A man of the house: the boy next door!

3 19
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Ahhhh! The 1st day of the month just started and it’s been crazy morning at home! It’s a holiday but we are called for work as support team. Well, what can I say? Working moms! However, 4th of July remains, 4th of July… So, off for a long weekend, at least Monday is off!

My family

I raised my kids alone for more than a decade and they’d been fatherless! I’m not sure how’d they’d take it but… They’re expose with kids having fathers, I believe at the bottom of their heart… I guess but… I wander!

Well, I pop out the question and… hmmm… they don’t feel like having a grown up man in the house! And my little one hated having a grown up man, because they didn’t like how the father’s were treating their kids… He learned it from visiting neighbors for play. I was shocked to learn that they are not welcoming any, they’re happy as they are. Happier having no father with stern ways of disciplining…

So… one day I got sick and they were all alone in the house because I was hospitalized. They managed well at home and I got a “I miss you” from bunso when I was released from the hospital which was heart-warming. And I got to save bunso from kuya’s man-handling the house. Becoming my assistant became his shield.

Kuya, the boy next door

We rented a two-room apartment and kuya lives next door! He is only 12 and trying hard to be a man at this age! Well, he was when I was gone for 4 days getting treatment at the hospital and he manages the house all by himself.

I should say, they survived. Having all the apartment for themselves, they managed. Barely complained about anything. Not even with the supplies were running low and haven’t left a penny for them. Buy for food, or fare to visit me at the hospital. Most importantly, they were really alone. All by themselves and the neighbors didn’t know I wasn’t around. No one to keep them or supervise them. They kept to themselves but they were all good. I am really glad!

At the start of the month… Me and kuya have been walking around the neighborhood for my health and today, he accompanied me going to work. It’s like we walked for minutes until I get too tired of walking. It’s a refreshing thought being accompanied for the 1st time in my whole life and nice!

Walks

He is manning up! And I couldn’t believe he has grown up so fast that he is almost an adult at this age! He is graduating elementary and he’d be in high school next school year!

It makes a good inspiration looking at him now, now that he has all grown up. All the more wanting to see them both grow up to be men. Oh! Our walks will be more than a dozen ones and will continue to do so! Until then, I gear up myself in getting well and fit, to see more walks with him in the future…

I could say! I am glad they grow up to be good boys at most. Kuya has his rebellious ways but that was all behind us now! Looking further for an opportunity to live these days together with them.

Thank u for the read! Just sharing something, being part of my family, the community that is! Happy Friday!

July 01, 2022
Image: his image

 My gratitude to my sponsor(s)! Thank u for you undying support and do check out their articles, they're the best!

Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty

7
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.01 from @grey23espartinas
$ 0.01 from @BlueFlipper
Sponsors of Jento
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jento
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Begining are always good because we discover new things.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh how brave and nice they are. One good thing of being raise by a single parent. Growing up independent. I was raised by a single parent too. My mom raise the 3 of us . So proud of her. Hands up to you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have father who is my great blessing of God. I don't think like fatherless will be a good for us. Anyway you faced what you better know sister. Yeah to raise kiddos is tough task and trail of life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago