Anti-stress art therapy

25 38
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

We live from one stress to another. It is impossible to avoid stress but in the meantime, we can do something to reduce the stress effects. Some of the effective stress relief methods that I use sometimes are coloring, drawing and painting. In my experience, these activities have a positive effect on our feelings and mental health.

Mandala coloring

One of the most effective art therapy method is coloring mandalas. I bought a coloring book with different round "mandala" shapes.

It was recommended to me by a friend who has an anxiety problem. This method helped my friend to resolve emotional problems and reduce stress. I am not anxious, but I had extremely stressful situations recently.

Circular mandala shapes symbolize the life circle and we are within that circle, with our family, friends... We need to look at the circle as a society to wich we belong. Circular design symbolizes that life never ends. During the coloring, I feel calm and well. I am focused and I don't think about choice of colors. It is spontaneous activity, driven by instincts.

Coloring helps us to find a way to inner peace. It is a healing tool with meditation effects.

Drawing

Sometimes I like to draw circular shapes in order to relax myself, in the same way as mandala shapes are drawn. Yesterday, I was inspired by Bitcoin cash and I drew this one...

I draw everything that comes to my mind, different shapes, flowers, trees...

Drawing helps me to discover my creative ideas and to use them. I know that paper can put up with everything and won't get mad at me. By drawing, I release my thoughts and transfer them to paper. After drawing, my thoughts are clear and I am calm. It is very beneficial activity. The relief that I find sometimes really surprises me.

Painting

I am not an artist. I am not a painter. I just love painting. I paint like a child but I enjoy that activity. The moment when I prepare everything that I need for painting is so relaxing for me. Canvas, paints, brushes...

It is enough for me to look at all these things and I have already got rid of stress. Recently, I wanted to see the sea everytime when I wake up in the morning and I was inspired to paint this picture...

I enjoy painting and now I also enjoy every morning when I wake up and see this picture. As I said, I am not a painter. I am sure that this picture would have looked better if my son had drawn it. But what matters is inspiration. Inspiration and creative activities relieve us of stress.

Closing thoughts

You don't have to be talented or an artist to do these creative activities. Art therapy encourages people to express their emotions through creative process and helps them to understand better their emotions, but also to be aware of other people's emotions. It is very important to use differnt methods to relieve stress, because the accumulation of stress endangers our health.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article and photos are original and mine.

Best regards to all readers and writers.

12
$ 5.15
$ 4.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Librarian
+ 6
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know if these things will work for me because I on an entirely dirrerent level of stress. A type I think cannot be taken away irrespective of rest and therapy. I sincerely hope I'm wrong.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You can try if you want. Express your thoughts, clear your mind and enjoy your time. I think that it will help you to become stress free at least for a while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand but a bit scared. I mean what idnir doesn't work? It may lead to more depression.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If it doesn't work, you shouldn't feel bad. Just relax and don't think too much about potential effects. If it doesn't work, you will do something different. There is always some way for relieving stress and we just need to find it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much; you're a very kind amd understanding person. I appreciate your effort.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really cool Jeli. So much talented girl! Hey can you design names too?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't even know what I can do. 😀 I am not so good at these art activities. I just do that because it helps me to relieve stress.

I love when you call me Jeli! 😊 In my country, "Jelena" is common name, almost every girl is Jelena. But I am sure that I am only one with nickname "Jeli" and that is so cool...😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are the Devil's Jeli. Sounds good? Tell me about your country.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sounds extraordinary😀 What do you want to know about my country?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first the name

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Serbia😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tell me about your family dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In relation to the post, what I do to take away my stress is to watercolor painting. It really takes off all the cloud in head.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Watercolor painting is perfect activity for relaxing and relieving stress. I didn't do that for a long time but you reminded me to do it. Thanks😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice paintings. I love colouring also. Drawing is constant decision making and I feel that once the picture is drawn and that the only thing left is to apply paint, coloring pencils or paint on miniatures, that's the fun part! :D Seeing things come alive and take shape as you let your mind seek the creativity and meaning of that particular mandala or scene... Good article @Jelena

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad that you found my article interesting. We really need to do those creative activities sometimes... They can help us relax for a while and relieve stress.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! Picasso famously said: "Art takes away the dust of everyday life". And he was right, I think.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Painting on my end requires more effort put into it,am not that good at painting so I find it hard to draw.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Believe me, it doesn't matter if you are good at it or not. Just do that, draw, paint whatever you want and you will be surprised by the effect and relief.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

painting for me requires a strong imagination this art is a flow of thoughts that is poured on white paper

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is enough to be inspired to express your feelings through these creative activities and the effect will be amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I guess you are not a painter, but you are an artist. Sea view is amazing :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. 😊 But I don't think that I am an artist. I am just someone who had difficult situations and had to find a way to reduce stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My worst lesson in my education life has been painting, for some reason my pictures or drawings were never good. So it is an activity that I hardly ever think about, drawing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh it doesn't matter if you are good at it or not. I am not so good at it but I do that because I realized that it is good for relieving stress.

$ 0.00
2 years ago