth exists beyond the subject. He is just incapable of reaching it on his own.

Everything else about truth, as Nietzsche put it, is an expression of power in the best Pontius Pilate style.

Greetings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is possible that there is a truth, but we, prisoners in our subjective consciousness, can never really know that.

You are gradually evolving to one of the most interesting authors here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it is possible that there is a truth, but we, prisoners in our subjective consciousness, can never really know that.

You are gradually evolving to one of the most interesting authors here.

Wow, I really appreciate your feedback on my articles. Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago