Raging waters!

4 26
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

"Ber" month... onset September, I ran out of medz so I decided to drop by Pharmacy to buy and I happily entered and greeted everyone that since it was just me, pharmacist and her errand boy.

Happily chatted with the pharmacist and the errand boy just listened. Sorry, I'm chatty so... Ammm, really chatty... And I am not the kind who discriminate who I chat with neither am I the kind who asks for names... So... This is how I came to know that my medz prescribed were those intended patients who "lack sleep", which is definitely my case. And the other one is truly for the patients with heart illness. So, well, it was really my fault, I lack sleep because my cancer-friend was just before... Pausing for a while after that, yes, no regrets.

At the end of the purchase, I greeted them "MERRY CHRISTMAS"... So! I was taken aback with the expressions on their faces! OMG! Like, "when did CHRISTMAS" became a like "CURSE"? Wow! I was so horrified with their faces!

I honestly was surprised, so I asked why. They were actually praying that Christmas would be like "ODETTE", again! Like... What? Like they were fearing that when "Ber" month hits, "ODETTE" is about to strike once again!

Well, I couldn't blame them. The horrors of "ODETTE" really got the worst on all those who were greatly affected. And to note the current state of "Puerto Rico" and "Japan" that just happened over the weekend. Wow! Who wouldn't be scared? Right? Like the bridge was just swept away by the flood in a matter of seconds! I saw it on the news. Oh! I can't imagine the horrors of the flood in Japan and in Puerto Rico. The homes it took and the evacuees are really just too much! For over the weekend, such a tragedy, on both countries.

I am really sorry to watch the news my colleague open here in the office because, like me, I have kids too and if it happened to me? Oh no! It's such. About the opening of September, 2nd day, a "bohawi" hit our area and it flooded so much that it took a house that was situated under the bridge and I happened to know the owner.

She was really devastated as the flood took her home. I do understand her sentiments, it's not easy for your home to be taken away in one sweep! She was aghast because the materials were "God given", collected it from the people who contributed in building her home. The walling, the roofing, the pillars and everything else were all given to her by kind people, the neighbors. With one sweep, she lost her home and don't know where to go. I told her I have an extra bedroom I can let her live, while she will be collecting how they're going to be in the next few. But somebody offered too, so she declined my offer.

Now, recalling over the aghast expression of the pharmacist and her errand boy. It's not easy when you have to live in an open air, nothing left but your body and your people. But, at least you have each other and the goodness of the people that surrounds you. That is something we can be grateful off and having our loved ones safe and still with us, is something...

God bless us all!

Sept 20, 2022
Image: pinterest

9
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Shohana
$ 0.01 from @yoieuqudniram
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

My country Pakistan was also hit by floods just recently so I can totally relate to this article.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kabantay ko nag sagunson na ang bagyo sa ber months sis. Maong na trauma na gyud sila but a po lang ta. Kaluy an rata sa Ginoo nga hapsay ang pag saulog sa pasko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is very painful that many people become homeless and lost their beloved family members in flood. Many of our area get flooded in rainy season so same thing happen to many people. Condolences!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes friend. Odette was really scary. 🥺 My family had a trauma because of the Odette. My mom cried when Odette hit in our province. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago