Chestnut story

18 24
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

There are some smells and tastes, that always bring back nice memories. They are like some kind of reminder of something that happened and left strong impression.

Have you ever been in a situation to feel some smell or taste that brings you back in the past? That is something that happens to me very often and also happened today when I was outside for a walk.

Street sellers started to sell roasted chestnuts. When I felt their smell, I was remembering of great moments that I spent with my best friend many years ago, when we were children. We ate chestnuts in the winter time, when we wanted to warm our hands, after a long playing in the snow. When we ate them, we felt like we got energy. We felt strong. Chestnuts are very nutritious. Their sweet taste is maybe the best taste that I have ever tasted and their yellow color is color that reminds me of happiness. When we ate them, our fingers were always black, but it didn't matter because our stomach was happy and satisfied. That was a beautiful, carefree time.

Today when I was walking with my son, we bought roasted chestnuts. Here they are...

He also likes them very much and he told me that they remind him of last winter. He is five years old and he already has chestnut memories. He remembered when we ate them last winter and then we suddenly saw Santa Claus. He took photo with Santa Claus who asked him to give him one chestnut. He was very happy at that moment and he remembers that moment with a smile on his face. That is his chestnut memory.

He likes to peel chestnuts alone and he really enjoy that moment. Here are his hands...

We had a great Sunday and in the evening when we were going home, we felt very happy because we ate chestnuts together. It was our nice moment and I felt very nostalgic.

Next year, this evening will also be a memory...

Thank you very much for reading.

Article and photos are original and they belong to me.

Best regards to all readers and writers.

8
$ 3.34
$ 3.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 4
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Oww i haven't tried chestnut how i wish i could eat those. But yeah a smell of bread can make me remember a memory of me and my friend, and that is hard to forget right? A memory from smell is hard to delete. So until now i can still remember that friend even though we are no longer one, but everytime i smell a bread i can still imagine our memories back then.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have never tasted this food, can I enjoy it. give me some?? hehe sorry i was just kidding

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh you must taste it, you will like it! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know chestnuts and their smell, but I did not dare to try them when I had the opportunity, in my country we do not have them. So now I'm dying of curiosity, I hope to have the opportunity to try them soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so too that you will have opportunity to try them because they are very tasty. You must try. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in my country, we don't have chestnuts, but I like their smell. Thinking about the smell of roasted chestnuts brings back memories of travels to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also like their smell. That is the real autumn smell for me. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh I am so so so so so did I say so jealous. I love chestnuts from the street sellers. Peeling them, the warmth on your tongue, that is such a pleasure to me. I rarely see them unless I go into Edinburgh to get them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I often roast them at home, but they are not the same as when I buy them from street sellers... 😊 You can roast them too or you can visit BelgradeπŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe it has been a few years since I was in Beograd :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's nice. I hope you spent a nice time in my city. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh yes I loved it!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The chestnut memory is wonderful, the story is wonderful 😊 Keep writing 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad that you like my story. It is nostalgic, just as I feel. Thanks😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My son really wanted to experience playing with snow ,but we don't have snow in our counrty hehe .Anyway ,you had a great time with your kids 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe you could visit my country..😊 We don't have many snowy days but it is enough for playing. 😊 There is more snow in the mountains and we usually visit some mountain when is winter time...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ,what country you are living now?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I live in Serbia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago