I bought a laptop with Bitcoin Cash at a local store!

17 66
Avatar for Jnavedan
2 years ago

The adoption of BCH is achieved by using it.

I've been procrastinating on the enjoyment of writing to read.cash for a week. I think this call it; writer's block! Well, I will not continue denying myself said pleasure.

In the last article, I wrote about the possibility of acquiring a laptop to continue sharing with the community. Yesterday, I purchased a Lenovo Thinkpad 11e with a 6th generation I3 processor (Refurbished).

The search was intense. Perhaps this is one of the causes that kept me away from the typing keyboard. Moreover, other factors that I did not consider.

Let me tell you!

My first laptop was a Thinkpad 600e, which I still have in my electronics graveyard. I bought it during a refurbished equipment sale at IBM's headquarters in my country's capital.

I enjoyed the power of its Pentium 2 processor, 256MB of RAM, and 20GB of a hard drive running Ms-Windows 98.

After ten years of using it flawlessly, a cousin got me a so-called bargain, an HP Pavilion DV6000. Very nice but also a headache due to the design problems caused by overheating, the desoldering of the processor, and video failure.

Also, the Hp laptop was a bit heavy, so I decided to buy another Thinkpad with the 2010 year-end bonus. It was no longer from IBM but Lenovo. The Thinkpad Edge E.

You tell me, friend, what does this background influence with the acquisition of the new laptop?

Well, I think it has a lot to do with it.

The reason for the renewal of the computer was to ensure continuity when writing here in the community. So I also decided that the financial resources would come from the BCH fund. Yes, from tips earned during my stay on noise.cash, and read.cash.

Everyone in my home has a laptop, except for my daughter, who has just arrived from abroad after five years of absence. In this sense, we are fortunate. At times of abundance, it was possible to acquire objects for personal use, where for me, laptops fit perfectly.

Sure, one can share the same laptop with a different user without affecting privacy. But in practice, it is not the same as having one exclusively for oneself.

Now you understand, I changed the priorities. My daughter needs a laptop.

Also, my son has long complained about the Thinkpad Edge E. He's crazy about selling it to get a more powerful one for gaming and video editing, but no one wants to pay him what he asks.

Perhaps this is the time to renovate the computer park at home. Hahaha

Although the Thinkpad Edge E is a few months older than my MacBook Air 13; It is still a good option. In this sense, performing maintenance and renewing the wireless card that fails, as well as replacing the exhausted battery, does not seem so far-fetched; if only yes, Linux can revive its performance.

Source: Screenshot of Linux Manjaro snapshots on my son's Lenovo ThinkPad Edge

I have a week testing the Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E with Linux Manjaro on a 128 GB SSD with 2 GB of RAM, and it works great, except for the disabled wireless card, which forces me to connect to the network via cable.

My son observes the renewed performance of the laptop but is not impressed; he still wants a computer with a performance comparable to my wife's laptop, a Lenovo Thinkpad E560 with a 6th generation I5 processor.

Like you have noticed, After my MacBook Air, there is a preference for Lenovo's Thinkpad models. The reasons, simple; quality, performance, and reliability at a reasonable price.

Source: Image by author

Well, I still have some in-house customer satisfaction and logistics issues to resolve, but I'm closer now than I was a week ago.

I just called the supplier, yesterday I paid him the equivalent of $ 250 for the new laptop. Yes, $ 100 less than budgeted. The most fabulous, to be more exact, I paid 0.36895467 Bitcoin Cash. That is, without change to fiat money, to a local provider.

However, due to traffic restrictions under the radical preventive week of Covid, it will be until tomorrow that I will be able to remove the laptop.

Final thoughts

Without my intending it, this article is the continuation of the previous one. Although it differs tangentially in initial purpose, it is not unrelated.

In the beginning, the computer was for me. A contingency measure in the event of a failure of my MacBook Air, but as you have read, it will end up in the hands of my daughter.

By the way, she is an excellent content creator on traditional social networks that mainly use smartphones. I do not doubt that she will soon enter the fantastic world of cryptocurrencies with Bitcoin Cash.

In the meantime, I will continue to test Linux Manjaro on my son's laptop. If it satisfies the minimum requirements and I manage to make the wireless card work, I will keep it as a backup laptop. Also, I will proceed to the exhaustive maintenance of the MacBook Air with a specialized technical service.

So it would be pending to meet my son's expectations.

On the other hand, I am relatively happy to use BCH as a means of payment without resorting to an Exchange. And I mean "relatively" because the laptop merchant uses the UpHold wallet and not, a non-custodial wallet. I suppose this is a reality with which you have to live until you achieve the massive adoption of cryptos.

An original article by @Jnavedan

Cover image by sarinharas from Pixabay modified by me.

15
$ 12.94
$ 12.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
2 years ago

Comments

You did well to think of getting better equipment. It will make it easier and you will be able to write better articles in less time. I know it as for a few weeks I am far from home and using a 15 year old laptop that lags and sometimes makes my life difficult.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations my friend on having a new laptop and for the big help of bitcoincash to you. It may be not for you but still it is one for your family

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Congratulations my friend on having a new laptop and for the big help of bitcoincash to you. It may be not for you but still it is one for your family

Thanks, my friend. I still wait for the seller to ship it. Yesterday he called me and I selected to be reconditioned she had some inconvenient details. So I apologize and request a deadline until Monday to fix it.

However, I am sure that in the end I will be satisfied and my daughter happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I congratulate you that little by little, with the BCH, you have your laptop. I also have no doubt that your daughter will soon be around. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks, my friend. Yes, I hope that she also accompanies me in this amazing experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations buddy!! At last you made it possible and wish your daughter will continue her passion and wish she improve her skills and learn more things from it

In my case i converted BCH first then i bought laptop waiting when I'll be able to buy directly as i know it's adoption is increasing and those days will come in future.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Congratulations buddy!! At last you made it possible and wish your daughter will continue her passion and wish she improve her skills and learn more things from it

In my case i converted BCH first then i bought laptop waiting when I'll be able to buy directly as i know it's adoption is increasing and those days will come in future.

Thanks, my young friend. They have not delivered it to me yet, I hope they will dispatch it to us tomorrow. I probably posted on noise.cash about this experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations mate for the laptop. I wish this laptop will be lucky for you daughter and God give you more in future.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Congratulations mate for the laptop. I wish this laptop will be lucky for you daughter and God give you more in future.

Hello, my friend.

Thank you very much for your good wishes. May God bless you and keep you always.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wish you the same brother. ☺️ Stay happy always

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to buy a laptop too and still thinking of what brand to choose .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to buy a laptop too and still thinking of what brand to choose .

Well, my opinion would not be so objective, despite the fact that I have practically spent my entire adult life in front of a computer.

For example, in the case of this article, I decided on the Lenovo Thinkpad 11e because it can be used as a computer or tablet. In addition to meeting military specifications for operability and durability. You should see some reviews about it.

Buying a laptop is usually a bad investment, due to technological obsolescence and the omnipresent consumer and fashion advertising. Therefore, make a smart purchase according to your needs, seeking the highest quality at the lowest possible cost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is good news, my friend! Great use of your BCHs and the plans to change our computers are still there and will soon take place. ;)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is good news, my friend! Great use of your BCHs and the plans to change our computers are still there and will soon take place. ;)

Hello, my friend.

Yes, the advance towards the use of cryptocurrencies is advancing unstoppably. It is only a matter of time, although the understanding of what is behind this revolution takes a little longer to arrive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

congratulations in acquiring a new laptop.. you can now continue to write and will be able to write more!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks, my friend. I hope my daughter gets the most out of the laptop for her work and her artistic hobby in drawing. Now in the digital world.

In the meantime, I will continue with my old computers and experimenting on Linux.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! May BCH adoption will continue to grow exponentially. I'm no near in any store that accepts bch as mode of payment yet. Hopefully the milktea shop, (even not any gadgets store yet) will think of bch payment soon☺️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wow! May BCH adoption will continue to grow exponentially. I'm no near in any store that accepts bch as mode of payment yet. Hopefully the milktea shop, (even not any gadgets store yet) will think of bch payment soon☺️

Hello, my friend.

Sooner rather than later in your region, they will accept BCH. In the meantime, keep saving your tips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago