Flowers...

0 18
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Recalling the article complaining about writing things like “flowers blooming and …”, I can’t help but commit another crime. Again! Sorry!

Appreciation

In the little garden, I spent most of my wee time, the flowers are blooming. Surprisingly one day, a butterfly visits us by. The other day, I find a dragon fly that visited. And there is an instance that my boy complained about a bug that hovered inside the living room and told him to watch out for that.

The flowers are blooming, showing their appreciation of kissing the sun all day long. Together with few rains that visited recently, they are really happy. They are located on the roof deck as the apartment had one. Although there are some who were not very happy because they had sun burn, -burning their delicate leaves…

My interest in flowers is not only the beauty it exude, it is how it conveys the promise of life in every way. Aside from the fact that I am a natural green thumb... I am fascinated for a lot of reasons like, it nourishes itself then produces flower and the flower dies. Then another one comes out, it dies again and another one popping out. Its fascinating to see the beauty as it fades and another one comes and dies. Amazing because I get to watch the process every time and although there is waiting time, but the joy of seeing another flower blooming is such joy that simply cannot be missed.

Now, somebody asked “why the ornamentals”. Why not focus on vegetables or fruit, why ornamentals? Well… I didn't answer her but she terribly failed to know that flowers too are edible... ??? yes! And not just the flowers of the vegetables, but also the ornamentals - the decorative plants.

 Benefits

Flowers are simple but delicate. Thinking of the benefits I reap from sowing them, amongst are what I can think of:

  1. Aroma. We'll we already know this one, so let me skip, aroma therapy for stress relieving baths and the likes. For ambience, guess its lucrative but... its really nice! So if you have a garden, it wouldn't hurt to have a bunch everyday.

  2. Tea. Oh! this one I know is marigold. I learned in one of the groups I joined in FB that they're buying the flowers to be dried to be the main ingredient for making their tea. So...

  3. Repellent. Marigold, another one of its magnificence is that the odor it releases helps in repelling mosquitoes. This is especially helpful for us living in the tropics where mosquitoes abounds together with the citruses, mint, lemon grass and many more - for a possible dengue outbreak which we recently have.

  4. Edible, can be eaten. Aside from the squash flower as an ingredient for local stew, roses, some orchids, marigold, chive flowers, and many more to mention.

  5. Medicine. Hmmm, its said that gumamela flowers: as flavanoids and proanthocyanidins are antioxidants, antipyretic, analgesic, and spasmolytic

Well, this is just what I can think of right now aside from the fact that they invite insects, birds, bugs and the likes, keeping they cycle alive... will be adding a list later on, on another article. Purpose? Oh! I just round it up with the list... Moreover, I love seeing all the natural colors that blends in and that, I really can't imagine a life without them in the city where everything seemed cemented and only the looks of the building abounds?! Every wall rebounds the stress you feel all day long... This is something you can sit by and share something with a living thing. Until next time, thank u for the read!

May 27,2022
Image: mine and pinterest

 

4
$ 1.72
$ 1.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.02 from @Aimure
+ 1
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments