Pancake

0 32
Avatar for Jeanne02
3 years ago

When I was a highschool student, I only have 20 pesos for my recess. So I was always buying, 1 pancake worth 5 pesos, 10 pesos kwek-kwek (quail egg with flour that is deep fried) and 5 peso buko juice. Sometimes I will just buy 1 pancake and a buko juice and the 10peso, I will keep it. Because I know, one of the days, my mom can't give me money for my expenses in school and other stuff , atleast I can help her by saving some money from my meal.

We are not rich nor poor, we are an average earner family. But way back then , my mom have a lots of loans and my dad for a tear or 2 don't have a job because he was only a on-call house painter. We are 4. And we are all studying. My 2 brothers are in college, my younger sister is in elementary and I am 2nd year high school student. That's why we really struggle in life.

Since the pancake saves me everyday to not be hungry at school and I was also closed to the vendor I asked her how to make a pancake what are the ingredients. Then, she taught me.

After a week, I told my mom that I want to make a pancake because it is delicious and in just 1/4kg. of flour and just 1 egg we made more pancake. So my mom had an idea, why not to sell a pancake? Atleast there will be an extra income.

By monday, my mom, bought 1kg of flour and only 4 eggs, and we have a stock of sugar and milk in our house so we made a pancake to sell it to the school. Btw. She is a elementary teacher but they are underpaid and also she's earning only 2k-4k pesos because she have alot of loans because of us. That loans are because of my late younger sister. That's why until now she's paying it. But going back , haha so after that she also sell some juice. But the juice and the pancake didn't clicked or still have a lot of left over. But still my mom, wakes up early by 3am or 4am to make some pancake and juice, I also helped her because sometimes she was getting late because of cooking too much pancake. And after tge 3rd day of selling, most of the students loves the pancake and some juice. So the money has doubled and we have some money to for our everyday living. And she did it for a month also she also sell some candies and chocolates that worth 1 peso each.

But after a month , the principal told her that she should stop selling instead, the whole school will make a canteen so the earnings will go to the school. My mom, was so sad that time because she don't have enough money for our everyday expenses and her earnings, she's recieving it monthly. That's why she starts to borrow some money again for her co-teachers and we have a loan in some sari-sari store.

But no worries, today? We don't have some loans in sari-sari store, and my mom wasn't borrowing some money anymore, though she still have some depts/loans to pay because of the death of my late sister , but my dad and my older brother supports us for our everyday living/expenses.

Back then, we struggle so much in our past life but we never give up , until now, we are still striving for a better life.

Hopefully, you enjoyed this story of our life. The pancake story. 😊

1
$ 0.51
$ 0.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Jeanne02
3 years ago

Comments