Simple act of Kindness

2 30
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Hello everyone. Got something to share. I was in trouble at work last week because someone was getting a feedback and it didn't like the feedback so it backfired, -it all went back on me. For all the 10 years working, nothing like this ever happened.

So this is actually one of the reasons why I was out on weekends. Don't have the motivation nor the interest to write about something because this was bothering me all weekend. I am bemused myself of how a simple act of kindness backfired when there is no malice found in the intent, just trying to assist, that's all.

Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty

The Incident

Boss wasn’t around to immediately address the issue. It was a feedback given that wasn’t managed, overwhelmed with feelings and overreacted because it felt the feedback was an attack to the persona, taken personally. And the reaction made a very huge commotion on the floor, to which my actions (answering the query) was pointed to be the cause. And me, shocked? For the 10yrs I've worked with these people.

Lessons

A kind gesture can really get you into trouble, like what happened to me. Thinking about it now only makes me more bemused why such wild reactions? We are team mates and we are supposed to support each other and not back stab. I still don’t understand. However, it is still a choice. Though I don’t have control over someone else’s reaction or someone else opinion over the what happened, it should be a lesson learned that not every act of kind is safe. We can still be kind but a little cautious at some point because we have no idea what the future will bring with such gesture. Though, I am not discouraged to do simple acts of kindness because of 1 incident but let this be a warning to many who will be joining the work force. Caution in everything you do if you want to keep your job.

We are all stressed, who isn’t. The pandemic, home problems, financial problems and the never ending list. Emotions are given for us to control not be overcome by it. So I chose to refused to give in the pressure and really tried, to receive such feedback in a very calmly disposition. In the end, it was a malice placed on such gesture that given rise to questioned morals but I chose to let it go because I am still working on the same office, working on the same team, and I have no way of going out because of all the reasons in the world and I need this job to put food on the table.

I will live through this, this is the least I can do for myself and for her, God bless. Thank you for staying with me, hope you have a great day and a weekend up ahead! God bless.

4
$ 0.95
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @rebeysa85
$ 0.01 from @ErdoV
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

People will misinterpret the goodness you act to them even if what your intentions are pure. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodness is not always rewarded in the same way, unfortunately! The other person understands it want to understand. Yes, you have to be careful even when doing good to people. In our culture, there is a saying about this subject; "Do good, throw it into the sea"

$ 0.00
2 years ago