Strict swimming

15 35
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

I am writing today's article in order to hear your opinion on dilemma that is bothering me these days. I enrolled my 5 years old son in swimming lessons for the first time. He likes water very much but he is afraid. He is not relaxed at all and he feels insecure, but he would like to learn to swim. That's why I tought that swimming lessons could be a good solution for him, to get rid of the fear of water.

He started the lessons in the age group 5-6 years, but he cried all the time and instructor suggested moving him to a younger group where parent is present in the pool, to make him more relaxed. But he is still afraid. The reason is a strict instructor.

Instructor is like a soldier. 😊 I am not exaggerating. She is really very strict. She insists that he do some things he feels unable to do. She yells at him and puts a pressure on him during the swimming class. Now, after few classes, he is afraid more than he was and his stress became so big that he wants to quit.

In my opinion, swimming is very nice skill. I feel free in the water and I haven't been afraid ever. I wanted my son to feel that way too, but we are not same. Parents sometimes want their children to be like them, but that is wrong. I hoped that he will have exciting time in the pool, but he actually had a scary experience. I don't know how to change his impression. Instructor will not change her training method. I suppose that, I didn't ask her.

I know that swimming has many benefits. It is a great activity for children. It improves their health and develops their strentgh, social, mental and physical skills. Fear is normal at first and later children become more self-confident.

On the other hand, my son is so afraid that it is hard for me to watch him shivering and crying. It should be an exciting and fun activity and not stress. He wanted to learn to swim, but now, swimming is strict and stressful activity for him.

Should I give up on my son's swimming lessons or not?

Thank you very much for reading and I would like to hear your opinion.

Article and photo are original and mine.

Best regards to all readers and writers.

9
$ 8.98
$ 8.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Musician
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 4
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I personally think that the wrong instructor will just make the problem worse, not cure it. Yes, he will learn the skills but he might choose to avoid water in the future. Are there any other swimming schools available? How about first introducing him to the sea or a lake, so he sees that it's fun and relaxing?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes indeed swimming is important to learned. And if he loves it then keep pushing, he could be one of the best swimmers in the end

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe at this time I will be confused, I do not know how to swim later I teach children if one day I have children. will he laugh?? actually I always learn when my friends ask me to go to the beach and the pool but I can't, even I almost drown... hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is never to late for swimming lessons. My son's instructor would teach you for sureπŸ˜€. For her, the words "I can't" don't exist. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think your son will be the one decide just ask him if he still want or love by doing it if no then its time for you to give up because always make sure that the excitement of learning of your child is very important. If ever that he's no longer to attend the swimming class, we can have a contextualization wherein u can teach him in your swimming pool if u had or if u have an outing just be with him again by teaching him how to swim.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I asked him. He said that he wants to learn to swim but he doesn't like the teacher. 😊 And everytime when he mentions her, he has tears in his eyes. He is very afraid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee he's not motivated in that case actually he got traumatized. Try to enroll him from other school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree it is important to learn to swim. What I would recommend would be a half and half solution. If you are present, make sure to indeed have fun and laugh before or after the class, while in the water so that it does stay, at least partly, a fun activity.

But if that doesn't work and he keeps crying and wants to stop, I would say stop the lesson. Then you can find another place where the instructor is better. Get refunded. Or you can wait a year and having grown up, past challenges and fears might now feel more approachable to your kid.

No, matter, he won't be traumatised. It's not the water, but mostly the teaching method and your kid is young. So I say, half and half, stay flexible, encourage healthy sports like this and don't make too much of a big deal for your kid. He really doesn't like it? Make a deal: You can stop for now but next year your kid will try the lesson again to see.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for detailed feedback. I will think about it for sure and I will read it again and again, you gave me really good advices.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If he loves it, then don't give up on him swimming he might be the best at it, though I'm not good at swimming

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The last option for me is giving up but sometimes I am afraid that I will make a mistake. I don't want that he feels bad for something that should make him happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swimming is important for everyone. Children should learn to swim from an early age. However, I have not yet learned about my child. Because such a time has not come. But I thought I would teach.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is very important and beneficial activity. I think that every child feels fear when it starts to learn but I hope that later will be better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a sword with two oysters. Try for several times, but change instructor πŸ˜€

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wouldn't give up but I am afraid that my son will have trauma. Maybe I will change the instructor but it would be the path of less resistance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago