COVID 19 Stories - Office

0 25
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

The office is quiet in the wee hours of the day. Wednesday, most agents are out already because they are on “early out”, and those that are left ended up saying “sana all”.  So, I went out because my stomach complained its hungry, tried to ignore it but it only grumbles a lot and my budget only allows inexpensive food as I was already out of budget days ago!

Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty

Sites

Since lockdown in main cities of our province, the company had open other sites, 2 off sites to cater the dire need of other offices since the threat of shutdown was at hand before vaccines were available. Logic behind it was when main office was put to shutdown due to increase number of COVID positive agents, then the other off sites were still operating. Work from home was only offered to selected few, while many or half of the population were still working at the offices, which was why shuttle vans were provided for our transportation. Although WFH was convenient but considering the internet services of the country, well, never mind, I would rather work in the office.

Our Site

Hmmm… I have to say I have enjoyed the dress-down privilege for this site. Considering that we can just wear shorts and t-shirt with matching slippers going to work is something I am truly grateful of. While other says they’re loving the free parking space and the convenience. Well, who can ask for more. We are enjoying it more than a year and a half, going 2 yrs this march 2022. I am grateful to wear only shorts because I just moved in the city and sad to say it has been raining since I moved in and I take too long for the pants to dry out. So, convenience.  Then the space is most private, though fast foods are located afar but still its nice.

Main Office

Its located at the heart of IT Park, so its busy and for the past quarter it has been subjected to a lot of contact tracing due to heighten covid infections in and outside the premise. Its strictly business attire and tattered jeans are not allowed during dress down days. Oh! Bad. Dress code is something I’m not very fond of.

Buzz

There has been buzz or gossips circling about moving in to the main office since last year. Of course, many from our sites are not open to the idea because of the inconvenience especially for those with parking fees to consider. While us, the normal employees only have to consider the dress code, which is already overwhelming to think of. The work from home employees will only be considered after 2 years? So, they don’t need to worry but continue the worry free work from home.

Vaccination

Well, its good to know that many of the employees are really considering and have themselves vaccinated while there are a few who didn’t. And I asked my seatmate if he was and he is but they (him and his wife) regretted it. But still, cant turn back the time now so. And now I’m reminded to have my son register for vaccination, oh! Just a quick clicks and it was done, just waiting for the schedule then.

Main office is not wavering on the pursuit of 100% vaccination of employees. Well, who would want to worry over pasaway employees who only think of their desires to go outing and mingle like they used to? Not really minding the hassle of contact tracing and surging infections is just way too high. Can we just go to work and go home safely please!!! And oh! The cost of the swabs and if found positive, well, a 14-day leave – good if with pay, what happens if all leaves were exhausted after all the series of contact tracing done because of above mentioned misdemeanors. Oh! The price to pay, they never learned.

Over-all

Our site is currently @ 83% vaccination. Perhaps only few are left unvaccinated, why? One is still not scheduled or doesn’t want to. Whichever is the reason, it's theirs to take. But I’ll take my stand on this. My family, boys, are still safe even if I don’t have myself vaccinated. However, in the long run, vaccination will become a must. For now, it is still not mandatory they say but how can it be when almost everywhere you go right now asks for your vaccination card even as simple as making a meal purchase on a fastfood and take note this is take-out meals, I was asked for my vax card.

It will not be long until our site will be fully vaccinated but there are really people I talked with doesn’t want to for some reasons. I don’t know how it will be but by far, main office is really looking forward for the realization towards the end of the year. But wishful thinking, hope it extend to next year. Would love to stay a bit longer with these privileges.

Thank u for staying. 'Til next time, God bless.

*Lead image from Upsplash.com

3
$ 0.30
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Comments