Understanding the Self

3 22
Avatar for JessaBars
3 years ago

By: JessaBars

Self is the representation of once identity. It defines our own personality or what we really like as a person. According to Ralph Waldo Emerson, "To act naturally in a world that is continually attempting to make you something different is the best achievement."

In this world full of judgment, rejection and criticism I can't say that I do not pretend to be like someone else. I made bad action that results to wrong decision. I am also a human that make mistakes because I'm not perfect, no bodies perfect. And as I reflect, I'd realize that it's important to know myself first before getting to know others in order to better understand my own unique character. I also realize that I don't need to pretend to make other people happy because the true happiness is to make myself happy. As what Judy Garland said, "Continuously be a top notch variant of yourself and not a below average form of another person." What I've learn about the concept of the self, gave me knowledge about myself. It is the way to understand my behavior, abilities, and unique character as a person. The different level under the mental iceberg reminds me that all of us have a different experience, memories and thoughts or desire and I should respect it. The three element of personality known as ego, superego and ID work together to create a complex human behavior that helps me to have a balance personality.

Understanding the self requires knowledge that help me to discover and understand my unique personality. This thought me to change for the better version of myself. And made me realize that being true is the only way for me to be accepted and love by the society even some people judge, reject and criticize me. I will always follow what my hearts tune in to internal voice, and quit thinking about what others think.

6
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder

Comments

Understanding one's self is crucial to self development.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No problem. Thank you also 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago