How many hoarding are you?

12 69
Avatar for Jnavedan
2 years ago

I am too tired. So I've decreased the frequency of posting weekly articles on the platforms where I write. Yesterday I was too busy cleaning and tidying up the room of my daughter, who returned home after almost six years of absence.

Every last hair hurts, but it was worth it. Today, the overland journey through three countries culminated in an emotional reunion where tears were not lacking.

Well, I still have a lot of homework to do. Although, my daughter's room is pristine and tidy.

I tell you, disassembling and repacking the battery was laborious, as well as clearing the closets and wardrobe has made the living room a mess.

Source: The photo was taken by me.

If I slept two hours, it was a lot. Although, the space between the living room furniture and the dining room area looks like a pandemonium. My wife is calm, the thrill of hugging and pleasing our youngest daughter.

Tomorrow will be another day. I hope that after a good rest, I will resume cleaning. Seeing the room, I am surprised at how many things one gets to keep in the closets, thinking that they will use them in the future.

When you think about it, you realize that you have become an accumulator of obsolete or useless things for your current lifestyle. For example, since my daughter was absent, I took advantage of the wardrobe in the room to put many suits and ties that I will surely never wear again.

If you haven't noticed, the world changed with the plandemic in many ways. Well, in my case, the lifestyle change had already started. So I don't see myself wearing those suits anymore. Also, when I lose almost fifteen kilos, all those clothes are so baggy on me, they don't look like my own.

Not to mention the old laptops, five in total, and video cameras that take up space. I'm delusional, telling myself that I could use them as bits and pieces for a project. Something like a technological Frankenstein monster. LOL. How easy it is to accumulate garbage!

Something notorious that I pulled out of the cupboards is the colorful, full-color magazines that satisfied my passions for reading in the not-so-distant past.

You can guess, the main topics cover men's toys, that is, high-end motor and car magazines, watches, gadgets, computers, and computers; Topics that you can now consult online over the internet.

Now, with a renewed worldview and other more frugal interests, I see that I was a person carried away by the seductive forces of the world. All those objects are rubbish, that although they satisfied some wishes of an era, they are no longer worth anything, that is, money probably badly spent.

I am too careful, so the magazines, although many of them are over fifteen years old, are still as good as new. However, I am more than sure that I will not read them. On the internet, I get what I need.

The first option that crossed my mind if I want to recover space in our apartment; is to throw away all that material, but I will not lie to you. I do hate the idea of ​​throwing it away.

So I'm evaluating selling it on the online market at a bargain price of $ 1 each. I estimate that there are about 300 full-color magazines. Well, I have many more in a room at my mother-in-law's. I only hope no stowaway mice have done theirs. LOL

As you may have noticed, it is just a sample of how easy it is to accumulate things without trying, to the extent that it can become a real problem.

About clothing, the problem is very similar.

Now, I think too differently for some reason of which still not fully aware; it prevents me from making the right decision. Sell or give away? The problem is who, in both cases.

The good thing about the room is a total mess right now is that yes or yes, I will have to decide quickly. I do not believe that my wife, once the effect of joy to have our daughter back home has worn off, will tolerate such a disaster, nor myself.

I am tired but happy to have my daughter back in these difficult times. Furthermore, the situation confronted me with a habit that I necessarily need to eradicate.

If you were in my case, what would you do with the objects you have leftover; Would you sell them, give them away or throw them away?

An original article by @Jnavedan

Photo by Dim Hou on Unsplash

10
$ 24.81
$ 24.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Meyzee
+ 6
Sponsors of Jnavedan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jnavedan
2 years ago

Comments

Yes go and sell them online. Someone somewhere will buy them. Otherwise you can donate to where they accept books, maybe they will also take magazines. Or other places where they will be welcome. You can look for charities that can pick up usable items and such.

Hope you dispose of them all. Lol. I am still not done with decluttering. Maybe I will procrastinate when I am already ready to leave where I'm currently staying. Haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sorry for the delay in responding. I was taking care of those leftover things. By the way, based on your recommendations. Although I have already cleared the room, I still have other areas that deserve attention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Give them away po 😊 if you have more time you can sell them online.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Give them away po 😊 if you have more time you can sell them online.

Thanks for the advice. I already gave away some Christmas season books and decorations that I will never use again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greetings my friend, I am so happy to read here about your daughter reunion with the family, and I know how how emotionally drained you must have been writing this article.

As for your unusable items, if they are still good enough for use in anyway you can ship it for charity. In all, am very happy for your daughter return. May God keep you all together happily.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, my friend, for your words. Yes, you are right, I was very tired writing and even after five days I am fixing things so that my daughter has a good stay at home.

Excuse me if I haven't participated in your great articles, it's hard to catch up if you stray from reading on read.cash.

God bless you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Give out the ones you can afford giving out. Sell the ones that will fetch you more money and throw the bad ones away. Congrats on reuniting with your daughter after many years.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for such eloquent advice and good wishes.

Excuse me if I did not reply immediately, as you understand, I am still busy ordering and fixing pending things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing with selling is where to do it. A garage sale? Sell it online in bulk? Ideally, there should be 3 piles: give away, sell, discard. But it is often very hard to sort stuff and a strong will is necessary.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Garage Sales! I thought about it, but this implies time to dedicate to it. So I've already gotten a few clutter out of closets.

Thanks, my friend, for your advice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Give away :) haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes! Meyzee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago