Christmas Eve in Serbia

23 38
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Today is Christmas Eve in Serbia. It is called "Badnje veče". According to the old Julian calendar, Christmas is celebrated in my country on the 7th January, and tonight we celebrate Christmas Eve. Our main Church is Orthodox Church.

This evening is special for all families. It has always been my favorite holiday because it has always brought us together. There are many different customs, but the essence is mostly the same in all places in Serbia.

There are two things to think about first when it comes to Christmas Eve, and that is "badnjak" and a coin in Christmas bread. The father of the family used to go to the forest in the morning to pick up the "Christmas tree - badnjak". In the evening, "badnjak" is lit, at home or in front of a church.

Today, "badnjak" is mostly bought and stands as a decoration at home.

On Christmas Eve the table is delicious and we don't eat food that comes from animals, but we eat fish.

Dishes that can most often be seen on the table of Christmas Eve are roasted fish, dried peppers stuffed with rice and onions, mashed beans with garlic, baked beans in the oven with onions, roasted pumpkin, pie with cabbage, sweet pie with pumpkin and apples, dry fruit, boiled chestnuts.

The most interesting part of the evening is the breaking of the Christmas bread called "česnica". In some parts of Serbia, bread is broken on Christmas Eve and in some on Christmas Day. All members of the family hold the bread and spin it in a circle. Then everyone breaks a piece for themselves. A coin is hidden in the bread. Whoever finds a coin is thought to be lucky all year round. According to tradition, there are different customs and in some families the host breaks the bread by himself and gives everyone a piece.

This evening, of course, as every previous Christmas Eve, my son found a coin. This is not a coincidence because grandmothers always try to be like that. 😊 When I was a kid, I was looking forward to this moment and kept the coin all year.

Lots of fireworks can be seen this evening. I managed to photograph one.

Tomorrow at Christmas, the first person to enter someone's home is called a "položajnik". He received a gift and is thought to bring good luck. This task is usually done by children.

This evening always brings special emotions. Happiness and nostalgia at the same time.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article and photos are original and mine.

10
$ 2.74
$ 2.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 5
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Tasty and delicious meals 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are delicious meals. How nice, then Merry Christmas to you my friend from Serbia.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much! This Christmas has been very difficult and nostalgic because my dad is no longer here, but the day is coming to an end so I feel a little relieved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Live your grief, my friend. With time the pain will soften but it will never be forgotten. I wish God to give you much strength to carry your pain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for the kind words and support. You carry some peace with you, I love your writing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, I'm at your service whenever you need me. A hug from sis in the distance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas Jelena, Greetings from My Family. The food you prepared looks so delicious.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much! I am glad that you like the food. It really is delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The food ,and the Last pic caught my attention more I want to eat these food🤭😋😋 but can't ...by the way happy new year enjoy full of your life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much, I am glad that you like the food. I hope that you will have the opportunity to come to Serbia to try our food. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas! Everything looks really delicious. The tradition of the bread and the coin, is like the custom of the roscon de reyes that is eaten today in the celebration of the day of the three kings in Spain. Only that the roscon instead of a coin usually has some trinket, but it is said that the one who gets it will be lucky all year long.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much! It is the same custom, I didn't know about it. It's very interesting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas at your side 😉The Christmas traditions and the foods there is so unique unlike here in our country.Also a coin thingy, I want to experience it also hehe. E joy this day with your family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I am glad that you found it interesting. I like the custom with coin the most, it's exciting. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish you and your family a happy and peaceful new year, Jeka. Chestnuts cook well in the fireplace, don't they?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot Erdo! On Christmas Eve we usually cook chestnuts in water, but otherwise we also like to roast them. Anyone who has a fireplace can bake them there and they are very tasty. I bake them in the oven.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Merry Christmas there jelena😊 May the spirit of christmas bring so much joy.❤🥳

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot dear Klea! 😊❤️ I'm a little sick but it'll be better. I hope you are fine now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same with u jelena. Lets have take some medicine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Christmas Eve in Serbia is quite different for ours here,we eat all sort of foods compared to yours which you don't eat food that comes from animal that day,I hope you enjoy your Christmas Eve this evening..have fun 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. Yes, on Christmas Eve we do not eat food that comes from animals, but today on Christmas we eat meat, most often roast pork or lamb.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The food really attracts me ,it looks so yummy ,merry christmas to you jelena and to your family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much! ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago