Don't lose yourself

11 38
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

We lose something every day. We lock the door and when we want to unlock it we realize that the keys are no longer with us. They fall out of our pockets or we forget them somewhere. We take out a wallet to pay for something and then we see that we have lost money. Or we can't even find a wallet. When the weather is cloudy, we carry an umbrella and then forget it in a basket in the office or store, and after a while when we get wet, we remember that we lost it somewhere. We park the car and then wander around the parking looking for the car because we forgot where we parked it. We also lose friends sometimes. We lose them in a crowd in which we did not find time to call them and see them. We lose hats, glasses, and phones.

I guess we have to lose. It's normal. But there is something dangerous about it. All is well until we lose ourselves. This kind of loss sometimes cannot be made up as we can buy a new umbrella or new glasses. Losing ourselves is the hardest loss that can happen to us. It is incomprehensible how this is even possible, but it is possible. We continue to go our own way and we lost ourselves somewhere along the way. And then we start looking. We are looking for ourselves with the hope that we will find at least our pieces to put them together again. Sometimes we never find them. We continue to live lost, without a goal, without a path, without meaning. And sometimes we manage to find ourselves. What a happy moment! But at the same time, we have a difficult task. We found ourselves no longer the same. It's not us anymore. We have to learn to walk again, to laugh, to love. It's not that easy.

So watch out! Take care of yourself! Don't allow yourself to lose yourself. Beware of that terrible loss. Check from time to time if you are there if it is you. Take care of yourself because there are people who need you and who love you. Take care because you need yourself as well. Don’t destroy all the clues that could lead to you if you happen to get lost sometime. Leave traces so that at least others can find you. Don't be locked in a keyless drawer or in a basement where no one will ever go down.

Don't lose yourself.

Thank you very much for reading.

The article is original and mine. The lead image is from unsplash.com.

18
$ 2.21
$ 1.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 15
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I lost myself over the past few years because I let others dictate my life or were too weak to stand up on my own. I am glad that I slowly found myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I almost lose myself now, but I'm fighting not to lose. I'm glad you found yourself. You're even stronger now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lost myself from 2018. I was the guy who always try to be happy. But now i am finding my past.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

exactly! and I am thankful I found my lost self few years ago,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel this way sometimes. I feel like I lost myself in the process of aiming something. But you see, it's pretty normal, things will really get back to its normal state. Let's trust the process.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes I feel like I’m losing everyone. But in reality, I’m just losing myself.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know the feeling. Finding the lost pieces of yourself takes time but of course, not all of them are found. You have to rebuild yourself from scratch.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Worthy words from you. Maybe I'm judging too much myself nowadays. I should stop it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

aggh, this is so me, few days ago. i got lost and thankfully I am now oing well again. Just had some random bad days..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Losing is part of the life, losing ourselves too although is always a hard lesson, an experience that we have to learn from... it's part of our path.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah! If you stumble, get up!

$ 0.01
2 years ago