After School Tour - Grazing Horses

0 24
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

I work graveyard shift so after office hours, I hurriedly go home so to be in time to prepare the kids for school. Cooking them breakfast and baon (food provision, packed food) for lunch, shower and uniform. I am the main school bus for school, so I'm their ride.

Oh! I can only recall the moments we had together going to school. Everyday, a routine that became dearly treasured memories.

We were new to the place. We hadn't explored the many places to visit in this suburb area. Then one day a friend told us this nice place where there are grazing horses. And she told us to check the place, its nice and there are several horses and you can also ask for the manure too. It was many days and months that passed that weren't able to visit it because of hectic schedule or either I was busy or she was busy.

Then we found time. We were excited and bought some snack with us so we can enjoy the scenery. The place was not far, we actually pass by going home from school or from to school, so it was just accessible.

Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty

I had to admit, I was at awe as I entered the place. It had this sense of solace and very calming ambience that I wouldn't mind staying all day here. Then we continued, the air was very clean and fresh. The road was rough but the scenery was just captivating. I was especially captivated by the Anahaw that were lined along the road going in and out the place, I hadn't seen such display of anahaw and I couldn't help but appreciate, simple and natural. oh! Such a place, beautiful.

The tall trees simply gave the shade the place needs. While the open ground provided the grazing ground for the horses. Oh! I was like very excited to see the horses and my boy too. It was our first time here where I really didn't expect that horses were real, and we could actually visit it anytime of the day. Even at breaking of dawn or very early in the morning for morning walks or jog... The place wasn't big but big enough to house at least 4-6 horses. Big enough for an hour daily walk or jog.

I found out that the place was a good source of manure for school projects. Horse manure was everywhere and its for free but you have to do it yourself. Plus you have to be careful because the horses bites, warned the care taker. So, we had to remember that, to never get too close to the horses else, you will be in trouble... hahaha! The care taker lived there but you could never expect to see him every visit, so better careful than sorry.

Then another benefit was that the anahaw leaves were harvested to be made into roofing. You could ask for some but not allowed to deplete. Well naturally of course, the anahaws will die if ever and needed to look for another source if to support the roofing project, especially when its really big. True as it was, I actually saw a house roofing on anahaw and it was beautiful. It wasn't just beautifully made but it was so refreshing to me. I forgot where I saved the picture I will update the post once I found it. I'm used to seeing houses on cement and often hear people rumbling about the weather is too hot. Or the electricity bill spikes so high because they have to use air conditioning because it's so terrible inside the house without it. It feels like an oven in there! Lolz. So I can't really help but appreciate the native houses. Especially at these pandemic times where I heard a surge of unemployment or underemployment because business has to close.

I think it's just beffiting to live in a native house most especially when we are located in a tropical area and summer is just getting hotter every year. And anyone with my mind set, trying so hard to find ways to save, a native house is just as practical in a way especially in saving electricity and at the same time during "brownout". I don't really know but "brownouts" has been happening since pandemic. Even heard from a colleague that he couldn't work from home because electricity is scarce in his area of residence. Really? Like you live in a very busy district and no electricity? Seriously? Ok.

Well, as we left the place, we secretly vowed to come back. Little did we expect that something like this exist, in this small town and its just a few minutes away from highway. And I am really grateful for that friend to invite us and visit the place. Warm and gentle. Makes you forget the worries and hustles of everyday life. Gives a very comforting ease and sense of tranquility despite the harshness of the world we lived in. Enjoying the site a little while than we can, that we really don't need to go to Baguio to experience something like this. It's really just in our town, Liloan Cebu, Philippines.

Oh! It's not really much as rich and bongga as Baguio City, but it's something we Cebuanos can be proud of. A mini get-away for a budget constraint household. At least my boys get to see horses up close and experience tranquility that is not expensive.

This is it. Thank u and hoped you enjoyed reading. 'til next time, God bless. *Photo credits are all mine, boy in the picture is my son.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @beastion
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
2 years ago

Comments