Becoming a Dog Momma

10 51
Avatar for Jentleheart
2 years ago

I grew up having dogs around the house. But, I wasn't really into them. My "yaya" and the other helpers were responsible in taking care of them. I see them pass by, roam around the hoyse, but I never bothered petting them. Not that I hate dogs. I was actually afraid of getting bitten by them. Although none of our dogs are of huge breed, I was just too scared to get close to them.

Back in College, my boyfriend then (my husband now) gave me a Japanese Spitz puppy. She was cute I named her Kimchi. Being just about a few months old, she needed nurturing. So, I laid newspaper all over my bedroom so the carpet would not be damaged. I wake up at 3am to feed her. And I just let her roam inside my room.

When I got married, she was left with my "yaya's" care for about a year or so then took her where my husband and I built our family. She had puppies, too. Since Kimchi practicallt grew up under my care, I wasn't afraid of her. She was very loving. When she died, I didn't feel like having one again.

In 2018, my brother in law coaxed my husband into breeding French Bulldogs. I wasn't aware how much they cost. All I know is that bulldogs were scary! I was trying to talk out my husband from buying since we don't reallt know how to take care of that breed. And the amount was as much as buying a new car. One dog came after the other in a span of just one month. In total, 5 French Bulldogs arrived. They were puppies, but still, I wasn't comfortable touching anyone one of them.

For the next few days, I was looking at them convincing myself not to get scared. They were just about 4-6 months old that time. Practically, they were babies. Little by little, I tried touching them. The barking was scary which made me think that they would bite. But once I have taught myself to ran my fingers on their head and there were no violent reactions, I slowly felt comfortable. In the next few days, I have taught myself to carry them, play with them....and yes, TALK TO THEM!

Being a mother, there is just this instinct to give them the care that they need as I see them as my own babies. Now all of them have their own babies which I continuously take care of.

Currently, we have 28 dogs (French Bulldog, Pembroke Welsh Corgi, Pomeranian, Pug, and our 13 year old Aspin), 17 of which are puppies.

3
$ 0.15
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @renren16
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for Jentleheart
2 years ago

Comments

Whoa! That's a lot of dogs. I want one! :D :D Welcome to read!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for taking time to read my first blog! Will surely check out yours as well. Have a great day!☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome. Keep writing :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fostered and adopted a female japanese spitz (Snowy) before sadly she died.. Reading about dogs makes me miss my furbaby more... Now i have a pom named sofia, a rescued dog like snowy.. I'll let you meet her here soon in my post 🐶 welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's wonderful! I can't waif to read all.about it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, yes.. Soon😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read Ma'am.. hihi...👋❤️ Nice meeting you po..☺️☺️☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! It's nice to be part of this kind of community once again!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read. cash, mommy Dyen. Pareho tayong furmom, pero is a lang dog ko hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah! I saw your photos with your furbaby. We'll be sharing about my journey as a furmom and a lot more.... Thanks for letting me know about this site.

$ 0.00
2 years ago