From the rocks to our health

16 32
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Have you ever heard of "kritamo"? I heard about this magnificent plant few years ago, thanks to my friends from Greece. I was fascinated by the fact that it grows out of the rocks. Kritamo is also known by the English names Sea Fennel, Rock Samphire and Crithmum. But I remembered it as a "kritamo" and I like that name the most.

One day on my vacation in Greece, my friends prepared traditional Greek lunch and that is when I saw kritamo for the first time. This is what our table looked like...

I was most impressed with the salad and I ask them which green plant it was.

When I tried it, I felt intense but refreshing Mediterranean taste. It tasted better than I could have imagine. It has wonderful aroma. I was really delighted because I discovered a little pleasure for myself. I was born in one place by the sea and I like very much Mediterranean food and aromas.

My friends started to talk about kritamo and I listened to them carefully. They picked it up that day while they were walking by the sea. They picked it up from the rocks. I was wondering how that plant survives in such conditions. I found it interesting that it is watered by the sea water and it doesn't need any people's attention and care. It is really powerful and benificial plant, rich in vitamins and minerals. It also removes toxins from our body. If you haven't ever tried it, I recommend you to try.

My friends also prepared "gemista", stuffed peppers and tomatoes with rice.

Traditional Greek bread with curcuma, grilled sardines and one dish that I liked very much, mussels saganaki. It also contained kritamo.

When I tried traditional Greek lunch, I knew that Greek cuisine would be one of my favorites. Everything I tried was very tasty and the most important thing is that Greek cuisine is very healthy.

While we were eating this beautiful lunch, we were laughing a lot. Greek people are very positive. When you are with them, you just have to laugh. They are very cordial and good people. We always return home with beautiful and unforgettable impressions.

Nature has a lot to offer us. Never stop exploring the nature. Even rocks can give us something healthy.

Thank you very much for reading my article about "kritamo".

Article and photos are original and they belong to me.

Best regards to all readers and writers.

9
$ 2.54
$ 2.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Musician
$ 0.03 from @TengoLoTodo
+ 1
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Our cuisine is Mediterranean cuisine. We make a lot of olive oil dishes, such as Greek dishes. The food in the photo also looks great. I got hungry :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love olive oil so much and I use it often. Mediterranean cuisine is the best, lucky you. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maybe not in my area. this is very effective. Greece has its own characteristics and so many interesting things from this land of the gods.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, Greece is beautiful country. Actually, I think that every country has something unique and beautiful. Where are you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow first time seeing this kind of food Jelena and those are looking good how i wish i could try some hehe. Interesting food you have friend send me some hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you visit Greece I recommend you to try their food for sure. It is delicious. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know about this plant, it grows from stone, the Greeks put it in jars like cucumbers for the winter

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, my friends told me about that way of preserving kritamo. It is a very good plant and the most interesting thing is that it grows from the rocks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Delicious food you had My Friend. I haven't heard about kritamo before, thanks for sharing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is really powerful plant. I can't wait every summer to eat it. It couldn't be found in my country but in Greece there are a lot...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think that plant is rare and that can't be found here in my country easily.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The looks of the food can catch attention😍Nice presentation and it looks so yummy.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was really delicious. Great moment and a very good food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do love the look of the mussels dish and kritamo I want to taste too!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Greece is special country with very good and tasty food. I go there every summer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes they have good food and eat healthy, a nice place to visit.

$ 0.02
2 years ago