How old are you? I do not know, nor am I very sure

14 57
Avatar for Jnavedan
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Memories, Mindset

Today in the morning, when I checked my laptop, a notification popped up to remind me; that tomorrow I will turn, God willing, fifty-six years.

As I write, I try to remember my first birthday. I discover how fragile memory is. A birthday is a happy event to remember.

I guess do you remember about your first birthday?

Source: Image by ikon on Pixabay 

I check the photo gallery on my cell phone, and I see the series of photographs that my oldest son shared with us; the monthly celebrations of his daughter during her first year. A true love documentary that my granddaughter will enjoy in the future.

Black and white memories crop up in my mind. I reckon I would be about to turn my fifth year. I see myself in my aunt's small rented apartment, full of beautiful furniture and delicate objects. My grandmother made the piñata and the cake.

I was so lucky! As my grandmother's first-born grandson, I spent a good time with her every year until I was twenty.

Imagine, when I was six months old, I was already traveling with my father's mother for more than ten hours by bus to the capital of my country.

In short, a quiet and happy stage of my life.

I miss my grandmother so much! She left in 2007; I remember my heartbreaking. I don't know for how many days or weeks the cloudy vision, the rain in my eyes, and the tightness in my chest dominated me.

The pain of the soul is indescribable.

I'm sorry you have to feel it sometime in your life.

My father passed away four years later. He was less than two months away from his 70th birthday. Before his sixty years, I do not remember a party in honor of his birthday.

Source: Image by Free-Photos on Pixabay

In 2001, he decided to celebrate in style. In this sense, he worked hard collecting funds for that event held at a beach club in my town.

My father's 60th birthday was unforgettable. The food, drinks, and music were the delight of the guests.

You will understand that I also miss my father a lot. Ten years since his departure to unconsciousness. Time flies.

Well, I hope I don't bore you with my experiences. I will understand if you do not want to continue with the reading.

You may think, "The title of the article is misleading, and it has nothing to do with me." But give me a few more paragraphs to give you my message on the eve of my next lap.

Let me clarify something for you. Tomorrow, I correct today; I have not prepared a big party or cake. Although, I wouldn't be surprised if my wife made some dessert for the occasion.

You will say, "we are in a pandemic; we must maintain social distance."

No, no, no! The reason is another.

What I will do is thank God for the gift of life, for allowing me to enjoy every moment without questioning the burden I have.

How old am I?

I don't know. And I assure you that you don't know either!

You will say, Of course you know, 56 years old! Why do you want to take away your age?

Dear reader, I ask you.

How long to live do you have?

It is a difficult question to answer. Nobody knows the future.

I think you understand the point of view.

The time lived, we no longer have it. It is just a cluster of memories in your mind, good and bad, that marks your present.

So, treasure and enjoy, even this very moment you read me.

Here I also pose an enigma to you.

How to treasure and enjoy every moment of life?

You say, "what enigma? You ask a question."

You are right. You are insightful.

The enigma is not in the question of how to live your life. Although, I think it is not very easy to answer either.

Well, if you read, you're still alive, thank God. I hope it gives you long life to solve the question and enjoy the answer.

I'll get straight to the point; Life is the enigma.

So hurry up before it gets away.

My mother says that I was born on a day like today, almost midnight, around July 1. Although I do not remember, and I no longer have the time elapsed since then.

Celebrate life every moment.

Source: Image by Gerd Altmann on Pixabay 

An original article by @Jnavedan

Cover image by Bruno /Germany on Pixabay

9
$ 12.56
$ 11.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Memories, Mindset

Comments

Your words about your grandmother made me remember mine. I lost her in 2013, and I thank God very much for having had her in my life for many years. I hope you have good memories of this birthday to treasure in the years to come. Happy birthday!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Happy Birthday my friend. I hope they take lots of pictures so next year you will see them again. Sorry for your losses. It is also a pleasure to have spent so much time with your grandmother, not all of us have that pleasure. What a great day to celebrate!!!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you my friend for such good wishes.

I haven't celebrated my birthday in a traditional way for a long time. Now it is enough for me to know that I have the most important gift that God gave me and for that, I thank each day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy day for You, I am 10 years, younger than, 47 years old. Hope much happiness will come to you, more blessed and healthy always.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. May God bless you and keep you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday in advance sir!!! Keep enjoying God's grace all your life.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Happy birthday in advance sir!!! Keep enjoying God's grace all your life.

Thanks for your good wishes. I thank God for blessing me with a new year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday in advance sir!!🎉🎊🥳

Enjoy life being contented and happy for what you have. Life may have a roller coaster ride, but the choice is yours if you will just go with flow..😁

May all your dreams do come true sir..😇

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Happy Birthday in advance sir!!🎉🎊🥳

Enjoy life being contented and happy for what you have. Life may have a roller coaster ride, but the choice is yours if you will just go with flow..😁

May all your dreams do come true sir..😇

Hello, my friend.

Very well said. Thank you for your good wishes to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The pleasure is mine sir..

Good day! Sorry for the late reply sir, co'z I was a bit busy for my rankings..😊☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Owww happy birthday! 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi Meyzee,

Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are 56 years old? I must call you sir from now on. I am not even half of you. Am just 22.
Btw the answer of your question how to live and enjoy your life? It's simple, just be satisfied with what you have, less expectation less heartbreaks, and what you get extra above the expectation is bonus. But implementation is quite hard of "Be satisfied with what you have" It's hard to maintain i guess

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello, my young friend.

Maybe you are on the right track. No one can refute what you say. Being happy in life seems to be the goal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago